Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
82
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2012
As an A-level student studying the Russian Revolution in depth, and having a passionate love for the tragic story of the last of the Romanovs, I initially approached this film gingerly, not sure how I could watch something so special to me be made into a film.

My doubts were soon wiped away. This is a true piece of British film-making.
Michael Jayston is utterly fantastic as Nicholas, and from a sympathetic viewer of the last Tsar, I can't think of somebody who portrayed this sweet and trusting man so well. His physical resemblance to the last Tsar is also uncanny. As well as the political turmoil which plagued the country and is one of the main focuses of the film, the relationship that is shown between the intimate family members is captured so well, especially with Alix's (Alexandra) devotion over Alexei.

Tom Baker also brings life to the controversial figure of Rasputin and acts as the dastardly moujik-and-starets has been reincarnated, especially with those hypnotic eyes.

For any fan interested in the Revolution or just the Romanovs life - I thoroughly recommend this film; despite it's over three-hour long tag.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2011
This would have to be one of, if not the most favourite film of mine from any decade. Apart from the film being a fairly accurate retelling of the events leading up to the fall of the Romanov dynasty it also manages to integrate a wonderfully personal story of the life of the last Tsar of Russia Nicholas II and his beloved wife the Empress Alexandra. Based on the wonderfully detailed book by Robert K. Massie the film is a visual feast for the eyes showing the amazing wealth of the Romanov court through to the grinding poverty and desperation of the working classes. Indeed the visuals are one of the film's main strong points in telling of the downfall of Nicholas II as we are treated to the whole spectrum of his fall from power starting with the unbelievably stunning palace scenes and finishing in the grimy scenes depicting the royal families captivity in Ejaterinburg in Siberia. Towering over the whole film are the two amazing performance sby Michael Jayston as Nicholas II and a sublime Janet Suzman (Academy Award Nominated - she should have won!) as the complex Alexandra.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2008
This is a nice movie. I saw it as a child and it was no edited in France. I bought it here on amazon. It is written that the movie is subtitled in french. But this is not the case! Amazon, you should check the informations before showing it on your site! So for the french people who don't speak english, don't buy this DVD because you may not understand a word!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
This film is beautifully crafted and provides an insight into life at the Tsar's court . The settings are magnificent and contrast starkly with the revolution. The acting is superb particularly Rasputin and the film ends with the murder of the Tsar and his family .There may be some artisitc licence on the history but it is nevertheless an excellent film
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2007
This is an excellent depiction of the last years of the Romanov empire. The characters have been played by superb actors - particularly Tom Baker who makes an eerie resemblance to the mad Rasputin. The ending is particularly tense and frightening.

I first watched the video version and found it enthralling. Strong cast, great costumes and although history has now told us what happened in the end, a plot that couldn't be made up.

I enjoyed this immensely.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
Saw this film when it first came out. I hadn't realised it was so long ago. Still a great film and fine performances for Michael Jayston (Haven't seen him on TV for a while but I understand he does a lot of radio work) and Janet Suzman (just watched her in Labyrinth) and Tom Baker as Rasputin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Well acted and factual account. It followed the book very well.one is left thinking if only Archduke Ferdinand hadn't been assassinated.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
A excellent, colourful historical film if a bit long. A cousin of mine was in Etakerinburg when the execution was taking place.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
I do not know how to describe this the company were execellant and so is the film but I know it is not everyones taste but it is history which even to this day runs in the royal family good everything
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Good to see history brought to life. Acting was very good and it showed how different Russia was then. Thanks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)