Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
50
4.3 out of 5 stars
Out of Season
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 22 February 2017
I`ve had this album since 2011 and recently added it to my regular playlist again – what a beautiful and creative partnership this was.

The music varies between subtle folk-styled melodies, some jazz influences and some trip-hop elements though not as much as one would expect in comparison to Portishead.
There isn`t – in my opinion – a single weak track on the album; Gibbons brings all the variety of her vocal personas to bear across the 10 original songs; the arrangements include full orchestral backing on some tracks with some of the finest session musicians available – no faking it with synthesisers – though the electronics have - and take - their place in the production.

A rewarding, melodic and quite haunting set of tracks – what a shame there has been no follow-up – at least, to date.
The CD has a total running time of just under 44 minutes. Do check out the sound samples available above.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Excellent album. If you like Portishead you should love this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
Not brilliant to be honest. I am a great fan of both but this was disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2002
After waiting for a new Portishead album for a few years now I was surprised to hear that Beth Gibbons, the lead singer of Portishead, would be releasing a solo album. Her singing style and the accompanying music on Out Of Season are different from her work with Portishead. However, without a doubt the best moments on this album are equal to the best moments of the Portishead albums. I gave it 4 1/2 stars because there are three songs which I think that altough they are good are not worth 5 stars (however, I must state that another fan who also loves the album thinks that two of these songs are the best) but there are a few that are what I would actually call perfect and therefore worth more stars(Spider Monkey, Drake and Funny Time of Year) and others which are near perfect and worth an easy five stars(The Show and Sand river). This album speaks to the process of ageing and the helplessness associated with the finiteness of existence and all of the songs together as a whole speak to these themes. At times I find myself completely absorbed by the sadness and pure beauty of this album. I believe that most Portishead fans will really enjoy it even though it is a bit different than what they are used to from Beth. She brings forward new styles and further demonstrates how wonderful and talented she is on this solo debut. Although I am still anxiously awaiting the new Portishead album, I sincerely hope that this will not be the last solo project from my favorite singer Beth Gibbons.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
EMOTIONAL. This album expresses Beth's emotion and voice so well, and the production is delicately hugging her sweet lyrics. This has those soul aching vunerable vocals that we all know so well from Beth's Portishead days. A beautifully emotional cd. It's dark, melancholy sound had to be appreciated in the right mood though or you may find yourself getting depressed if you are already feeling bad. Well produced and very moving music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2008
I bought this cd after falling in love with Beth's voice. Comparisons with Portishead are unavoidable, but completely unsuccesfull. This cd constists of two kinds of songs. 1) Great songs, dare I say masterpieces (Mysteries, Tom the model, Fummy time of year) and 2) Almost great songs (all the rest).

This is definetely not an album that'll wake you up in the morning, it's MEANT to be played late at night, to let Beth's voice haunt your late hours, and why not, close your eyes and travel with your mind to the places she sings of.

It's difficult for me to define the genre of the album, cause that's like nothing I've heard this before. Most arrangements consist of just accoustic guitar appregios (Rustin Man), and Beth's voice.

This is a fine album indeed, and I can't not give special credit to "Funny time of year" which is one of the most depressing/devastating songs I've ever heard. If I am not mistaken, Beth said once in a interview (one of the very few), that she could barely speak for some days after recording this song, because she gave all the soul she had on it. And that's what the whole album is about.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2002
"God knows how I adore life..."
It's difficult to remember a record so perfect in every way. It begins with a 50-second soundscape melting away beneath THAT VOICE. 'Mysteries' sends shivers down the spine, like 'Mojo Pin' (from Jeff Buckley's 'Grace'), it's an opener that fills you with excitement till you're fit-to-burst, flawless, beautiful, majestic, sweeping... and before you can catch your breath it's over. 'Tom The Model' slips into 'Portishead' territory before exploding into a preposterously catchy chorus, and so it continues... There isn't a weak moment or false note on this extraordinary record: Gibbons' shoves and pulls her voice around lilting melodies and trip-hop rhythms, seamlessly shifting from Billie Holiday-stylings to Sandy Denny in successive songs.
'Mojo Magazine' described it as "one of the best albums ever made"- that it lives up to and surpasses such expectations, whilst making today's six-hour train delay not just bearable but a joy, says more about this wonderful album than you could possibly imagine. Please buy this.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2002
I don't usually listen to albums of the mellow folky variety but this is
my favourite album of the year. "Mysteries" and "Tom The Model"
were already familiar to me from a Jools Holland show performance and both
accessible and quickly grow on you. "Spider Monkey" has a great haunting
melody while "Drake" has a beautifully mournful quality. "Funny Time Of Year"
gradually builds up to almost a rockin' number and then softly fades out. "Rustin Man"
kind of reminds me of The Creatures' "Don't Go To Sleep Without Me"
and the girl behind the radiator's song in David Lynch's "EraserHead".
Very smooth album varying from sparse sound to cool, smooth production
on different songs. Beth Gibbons has a wonderful voice throughout, whether she's being
melancholy or smoky. Quite a gem of an album.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2002
After five years of silence, erstwhile Portishead singer, Beth Gibbons, brings us a collaboration with ex-Talk Talk bassist, Paul Webb, aka Rustin Man, that ranks as an instant classic. The elements of filmic majesty that set Portishead apart from the rest of the trip hop mob are still apparent in places, but this is a far more sparse album, filled with quiet acoustic beauty.
Gibbons sounds more comfortable here, away from the role of tortured vamp she often played, to perfection, when singing with Portishead.
Out of Season has a rustic, sensual, autumnal, folk ambience, no better displayed than on the opening 'Mysteries', where Gibbons' fragile paean to love and life is gently supported by ethereal choir and guitar.
At times vocally reminiscent of Melanie and Sandy Denny, Gibbons creates a work of unique and timeless beauty. A precious, precious gem.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 November 2002
This is a very striking and substantial release and one which manages to create something fresh whilst reminding you of the finest elements of the previous work of both participants. Paul Webb's ambient adventures with O.rang inform the production just as much as the autumnal hues of Talk Talk's "Spirit Of Eden", whilst Gibbons voice remains as frigile and expressive as it does with Portishead, yet also finds new timbres and nuances with which to colour this beautifully orchestrated work. The songs are bewitching and the overall sound of the record very welcoming, although consistantly edgy. If there is a "new folk scene" (and one hopes their isn't....), this must be an essential album for those wishing to explore it. And yet, it's so much more than that. Your word - timeless.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Third
£5.99
Dummy
£5.40

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)