Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
27
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2004
this album is amazing. the talent on show here is top drawer, with artists such as Miles Davis, Louis Armstrong and Ella Fitzgerald to name just a few. This iswhat you want some classic jazz sounds with all styles ranging from big band songs,such as Count Basie with 'clap hands, here comes Charlie' to smaller combo's with the likes of Dizzy Gillespie and Thelonius Monk with 'manteca' and 'Round Midnight' respectively. A great mix of jazz greats and this CD definately lives up to its name
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
I was concerned that this set wouldn't add anything to what was an already fairly large jazz CD collection. But the track selection includes a wide range of lesser known tunes from a roll call of Jazz Greats which makes for a very pleasurable 3 hours of listening. The CD transfers have been well done so that the audio quality doesn't distract from the music.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
This is a good 3-cd album that would be a great starter for building a jazz collection, in that there is traditional jazz, of course dated but that's what trad means! Some of the artists make their way into modern times, most don't, but that's what I mean as a starter...when you start a collection, I believe it's important to have a balance and an understanding of what made jazz what it is both today and tomorrow. How many dead artists appear? Well, most of them. But their music lives...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2012
A really good compilation. Along with classic tracks which crop up on dozens of other discs there are many obscure numbers which I haven't heard before or had forgotten.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
This collection covers an extensive number of Jazz artists which is good. However, the sound is a little "tinny". The best collection that I have run across to date (and own) is "JAZZ - The Smithsonian Anthology". If I had to recommend between the two, I would recommend the latter.

Regards,
Maggie Gaines
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
So many people say they like all music but jazz, anyway, I wanted a sampler to identify my own preferred sub genre. I really liked everything on disc one, but not on the other two. I suppose it is meant to be divisive. Lots to chose from, perhaps you will find something you will enjoy?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
Got this set of CD's for my young son who enjoys listening to jazz.
I enjoyed it very much, and there were more than a few tracks I was not familiarized with.
Great buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
Great album.
Never owned a jazz album.
Felt like i needed one in collection.
Not disappointed by this.
Nice array of talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
This is a collection of vintage jazz the likes of which can only now be apreciated on recordings such as this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
A lovley CD with many of the great jazz legends - a really good reminder of just how good jazz can be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)