Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 16 April 2016
A classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2015
A great compideliver.lation, never fails to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2013
heard this cd on spotify and loved it .know i have my own cd .its a must cd to have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2002
I came to "La suite" after hearing the latest 2 Costes releases and can only say Pompougnac has mastered his trade since the release of this double album. 'Dance' music notoriously dates very quickly and this is a prime example. Despite a few stand out tracks of true brilliance the Costes brand, on compilation at least, flatters to deceive and there are a fair few tracks which don't really deserve their place here. Unless you feel the need to complete a collection of Pompougnac releases I would save your money here if I were you and buy the excellent Etage 3..
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2002
La Suite covers a few bases - from acid jazz through funky house, back to laid-back grooves. Most of the tracks are superb and serve as an invitation to explore more from the original artists (if you like the tracks featured here then be sure to check out the long players from De-Phazz, 45 Dip, Rollercone, Boozoo Bajou, etc).
This compilation is let down by some real clangers however. The tracks from Another Level and Femi Kuti, just don't belong here. Also the track sequencing and "mixing" could have been a lot better. There often isn't a sense of flow from track to track. I think Stephane Pompougnac could have dropped some of the slower tracks and included a few more funky songs to keep the feel more upbeat. The mixing between tracks seems to consist of a straightforward crossfade without much consideration for the song. Sometimes this works, but sometimes the result is very sloppy (the mix into Mr Scuff's brilliant "Get a move on" is an example). A good - but not exceptional - collection.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2000
From the mix master of the Hotel Costes in Paris, the French capital's coolest hip hotel, comes a compilation of the latest funk/lounge tracks which will have you samba'ing around your living room Chill out with this achingly cool collection....mmmm!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2000
I have to admit that La Suite is not as good as the other two volumes. But don't let that put you off, this is definitely a grower and if your into superior funky, uplifting house music with that little bit of whimsy, Stephane Pompougnac is your man.
I absolutely adore what this man does, pray that he keeps on doing it and doing it well. Buy it and the others and I promise that you will not be disappointed. Then wait with baited breath until Hotel Costes release another cd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2001
Whether you just want to chill out or dance, Costes... La Suite will fit your mood. Having bought this CD I have listened to it constantly... in the car, at work, at home... and now all my friends are dying to buy a copy! It's just a pity that we don't have any local clubs that play this kind of music - I knew there was a reason I don't go clubbing very often! Must go and buy the other two now!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Hotel Costes - Etage 3
£39.71
Hotel Costes - 7 (Sept)
£13.54
Hotel Costes X
£20.43

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)