Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
20
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2015
worst RHCP album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2000
As I sit here listening to Me & My Friends I think how can a group be so good and so consistent. The album contains some of the heavier of the Chili's tracks. However in their usual style the mellow but fantastic tracks are strewn inbetween. A fantastic album by a fantasic band. If you like Mothers Milk you will love this album anyway its the Chili's need I say more.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2007
So, admittedly, you'd be in the definite minority if you said that this was unreservedly the Chilis best work. What you may be surprised is how close it actually comes to 'Blood Sugar Sex Magik'

Earlier Chili Peppers albums are not that good. They suffer from poor production, a lack of experience, and is the sound of a band partying harder than they play. The party theme is still ongoing, but this album sounds a million times better, and is actually listenable.

Now onto the songs. 'Fight Like a Brave' is a grower. It sounds a bit of a mess, but is a great footstomping call-to-arms. 'Me & My Friends' is another in a similar vein, as is the excellent 'Organic Anti Beat-Box Band'. 'Funky Crime' is a slower, funkier song, as is 'Walking On Down The Road'.

It's really the most rocky album they've ever done. You can argue that this makes it a little hard to digest, and perhaps that's true. But there's hardly a weak song on here, and deserves to be remembered as a classic RHCP album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2015
The Chillis' career has been a fascinating progression from jazzy funk to punk funk to rock funk to metal funk to no funk, and I would say that all the albums up to and including Californication are worth a stab.

This album is the zenith of their punk era. Having given us their 'love it or hate it' take on The Beatles' Abbey Road album cover, they released this, perhaps their least compromising work.

It all begins well with four great tracks with loads of energy and funkiness. Next up, Skinny Sweaty Man is harmless daftness and a little Zappa-ish in feel. You also get a reworked homage to Dylan, whilst Behind the Sun is the album's only ballad.

Conceived as a party album (the uplift mofo party plan is referred to in several different songs), I guess you're not supposed to analyse the lyrics too closely. However, the Special Secret Track and The Love Trilogy let the side down for me with some embarrassingly bad adolescent lyrics a la Sex Rap on Freaky Styley and Sir Psycho Sexy on BSSM. All in all, a mixed bag.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2011
First, a word of warning: if you intend to listen to this album, I urge you to seek out the original CD release rather than the 2003 24-bit digitally remastered version with two bonus tracks, because in my opinion the re-release is down there with the Chili Peppers' own Californication as one of the worst victims of the Loudness War (Google it) I have ever heard! I'm no audiophile, but it's clear that the 2003 edition suffers from an absurd degree of compression, clipping and lack of dynamic range that makes it extremely fatiguing to the ears.

The 1987 version was perfectly adequately punchy as it was, so get that. True, by buying the older version you'll miss out on the 2003 edition's two bonus tracks and the liner notes booklet featuring numerous images and retrospective comments from Flea. But at least the thing will be listenable at high volumes for more than two minutes at a time!

(There are other differences too: for example, on the original release "Fight Like A Brave" fades out, but on the 2003 remastered version it cuts off very abruptly, which is not a change for the better.)

Enough about the remastering; what of the music itself? Well, it's a decent little album, and probably the best of the Chili Peppers' pre-Blood Sugar Sex Magik work. It suffers from dated shouted choruses, but the production is a big step up from RHCP's first two albums, and there's some great guitar playing from Hillel Slovak, who died shortly after the album's release.

The two absolute highlights are "Fight Like A Brave" and "Me and My Friends"; the latter has a great guitar solo. (It's nice to learn that "Me and My Friends" made a return to the RHCP's live repertoire for their recent "I'm with You" album tour.)

"Behind the Sun" is a melodic, lazy summer song. "Skinny Sweaty Man" is fun comedy number in which Anthony Kiedis does his best Mel Blanc Looney Tunes voices, "Organic Anti-Beat Box Band" is an energetic party track, and there's a Bob Dylan cover which is OK (but not as good as the band's later covers of Stevie Wonder's "Higher Ground" and Jimi Hendrix's "Fire").

However, "Party on Your Pussy" (which was listed as "Special Secret Song Inside" on the 1987 release, for obvious reasons) and "Love Trilogy" represent the Chili Peppers' unfortunate tendency toward the childish and crude at its worst. (The later "Sir Psycho Sexy" on "Blood Sugar Sex Magik" was just as comedically vulgar, but set to much better music.)

If you're a fan of later RHCP albums looking to get into their earlier work, I would recommend getting the What Hits!? compilation before you delve into this album. That compilation contains this LP's highlights "Fight Like A Brave" and "Me and My Friends", plus two other decent songs from it ("Backwoods" and "Behind the Sun"), as well as most of the worthwhile songs from the Chili Peppers' other early releases. (And, yes, "What Hits!?" uses the original, listenable, 1987 masterings of the songs!)
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2001
Although this isn't as accessible as some of their later albums, this is a perfect example of the chilis' genius. The sound is less polished than the one they adopt on mothers milk, and its a lot more funky than the mellow feel of californication. However, it's just as good (if not better) quality music, and it shows that they've always had the ability to write wonderful songs. Personal favourites are fight like a brave, backwoods, ncls, oabbb and subterran homesick blues, but its really a matter of opinion. If you like their earlier stuff id advise you to buy this, because its almost as much of a classic as bssm.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
The 1980s for the Red Hot Chili Peppers was a very different kind of musical beast to anyone that is aware of their musical legacy from the 1990s onwards. Whilst their What Hits album from 1992 may not give the best impression of their decade's work, The Uplift Mofo Party Album is probably their best album from that decade, with that distinct 'Chili Peppers' sound coming in amongst the best sound production that the decade could offer. The energetic guitar playing, and Anthony Kiedis' distinct vocal phrasing definitely gives an aura of the group bringing their chaotic rock n' roll sense during this period of rock music.
This album, original released in 1987, features some extra instrumental tracks of Behind the Sun, and of the ferociously frantic Me and My Friends, which is an added to this already entertaining offering that the band were capable of back in the 1980s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2004
The second best album by the Chilis in my view, this was the last one recorded with the original guitarist, Hillel Slovak. Highlights include 'Fight Like A Brave' and 'No Chump Love Sucker'. This is a brilliant album, well worth the price!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2004
This is definately one of my favourite of the Red hot chili peppers albums. However if your favourite is By the Way or Californication, You mightn't like it. It's a lot more "in ya face" and fast and rocking but brilliant! the Tracks are:
1.Fight like a Brave
2.Funky Crime
3.Me and me friends
4.Backwoods
5.Skinny sweaty man
6.Behind the sun
7.Subterranean homesick blues
8.Party on your P***y
9.No chump love sucker
10.Walkin' on Down the road
11.Love trilogy
12.Organic anti-beat box band
My favourite tracks are probably Fight like a brave, which has the best guitar riff I've ever heard! Play it really loud with all the windows open! (if you really want to annoy the neighbours!)
Subterranean homesick blues is my other favourite. Even though it was originally by the great Bob Dylan, I think it would be safe to say the chili's version is funkier!
The only track I don't like is Behind the sun, which I think sounds like something done by the backstreet boys or something!
If you call yourself a Chili peppers fan, then you have to have this album!
Buy it!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2000
This album is a classic. anyone who likes the Chili Peppers should buy this. It is more raw and not so much commercial as more previous albums. Slovak shows his talent on the guitar while Flea is rocking on the bass. This album is amazing and definetly one to savour. Songs to look out for on this album are love trilogy and behind the sun. This is a true masterpiece.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.37
£8.18
£5.41

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)