Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
34
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£1.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2002
If you're looking for an album you want to dance to, sing to, chill out to, driving in your car to, or you're just looking for some good music then look no further than Blue's excellent new album.
Their voices are absolutely amazing, and unlike most boy bands you can actually tell which one of them is singing...I.e they're all individual and don't sound the same!
It's smooth grooves and hip-hop beats, plus great vocal harmonies from the boys make this a real slick & professional album.
It offers a great variety of music styles, so will suit many tastes. It includes their recent hit One Love & the new one with Elton John, which is brilliant.
There are, of course other songs on this album!
Riders is a 'rough n ready' mix of strong beats and vocal harmonies, it really gets your heading nodding along!
Flexin' takes on a slower groove, with guitars and is perfect for chillin' to.
She Told Me, about one of their sisters best mates (?!) is typical Blue, great beats and Lee's voice sounds amazing on this one!
Right Here Waiting has a kind of a 70s disco beat goin on, it reminds me of early Take That, its the most 'typical' boy band song on the album, but its still great and its great for a party!
U Make Me Wanna, another slow one & another great one to chill to.
Ain't Got You is on the same path as All Rise & Fly By II, they've started playing this in clubs already, it's going to be huge!
Supersexual is pure R&B and despite the title is a very sweet song about being in love.
Don't Treat Me Like A Fool is an old Angie Stone song and they really do it justice, a great 'break-up' song to listen to.
Get Down, another R&B song, but very smooth and chilled, Antony's voice sounds really strong on this one.
Privacy, very Hip Hop, you wouldn't think it was a boy band singing this, Simon & Dunk sound sensational on this. Wicked Tune!
Without You another typical 'Blue' song, great.
Invitation, more R&B, Hip Hop vibes on this, another great chill out tune!
Like A Friend, my favourite song on the album, the beginning sounds very much like Ben by Micheal Jackson, its a really sweet song about loving someone and them not loving you back. Antony sings most of this song and sounds great, his voice has improved considerably from their first album, the bridge sees Lee belting out that amazing voice of his once again,I can't describe his voice, it just sends tingles down your spine.
This really is a truely amazing album and is great for any CD collection. These boys have got real talent, they're miles ahead of those other boy bands, watch out because Blue are about to become huge!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2002
I think blue are good. They are really cool and that comes across in this album. Their first album All Rise was better than this one in my oppinion, but this one is still very good.
The best song has to be Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word with Elton John. The worst song has to be Like a Friend becaue I don't think it shows Blue aswel as the other tracks do.
I'm not a fan of boy bands like Westlife, but I don't think Blue are the typical boy band. They have much more power in their lyrics than Westlife do. They just don't go on about love for four minuits they have a catch beat and lyrics, which makes blue better than Westlife.
I think anyone who likes cool beats pop with a lick of r'n'b would love this album.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2002
This has to be one of the best 'boy band' albums I have ever owned, as with all 'manufactured' bands I was expecting cheese,cheese and ermmm more cheese! But what you get is a mature mix of pop & R&B. Some of the songs are stronger than others,which you usually find on most albums, but even these grow on you after a while. The duet with Elton John is sure going to be another number 1 and no doubt will end up becoming one of the greatest 'break-up' songs of all time! Tracks like One Love, Riders, Aint Got You and Invitation are Blue at their pure best. Tracks like Flexin', She Told Me, U Make Me Wanna, Supersexual & Get Down have the whole R&B groove thing going on and they pull it off. The odd smoochy number on here kind of slows the pace of the album down, but they're still good. Of all the tracks on this album the weakest has to be 'Right Here Waiting', it sticks out like a sore thumb,with its 70s disco beat and tunes, it just doesnt suit their style and is totally out of context with the rest of the album. The best song, I think, is Ain't Got You, it's already a huge hit in the clubs and I'm sure if they release it as a single it'll be a number 1 as well. A job well done from a band who haven't been around all that long, it certainly shows how lame those TV bands/stars really are.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2002
"...bet you didn't think we could do it.." is what they say at the start of Right Here Waiting. I knew they could!! One Love is a fantastic compilation of pop, R'n'B and a little funk. I got the album on the day I went to see them live. They not only deliver on CD but their live vocals make the album even better for listening. Ain't Got You is surely a must release and future #1, Riders and Supersexual are super slick and if you can get Sir Elton to duet one of his songs with you, then you must be a winner. The slower numbers Don't Treat Me..and Like a Friend are great for chilling out to and are a far cry from the smoochy numbers usually produced by boy bands. An excellent second album...Blue are here to stay. " I say Blue, You say What...Blue..What...."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2002
I think this album is better than 'All Rise'. It's an album with some different styles of music, slow/hip-hop, that's why it's fun to listen to it. My favorite song of the album is 'Don't treat me like a fool' it's a beautiful ballad. with this song you can hear that Blue are really talented guys and that they have beautiful voices. My other favorite track is 'One Love' just because you can listen to it over and over again without getting tired of the song. It's also easy to sing along. I also like 'She told me' it's an uptempo song, with cool beats, a real hip-hop song. There is also a track with Elton John called 'Sorry seems to be the hardest word'. This is also a nice ballad and I like this version more than the real version.
All the songs are nice to listen and you can really hear that they are more mature than with their first album, you can hear that they have grown in to the music biss. I think it's an album you got to have!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2002
One Love is the second album from Blue and they are really hitting their stride. This album is funkier and sassier than All Rise. It's got a slice of pop, some R 'n' B, hip hop, garage, you name it, it's snuck in there.
All Rise is a good album but Blue have definitely upped their game with this offering. It's smoother and groovier and after a couple of listenings, the songs really stick in your hear. Their voices are improving all the time, even the Elton John, a great vocalist, doesn't overshadow them on Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word. It's the kind of album where you think you've got a favourite song and then another supplants it on the next listen. There are no out and out duds. This is an especially fantastic album to listen to in the car. I'm already looking forward to their next album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2003
this album has only one word to conclude it: amazing, it has lots of dirrerent songs which include a duet with Elton John which is Sorry seems to be the Hardest Word which blue did justice to slow songs with alot of meaning through the lyrics. the album starts off with the number 3 hit 'one love' which is a very good song and has amazing vocals on.
then there is a song called 'riders', i love this song and is one of my favourites and the slow songs include 'dont treat me like a fool' which has amazing vocals on and ' like a friend' which has alot of meaning from it, this is a very amzing album with brilliand vocals by blue. well done blue for another amazing album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Good album, nice beats in the uptempo songs, my favourite being right here waiting just for Lee's voice, don't treat me like a fool, lovely and Lee's vocals are heavenly, good chill out album but a bit samey sometimes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2002
No one could doubt that this is a Blue CD. Many of the songs seem to be rehashed from the previous CD, with the band members very much recognisable in their singing. Having said that, if you enjoyed the first CD, then you will enjoy this. There are a few songs which make it worth buying, namely One Love, Sorry seems to be the hardest word (with Elton John) and Supersexual. I'm still singing along to it, several days later. Enjoy!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
The length of time between notification that the Cd had been sent seemed strangely long, however it arrived within the dates specified. It did not look like a new Cd,(the cover was very scratched and the notes a bit creased,) however the Cd itself played perfectly well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)