Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
125
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2017
I brought this because it was famous and wanted to see what the hype was about. I was surprised because, despite some good actors, many are truly awful. If you persevere you are drawn into the story but you really have to try hard to overlook some terrible actors. Not sure how the program was so highly rated. I think we are used to the modern high budget shows on HBO/Netflix/Amazon etc, and looking back at stuff from this era, you forget some of the rubbish standards of back in the day TV. Many of these actors just wouldn't get a gig today, apart from tacky soap operas like days of our lives.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
The first 5 episodes of the series are really boring and hard not to switch off. The last 3 eps of the season were good, but not great. Don't understand why it is such a revered show.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Twin Peaks" was the ultimate cult TV show -- suspenseful, complex, hilariously written and with hidden layers that casual channel-flippers might not catch.

And though it's only eight episodes, the first season of David Lynch and Mark Frost's "Twin Peaks" is a brilliant piece of television, with a dozen subplots all somehow linked to the mysterious death of the beautiful, troubled Laura Palmer. Brilliant writing, quirky acting, and great cherry pie are all mixed up in the darkly eerie season.

For the record, it doesn't contain the pilot episode, where Laura is found "wrapped in plastic," and Special Agent Dale Cooper(Kyle McLachlan) is called in to investigate. Nope, the first season starts with the episode after that: Cooper continues to enjoy the comforts of the hotel, while continuing the investigation -- and getting some surprising results from the autopsy.

What's more, the question of who killed Laura is getting more complex, due to a bloody shirt, a drug deal, a secret affair and a heart necklace. People catch glimpses of a one-armed man and a grey-haired killer -- and Cooper has a prophetic dream with both men, as well as a red room, a double of Laura Palmer, and a tiny man who dances to jazz music.

While Cooper tries to sort out his evidence and dreams, he finds that Twin Peaks is not the small-town idyll he thought it was, and Laura Cooper was enmeshed in its darkness. There are secret love affairs, town crazies, drug smuggling, corporate devilry about a mill, and an evil presence that lurks in the woods nearby...

"Twin Peaks" is hard to even describe, because the plots were a perfect balance of the surreal and mundane. It starts off as a basic murder mystery that allows us to the see the underbelly of rural America. But starting in the second episode, it becomes something much, much more.

Lynch loads the storyline down with eerie symbolism, creepy visions and inscrutable (but important) lines ("Through the darkness of future past, the magician longs to see...."). But he and Frost also spun up some wonderfully quirky scenarios, such as Cooper throwing stones to determine who killed Laura, or his famous dream of a dancing midget and a strange Laura double, both talking in a weird "backwards" manner.

And the dialogue has that brilliace that most series cannot keep going for long ("Fellas, don't drink that coffee! You'd never guess... there was a fish in the percolator"). Considering how strange the characters are -- including Cooper -- it's not too surprising that it's crammed with quotables ("Black as midnight on a moonless night...." "Pretty black").

And the characters are VERY strange. Cooper himself is played with quirky brilliance by McLachlan -- he's a bright, lovable, friendly kind of guy who loves Tibetan mysticism, tape recorders and a "damn fine cup of coffee." He's not your average hard-nosed FBI agent.

And Cooper flanked by a number of talented actors playing two basic varieties of characters: the relatively normal ones with a slight quirk, such as abusive truckers, the sheriff, teen lovers, obnoxious FBI agents. And the REALLY strange ones, like the weird Log Lady, the one-armed man, the spacey Lolita, and the eerie spirits that haunt Twin Peaks.

Quirky and surreal TV is currently in vogue, but they all stem from the little town of "Twin Peaks," and the first season is an entrancing experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
Dated
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2008
When I first saw Twin Peaks I was about 19-years old and it was being shown on the BBC. It terrified me and introduced me to the work of David Lynch. I've been hooked ever since. This quickly became my favourite TV series. It amazes me how it can go from humour to terror in mere seconds. For some reason it never gets repeated on TV. And for some reason Series 2 has still never been released on DVD in the UK. (I had to buy it in the Netherlands when I was visiting relatives.) But if you want to be freaked out buy this DVD box set. You've never seen anything like it. And I can assure there's no other director out there capable of making anything like this again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2007
Twin Peaks was a collaboration between director David Lynch and screen-writer Mark Frost. Set in the quiet town ficticious town of Twin Peaks in the north of America, the story follows the investigation of the murder of prom-queen Laura Palmer. However, this show is much more than a simple murder mystery.

One of the strongest aspects of the show is the development of the characters throughout the series. Even the most insignificant character is incredibly interesting and memorable and you feel could justify a series of their own.

It's impossible to compare Twin Peaks to anything before or since because it's so unique. If you've never seen the show you'll not understand the appeal of the show and it's only when you actually watch this fantastic program that you realise just how great it is. Seventeen years after it's creation, Twin Peaks has not aged in the slightest. The worst thing about this series is that it has to end and that television has never reached the same heights of creativity since.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2004
Black humour and spooky moments abound in this brilliant David Lynch T.V. production. It is a production you would need to watch from the very start to follow the complicated twists and turns in the plot.... But it is well worth the effort. Twin Peaks is about the investigation into the murder of local girl Laura Palmer. As the story unfolds it becomes apparent that no one is as they appear in this town (and that includes eccentric FBI investigator, Agent Dale Cooper).
To say the characters are quirky is putting it mildly, it may be more accurate to say they are verging on the insane which certainly makes it impossible to figure out who the murderer is...most of the population of Twin Peaks have secrets they don't want exposed.
This series became cult viewing in the 90's and it is easy to see why. David Lynch has produced a masterpiece that dares to be different and makes no apology for it. Brilliant, bizarre, funny, moving, it will make you laugh and cry. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2005
As a devotee of dark, bleakly funny tv shows like Six Feet Under, it was only a matter of time before Twin Peaks caught my attention. I'd seen it feature on Channel 4's 100 Greatest Scary Moments and besides- any show which is worthy of being parodied by The Simpsons has got to be worth a look (I refer you to Chief Wiggum's backward-talking dream in Who Shot Mr Burns Part 2). Twin Peaks is a remarkable show, which, 15 years after its first transmission is still fresh, engrossing viewing.
The 4-disc set contains
- The 90 minute pilot episode
- All episodes from series 1, each lasting 45 minutes, Dolby Digital 5.1: English
- Dolby Surround: Commentary track from various people who worked on the show (though not Lynch, interestingly)
- A 1 hour selection of postcards from the cast
- Newly remastered high-definition transfers of the original programme
- Interactive Menus & Scene Access
- All episodes are digitally remastered, except for the Pilot (inexplicably)
- A short documentary which provides an introduction to David Lynch
- Optional Log Lady introductions to each episode
- Script Notes: Optional Guide to the 'Unseen Twin Peaks'
- Rare archival material from 'Wrapped in Plastic'- The Official Twin Peaks Magazine
- An interview conducted by phone between Mark Frost & 2 Twin Peaks Freaks
- Several short lessons by the Little Man from Another Place on how to talk backwards like he & Laura Palmer do in the Red Room
The series begins with the discovery of Laura Palmer's body, wrapped in plastic & washed up on the beach. Special Agent Dale Cooper (the excellent Kyle MacLachlan) is called to investigate the circumstances of the girl's death but he soon realises that the inhabitants of Twin Peaks have plenty of secrets of their own.
While it is the murder of Laura Palmer which propels the narrative forward, it is in many respects redundant. Twin Peaks is best appreciated in terms of the atmosphere it creates- its haunting images and music, laced with some blacker-than-black humour. Intriguing and enjoyable in equal measure, Twin Peaks is a show to watch over and over again.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
WHAT A PILE OF CRAP!!! Not Twin Peaks of course, thats the best TV program ever made. But there seems no way I can download something that i PAID FOR to my PC. I feel like a right mug. Amazon should make this clear before people buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 April 2007
Twin Peaks. I'm 13. I'd never heard of the name before, until now. My parents bought the dvd. I decided to watch it. Suprisingly for me, I loved it. Never has any tv show been so intense and cinematic as this. I can not reccomend any other dvd to buy at the moment. Even though it's short (7 45 minute episodes, 1 1hour 30minute pilot) and season 2 (which is much longer) isn't out yet, I wasn't dissapointed. Buy it, you know you want to...........
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse