Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
17
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2003
Let me begin by saying: I love Opeth.
The old saying 'Quality not Quantity' was never more true of this Swedish quartet.
At a mere 6 tracks Deliverance isn't a large body of work when compared to other artist's mainstream albums of 10 to 13 songs.
But that is simply insignificant when you listen to it.

The new material from Opeth clocks off at 61:52. And what an intoxicating hour and a bit of sonic heaven and hell that is!!
Mikhael and the boys are, in my humble opinion, the best at what they do, and once more they've proved it with the release of the sixth obsevation Deliverance.

I have to agree with some of the other reviews here at Amazon and say that this album isn't as immediately accessible as say Blackwater Park (A Masterwork), but it's still another by turns sublime and apocalyptic metal opera (like all Opeth's work).

If you liked Blackwater Park then this'll take a few listens to get into, but it IS worth it - believe me!! Certainly heavier than it's predecessor it lacks none of the underpinned sublimnity or blaringly obvious depth. The engineering is at least as good as Blackwater - with every instrument coming in sharp as a razor. Akerfeld's mellow and snarling vocals are cuttingly clear.
I won't bore you with lists of stand out tracks - it must be taken as a whole like Opeth's other work. To sum up all I'll say is: If you liked ANY of Opeth's back catalogue then this is a worthy addition.
Personally, I can't wait for follow up opus Damnation in Mar 03.
Fellow fans of the genre and of the band rejoice!
These guys are no where near the peak of their powers. . .
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2005
Deliverance is a good album, make no mistake about it, however it is not the whole Opeth experience. In actual fact, Deliverance is the 'heavy, death metal' bit of Opeth, while the follow up release Damnation, is the 'quiet and folky' side.
Opeth decided to split their musical talent and give their listenners one all-out oral assault, then follow it up with something to help them calm down again. In theory, it's a good idea, especially given Opeth's undeniable talent in both the heavy and mellow shades of their music, but when divorced of the other 'half', it just doesn't work as well as could be hoped.
Deliverance is indeed stunningly heavy, and Akerfeld's voice is, as ever, a treat to hear but there is always the sense as you listen that the album is missing something, that when Opeth were recording it they restricted their playing and creativity in order to churn out the desired effect. In so doing they have stunted what could have been a great double album concept and stopped the songs from 'growing' into themselves organically.
Personally, I think Damnation works far better than Deliverance because it doesn't stick as rigidly to avoiding 'heavy' bits as Deliverance did to avoiding the mellow side. Damnation allows the music to breathe and the songs sound like there's a bit more life about them.
If you're looking for a way into Opeth, buy Blackwater Park or Still Life or tempt yourself with the new album on 29th August, but don't look to Deliverance as a first port of call.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2003
This is a superb effort. It's the kind of album you think you've been waiting for for ages. A perfect mix of light and shade, the heavy and the mellow. Absurdly 'catchy', yet broodingly serious and dark, and most importantly, heavier than a big heavy thing. This is the logical conclusion of Master of Puppets and, dare i say it, may give the Metali-classics of Ride the Lightening and Puppets a run for their money. US nu-metallers beware - this is inescapably where the cutting edge and creativity are. What do they feed 'em on in Scandanavia?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2002
Opeth have once again managed to produce an exceptional album continuing the musical progression I thought must have reached it's creative pinnacle with 'Blackwater Park' (one of the albums of all time !). I say 'continuing' rather than 'improving' as I feel that this is slightly less immediate than 'BP' and takes a little longer to absorb. Even so, the material here is streets ahead of the majority of other bands out there. How anyone is supposed to compete with these guys is beyond me as they keep raising the standards with every release. With 'Deliverance', like other Opeth albums, you really have to invest a little time. Believe me, it's worth it.
Opener 'Wreath' starts at breakneck speed (no blast beats though, thank god), the guitars and rhythm section truly crushing. Dropping down a gear later on and you hear the sound of bongos, no less, then picks up and bolts off sounding ever so slightly like classic Dokken with a George Lynch-esque guitar sound. This doesn't mean they've mellowed out. Far from it, as the song segues into a classic Opeth like finale with recurring, driving doomy riff, very atmospheric and a great way to kick things off.
The title track follows immediately with another driving, powerful intro. A minute or so in and we get our first true acoustic interlude, as beautiful and moving as anything Opeth have given us before. Slightly jazzy in feel, Mickaels vocals really are on top form both clean and rough. This track is going to be a true Opeth classic. All 13 minutes of it. The riff that seems the song out just has to be one of the most powerful they've produced. Complete Opeth heaven !
'A Fair Judgement' continues with the light and dark movements, interspersing quiet verses before launching into an almighty anthemic style hook. As intricate and varied as anything previous, it keeps the mood fully on the 'dark and doomy' side.
After 'For Absent Friends' (an acoustic instrumental), we have 'Master's Apprentices' which begins with a riff that Candlemass would kill for. This is heavy. And it rarely lets up throughout. Possibly the best track on the album. More of the same intricate time and mood changes but never ever sounds contrived or too calculated. That is the joy of Opeth. They write songs of inordinate length but it all feels so natural, knowing every section fits perfectly with the next. This track finishes with a rollocking final guitar fest, maintaining the recurring hook riff till fade out. Fantastic.
Last track is 'By The Pain I See In Others'. Absolutely rocks out of the blocks. Best part of the song is the mid section, reminding me a little of Alice Cooper's 'Steven'. Ever so slightly 'disturbed'. In fact, keep the CD running for a while after you think it's all finished for some bizarre vocals, sounding like wails from a Middle Eastern mosque.
This is Opeth doing what they do best so don't expect any Anathema style shifts in musical direction. Save the mellower side for next Spring's new release. 'Deliverance' offers more evidence to support the view that Opeth are one of the best metal bands on the planet, certainly the most creative around. While I found 'Blackwater Park' to be more immediate, 'Deliverance' is more like the first four albums, in that I expect to be finding new things in each song over the months to come. Personally, I can't wait for the next album. I want Opeth to be heard by as many people as possible and if it takes something mellower, then so be it. Such musicianship and creativity deserves more than a loyal but limited underground following.
What more can I say? Find out for yourself.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2002
Initially when I heard this I was fearing the worst. It was inevitable, I thought, that Opeth would finally do a disappointing album. The opening riff on "Wreath" is a slightly tuneless rolling riff, not really one that should open an album. Disappointing when you compare it to, for example, "The Leper Affinity", "April Ethereal" or "The Moor". But anyway, the album really has to grow on you before you make "A Fair Judgement" (arrest him). I heard this a few times at first and it didn't make an impact on me, but then that was similar to what I thought when I first heard "Morningrise".
After a few listens, though, you'll suddenly start picking out some mesmerising riffs on "Wreath", "Deliverance" and "Master's Apprentice". Probably the first song that you'll like is "A Fair Judgement", starting with a beautiful and miserable piano that fades into a jazz section, then in the middle of the song a beautiful, trippy Pink Floyd-esque jam accompanies the prog-rock vocals, before finishing with a sublime, towering riff.
Be patient with this album. It might not grab you at first, but then after repeated listens you'll suddenly realise that this is one of the best records of the decade so far.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2003
Being unfamiliar with Opeth, my first encounter came when i bought a magasine with a one track sample from Damnation on it. I was immediately impressed and rushed out to buy Deliverance. This album will simply blow your mind. From the intensity of the first track, to the clean vocalled mournfullness of A Fair Judgement, the album continues to evolve and amaze as the minutes rush by. clocking at 62 minutes with just six tracks, the album seems at first sight overly lengthy and impenetrable but this is far from the truth. The melodies are stunning, as is the musicianship, and the whole sound is far more relevant and important than any other metal bands around today, with acoustic guitars and piano completing a perfectly produced aural soundscape. Hats off.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2002
With Deliverance, Opeth show their heavier side. The first thing that struck me with this album was how much better produced it sounded. The drums get a crisper and louder sound, and a good thing too, because the drumming on Deliverance has improved on the excellent standard from Opeth's previous albums. Mikael Akerfeldt's clean vocals have improved also, and his growling has become deeper, which is not to my taste, but the music is so well written that it hardly takes away from the experience of listening to this album at all. Guitar solos are also clearer, and even more satisfying to listen to (especially on the title track and A Fair Judgement).
All in all, this is an incredible album and Opeth fans will not be disappointed at all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2003
I'll just start by saying this was one of the best albums of 2002.
This, Opeth's sixth release, is by far a fine piece of work. The first thing you notice about "Deliverance" is the fact it only has 6 tracks, don't be fooled, 5 of the tracks are between 10 and 13 minutes long. Quality not Quantity is what i can about this album. This is one of the most original bands i've came across since Fear Factory released "Demanufacture" in 1995. Anyway, back to the album, This album is a little more creepy sounding than "Blackwater Park" (Which was a fine release itself) Mikael Akerfeldt really shows his capability of singing on this album, I especially like his singing in "Deliverance" (the song). This album is a change from all of the run of the mill metal albums we've had this year, it's very refreshing, even listening to it after a few months of owning it. This album also has the ability to play around with your mind, it actually gave me a few intresting dreams after i got it! If you liked "Blackwater park" your going to love this even more. Outstanding. A must have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2005
Over 7 albums you'd think you'd lose the pace a little. But it's not always the case.
Opeth, a traditional death metal band with progressive tendancies (well more than a tendacy), are just one of those bands that you know that come 15-20 years down the line, they might just be remembered. And although they'll never fill stadiums and provide absurd stage props, Opeth are easily as good as the genius that was Pink Floyd. Although you might think it difficult to compare such different bands, think again. Opeth have more than a love for progressiveness and provide melodic listenable tracks, just like Floyd did around 30 years ago. The difference is that Opeth are defined in a genre of music that scares people away due to church burnings, satanism and scary, scary music. With Opeth this isn't the case. The growling voice, which I didn't like at first, is perfectly contrasted with the cleaner more smooth, but still very dark vocals.
'Deliverance' is a good example of Opeth's work, but not one for beginners. 'Deliverance' is Opeth's most progressive album to date, and that includes 'Ghost Reveries' Opeth's latest opus, released on Roadrunner. 'Deliverance' at first may be frustrating, but it's one of those albums that you can't resist going back to and giving it one more chance, until you've fallen head over heels in love with it. The mixture of heavy metal riffs, classic 70's soloing and acoustic mellow passages are also at their best on here.
The other thing with Opeth, is you can't recommend tracks, because as with all great progressive albums, they're better off listened to as a whole. Opeth are never pretentious or overly-cocky (they have ability for sure, and they use it), and listening to an album like 'Deliverance', powerful, strong, beautiful, essential, gives you belief and hope for music at a time when music is at an all time low (with the exception of the 80's and thankfully Opeth borrow nothing from there).
4.5 Stars.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2003
As with any Opeth release, this album is a true masterpiece! with the 6 tracks clocking in at just over 6 hours, it creates a whole hour of pure musical beauty! As they announced, this album is a lot heavier and darker than the previous 'Blackwater Park' and 'Still Life' releases, and digs stronger into their roots. This album is the first in a 2 set series, and is the heavier of the two. The soon-to-be-released 'Damnation' is to be the much more mellow of the two albums, and it would have to be as it seems this album cannot get any heavier! This album, unlike @Blackwat...' and 'Still Life', creates a very strange atmosphere, surrounding mainly the last 4 tracks of the album. Although they are both amazing works of art, the first 2 tracks do not seem to fit in very smoothly with the last four, where that special atmosphere is created. Although the first two tracks are the most accessible and could be stated as the best with their crunching riffs and melodies, the real beauty is created in the latter tracks. With the truly spectacular 'A fair Judgement', and the guitar instrumental 'For Absent Friends', the scene is set for the two closing tracks, which are without a doubt the freakiest and darkest Opeth tracks I have ever heard. This album is something truly new for Opeth, and will certainly surprise anyone expecting a new Blackwater park. They really have experimented a lot more and havnt really played things on the safe side, with the last track even containing Jazzy organ parts and at the very end, what sounds like Mikeal singing in Swedish with very freaky effects. The last track, 'by the pain i see in others', in my eyes, is the best on the album. With its intro riff something truly new to Opeth, it soon builds into one of the most amazing beats I have ever heard. And then with Mikeal's truly freaky new vocals, it creates somthing i have never heard in opeth before. And then to top it off, the song climaxes into a jazzy guitar/piano interlude which will surprise even the most expecting Opeth fan! This album is truly worth it's price, go buy it now!! It will change your life!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)