Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
Four Sail
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 April 2017
The most underrated Love LP . . . . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2014
A fine album. If 'Forever Changes' equates to 'Sgt. Pepper' as one of the great 'pop' albums, then this is Love's 'Abbey Road' - a shift into 'rock' whilst retaining the pop sensibilities of the mid sixties (I'm thinking Moby Grape or Hendrix 'Axis: Bold As Love'). The songs in terms of changes and melody stand comparison with anything in the band's earlier canon, and are in no way diminished by the lack of augmentation evident on their previous offering - in fact as a bare bones guitar / bass / drums outfit this is probably the best 'Love' of them all. Basically the album that for me confirms just how good Arthur Lee was....and sad that so little else followed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2012
Love WAS Arthur Lee, and this album proves it. His junkie,(I hate junkies) former band mates from the first three albums were just backing musicians. And his band mates for this one were far better. "Forever Changes" may be what he is best remembered for, but I prefer this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2008
I was very pleasantly surprised when I first heard this album- I wasn't expecting much, but it has a few excellent songs, and is generally a solid follow-up to the masterpiece Forever Changes, although it's obviously nowhere near as good. To be honest, I don't think it sounds all that different to the earlier albums- its still recognisably Love- the lilting, bittersweet melodies are still there, although there are some harder rock leads, and the drummer, who is excellent, does lots of Mitch Mitchell style licks. But these rock elements sound kind of "bolted-on." A good example is the opener, August, which has typical Love-style verses, but with a hard rock lead, and finishes with lengthy, psychedelic vamping. Its a good opener, but it sounds like Lee and his band are trying to take the song in different directions. The best songs are the ones where Lee sticks to what worked on the earlier albums- "I'm With You" could have been on Forever Changes, with its brisk Latin-tinged percussion and breezy melody, while the lovely "Nothing" and "Always See Your Face" are equally impressive.

Generally, though, the album is solid- the band's playing is excellent, despite the basic sound quality (although its doesn't sound that bad, actually), and although there is a drop-off in intensity from its predecessor, I'd recommend Four Sail- its better than the debut album, and is tighter and more consistent than Da Capo overall.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 November 2002
In terms of Love's history, Four Sail is routinely criticized. It seems many Love fans either like the punky sound of the first 2 albums or the more introspective "Forever Changes". In truth, this release takes up where "Forever" left off, but there are "Changes", get it? This is much more an electric guitar album, but there's still lots of great finger picked guitar stuff like on Forever. Also, this is Arthur Lee at his happiest! Give the guy a break - his career was going pretty well at the time. Excellent, happy stuff. Killer track: "Nothing" absolutely lovely! This is the kind of music you want to play while out driving on a sunny day. Like "Out Here" there is plenty of classic stuff here! August, Neil's Song, Good Times, etc. Forget the critics. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2011
Amazing record that rocks hard, is played by exceptional players & will rip out your heart.

Forever changes is worth every ounce of praise put it's way ...
Four sail is worthy of similar attention.

5 straight classic Arthur Lee toons ...
August , Singing Cowboy , Dream , Robert Montgomery & Always see your face.

The rest is good as well.

The remaster pulls no punches & sounds phenomenal.

Love is not just a band - It's a feeling.

put it in your basket, roll a fat one & hear how great music can be!!!

5/5
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2002
taken in the context of Arthur Lee's recording career up to this album I'm sure many people are forever bummed that Mr. Lee didn't continue in the same vein as De Capo and Forever Changes- In fact, I think that FourSail is a quite brilliant antithisis to those two albums.
The recording technique is purposefully lo-fi and muffled compare to the extravagant yet still rugged Forever Changes; listening to the bonus cut of "Talking in my Sleep" and you'll hear that his vision was to make an even more muttled attack, even thicker and distorted than the final product that the records company ended up with.
Another big change was the minamal use of hooks- certainly there are some good melodies, but the songs rely more on the energy of the performance and production value. With a new line-up on hand the music was obviously going to take a change and in the liner notes Arthur Lee alludes that his new bandmates had not entirely respected the folk-rock sound that had made up the previous two Love albums. As he put it he wanted it to be more of a band sound so he wrote the songs around what the other musicians wanted to play and less to what he wanted to say (I think by now he had a pretty jaded view of the business of making music).
There are some really solid memorable songs in here like the urgent August or spiteful Neil's Song, and as a whole the album works quite well together. It would have been interesting to hear what he would have invisioned both production-wise as well as song choices (another thing that is mentioned in the linear notes is that he intended this album to be a double album). I think that this album lines up pretty well with Love, Da Capo, and Forever Changes- it was a definitly a departure, but really it was an inside out anti version of Forever Changes and Da Capo bookends it perfectly.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2009
This is certainly a decent album, but I feel that it is somewhat predictable. When I first listened to it it did not have the same instant 'wow!' factor that forever changes did. So i have to disagree with people who say its as good as that.

(Here's a cheeky tip for people looking to buy this album - you can get it for £1.19 on itunes - obviously you won't be able to touch it, but i can't see myself listening to this album that many times so it doesn't bother me too much)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2008
This superb album never achieved the success of its forbears notably Forever changes. But I personally feel this a much sharper tighter effort all round. A new band with fewer personnel it did lose a little of the Love sound but Lees delicate rhythmn guiter still delightful remained and the sound production and Lees verbals are top notch. Great songs abound on this album - Always see your face, Good Times, Dream and Nothing to name just a few.Easily on par with those on Forever Changes but with a sharper edge. Jay Donnellens guitar solo in Good Times is in my opinion one of the finest of all time. Even Clapton would have difficulty in matching it. Do not try to compare with Forever changes, just accept this is as a superior effort.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2004
what sparked me to write (or type) this was the review by Kevin Randall who is clearly a fool and i pity the fool for being a fool.
Firstly i would like to say i am not a music expert and being of a tender age i have only just started to discover such musical delights as Love and a musical delight indeed they are. I will also admitt that Foursail is not on a par with earlier work in particular the glory that is Forever changes (which i shall worship till the day i hit the dust, in Arthur Lee we trust, Amen.)BUT to slate this album in the way that my fellow reviewer does, Mr. Randall, is just plain crazy talk.
This album is a change for Love, completely changing the lineup will have that effect on a band, it moves away from the eerie latin influenced psychedelic genius that incapsulated earlier albums yet genius this album is nonetheless and for those narrow minded pre Foursail Love purists (of which i hope there are few) such as Mr.Randall, if they have that much disregard for the album they can stick it where the sun don't shine.
Moving on, this album is a must have to anyone's collection, from the album's glorious open ,"august", in which the refreshing rock feel is further echoed in "singing cowboy" , through the almost epic sounding "dream" (i say sounding as the track is only 2:52), and its poignant climax (discounting bonus tracks) in "always see your face", there is something a little bit special about this often neglected album and it is a testement to the greatness of Arthur Lee and the talent of the new ban that they were able produce something of such musical beauty that has easily stood the test of time.
Also to you Mr.Randall if you prefered Elenor Rigby To Robert Montgomery you truly are the fool of fools and i say shame on you and your poor beguiled CD player!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)