Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
21
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2017
Exactly as described fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ocean Colour Scene's 2003 album 'North Atlantic Drift' is another great album from one of my favourite bands. This is a solid collection of songs, mostly dominated by acoustic guitars, and is a good combination of trademark ballads, and mid-tempo rockers, wrapped up in their deliciously retro, but contemporary style. There was a switch in record labels from Island to Sanctuary, but this is a group that know their style, and continued to stick to it as they entered the new millennium, and fair play to them for doing so. Although it's definitely 'heavier' in parts than previous releases, and more heavily produced, this album will definitely please most of the established fan base, and also impress those who are only just discovering these guys' music.

The hit opening track, 'I Just Need Myself' is an absolute cracker, and is in the exact same vein as the classic 'Hundred Mile High City'. Another great standout is 'For Every Corner', which is a typically inspiring and uplifting song that Ocean Colour Scene do so well. The folksy 'Second Hand Car' is a nice acoustic ballad, as is the very addictive 'The Song Goes On', and 'Make The Deal' became another instant favourite of mine.

Like I said at the start, 'North Atlantic Drift' is another great album from a band that have been around now for many years, and long may they continue to make such excellent music for us all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2003
I bought this album on the spur of the moment, wasnt planned but glad I did. Ocean Colour Scene prove once again that they are one of the best creative UK bands around. Unfortunatley they have missed out on the spotlight for some reason, maybe this has lead them to produce some of the best mainstream music that is not classed as popular. They have created an album which will appeal to all age groups, mixing acoustic guitar with uk rock music with a throwback to the super successful Moseley Shoals. The Track "On My Way" is probably the best driving / sing-a-long track they have ever produced, an album that grows on you the more you listen to it. Fantatsic, Buy It, you wont be dissapointed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2003
North Atlantic Drift kicks off with ‘I Just Need Myself’, following in the footsteps of opening tracks like ‘The Riverboat Song’ and ‘Hundred Mile High City’ – a great, upbeat beginning that sets the scene for the next 45 minutes. There is always the chance with new albums that the band may completely change the style which has brought them the fanbase, but it was a relief to hear some trademark tracks that don’t disappoint.
I bought the album not having heard any of the songs, which can be a risk, but having bought ‘Mechanical Wonder’ two summers ago and never growing tired of repeated listenings, I had faith that ‘NAD’ would be of similar class.
Title track ‘North Atlantic Drift’ is simply excellent and on first listen is firmly planted in your mind. It is rare for me to instantly click with a new album, but songs such as ‘I Just Need Myself’, ‘For Every Corner’, and of course, the aforementioned ‘NAD’, are perfect the first time round.
It’s so often the case that when a band have been around for a while their material becomes tired, but this is certainly not so with OCS. They have the talent to consistently release music that is fresh and only gets better with every listen. North Atlantic Drift is an album that should be in everyone’s collection this summer, standing up well alongside soundtracks to summer 1996 featured on Moseley Shoals.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2003
I gave up on new pop/rock music for about ten years, not liking very much of what was played on the radio, happy to play 60's to 80's music which I knew I liked. So when I heard a song called "Make The Deal" one Saturday afternoon in the car I thought that's really good and made a mental note of the groups name, I had known vaguely of their existence, but not of what they were about. Well I bought the album, a bit of a risk not knowing much about them, but I can't stop playing it. It is easily the best album I have heard for years. It makes Travis's 12 Memories sound like insipid muzak.
There are so many excellent tracks but "She's Been Writing" is now one of my favourite songs of all time! and any of half a dozen of the songs could have made me buy this album. One track I don't like too much is, the first single, "I Just Need Myself" if this was all I had heard I would never have bought it so never judge an album by the what is deemed to be the ideal single. I have now started buying their back catalogue of albums and hope I am pleased by what I find.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2003
Ocean colour scene have been around for many years now and throughout their years have produced some fantastic albums - This album does not break the trend. Each album seems to link to the previous release and continue the story from the last album. North Atlantic Drift simply continues the story on from Mechanical Wonder yet if a listener jumps from Moesley Shouls to the lastest release the difference in styles is quite apparent.
Some of the highlights of this album include "For every Corner" with it's instantly catchy chorus and the title track "North Atlantic Drift"
I'm not sure if this album will appeal so much to new OCS listeners or individuals who have not heard any of their recent material. It will however, definatly appeal to the exhisting fans as at the end of the day this album is another fantastic mix of songs all following the OCS story
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2003
Ocean Colour Scene broke through with their 1996 album ‘Moseley Shoals’ (which most regard as their first proper album). When that album appeared they were labelled one of the ‘Next Big Things’, thanks largely to the Oasis-led rise of ‘Britpop’ and Chris Evans. But while their contemporaries made it on the back of the trend only to vanish soon after, OCS were justified in their success by sheer talent in both their competence as a band and their songwriting. Even their b-sides could be considered as good as anything their albums contained. They could do no wrong. But then at the end of the millennium, Britpop became unfashionable and suddenly the band found themselves out of favour and being accused of ‘not moving with the times’, with their albums receiving lukewarm reviews. But why should they do anything different when what they produce is so well-crafted, satisfying and, well, dependable? If anything, Ocean Colour Scene have only improved with age. This new album could well be considered as their greatest work yet.
‘North Atlantic Drift’ is a luscious set of perfectly-formed tracks, with none of the sporadic-but-unnecessary experimentation found on a few of their previous albums. This may have been influenced by a change of producer for this one. The show kicks off with lead single ‘I Just Need Myself’, which is probably the most like The Scene of years past, with its crunching guitars and pounding rhythm. Things stay intense with second track ‘Oh Collector’ then calm down and coast along nicely for the rest of the album’s first half then suddenly pick up with ‘Make The Deal’ – initially reminiscent of the Manics’ ‘Everything Must Go’ with its Phil Spector-like wall of sound. From there things just get better with the catchy ‘For Every Corner’, the folky ‘Second Hand Car’ and culminating with two of the band’s finest songs to date; the beautiful ‘She’s Been Writing’ (with guest vocals by Linda Thompson – incidentally, one of the ‘I Just Need Myself’ CD singles features a blinding cover of Richard & Linda Thompson’s ‘I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight’) and the album’s best track ‘The Song Goes On’.
With impeccable musicianship, writing and a truly great singer in Simon ‘Foxy’ Fowler, Ocean Colour Scene deserve to be up there with bands such as Travis & Stereophonics in terms of commercial success. Had they emerged a few years later to avoid the unjust Britpop stigma still attached to them, they probably would be. But however unfashionable (a horrible and unfair term) they may seem, you have to admire the band’s determination and resistance to conform. They obviously love what they do and it shows. I hope they keep at it because music this good should never go out of fashion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2003
This is an absolouts classic Ocean Colour Scene album it's up there with the best.
If your an OCS fan anyway you will ove this album I have to say that I have listened to it over and over again and it just gets better and better. I have to say my favourite track is 'Oh Collector' an absolutely blindin' track and 'Second hand Car' nothing short of brilliance two completely different tracks in the unmistakeable style of this superb band.
If you haven't bought it yet don't hesitate it's a must for anyone who likes simply brilliant music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2003
Ocean colour scene have been around for many years now and throughout their years have produced some fantastic albums - This album does not break the trend. Each album seems to link to the previous release and continue the story from the last album. North Atlantic Drift simply continues the story on from Mechanical Wonder yet if a listener jumps from Moesley Shouls to the lastest release the difference in styles is quite apparent.
Some of the highlights of this album include "For every Corner" with it's instantly catchy chorus and the title track "North Atlantic Drift"
I'm not sure if this album will appeal so much to new OCS listeners or individuals who have not heard any of their recent material. It will however, definatly appeal to the exhisting fans as at the end of the day this album is another fantastic mix of songs all following the OCS story
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2003
So they arent fashionable any more, but Ocean Colour Scene return to annoy the NME even more with this excellently put together album. "An album for the fans" as the band put it.
After 2001's Folkish Mechanical Wonder this is a welcome return to thier heavy rock style, with glimers of the riffs we've come to know them by. Ocean Colour Scene superbly take all thier albums and combine them into one.
There is a song on this album for all occasions, I Just Need Myself for the Party atmosphere, On My Way for those driving moments, and the excellently penned She's Been Writing (written in tribute to the late Sandy Denny) for the more emotional times.
This album goes to prove good music and talent shine through regardless of fashion. Buy this album you wont be dissapointed !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.51
£2.20
£9.96
£2.10

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)