Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
58
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 17 December 2002
The Resident Evil series is seven years old now, so you'd think its time was nearly up and that it would only continue for a strict fan-base. This isn't the case. The recent release of the remake of Resident Evil 1 and now a prequel to the series means there is no better time to get into Resident Evil. It is the gaming revolution that caused a sensation and created the Survival Horror genre in 1996. Read below for a breakdown of the game with positive and negative points:
GRAPHICS:
(+)Simply amazing. The sharp, pre-rendered locations are stunning and possibly the best graphics I have ever seen in any computer game. The backgrounds breathe with movement, a technique that has been perfected on the Gamecube, allowing pre-rendered backdrops to look alive and not static as they had in previous entries on the Resident Evil series. The colours work fantastically with the mood of the game and the cut-scenes are directed with amazing skill and are the most amazing I have ever seen in a game, surpassing those of Final Fantasy X in my opinion.
(-) Not a single problem, there is not one visable polygon mistake in this game. The lighting is beautiful. The only problem I would mention is that sometimes the camera is at an angle where not every available route is visable for the player. I often missed whole areas because I simply couldn't see their entrances.
SOUND:
(+) The use of sound effects is very cleverly employed, zombies will quietly shuffle in the distance, as always, and this proves to add to the tension a lot. The sounds created by the monsters are very well done. If I only had a surround sound system!
(-) The repeating footstep sounds can make the game sound a bit unrealistic, in the game "Silent Hill 2" for the playstation, hundreds of individual footsteps were recorded to avoid this, perhaps the game could have employed this technique? When you get used to the three or four different zombie groans, they just aren't scary anymore.
MUSIC:
(+) Very good, as usual. The music in the series is wonderful and the games' score is worthy of being a soundtrack to a movie. The music is very moody and slow, setting a perfect undertone for the visuals.
(-) More please! Long areas without music meant for me the atmosphere lacked. The makers perhaps thought silence was scarier and perhaps this is true, but in moderation.
PLAYABILITY:
(+) Easy to get into if you're familiar with the series. Nothing has really changed and all the improvements made throughout the series remain.
(-) The new system means you control two characters at once and there are times where this is difficult. I played the game on "Hard Mode" first which was a mistake, I thought I was good enough, but this game proves a new, and very difficult challenge on "Hard Mode" even for those experts of the series! I thought there were moments in the game where it was almost the luck if you survived - the computer controlled character can waste your ammo sometimes when you don't want them to, but you want them to be armed just in case. It's not really a bad point about the game, you just have to be very aware. You can never relax, which is actually quite a good thing in the case of this game.
REPLAY VALUE:
(+) Lots of extra stuff to do, like in all of the Resident Evil titles. It will keep you coming back and experiencing every inch of the game, which is worth doing!
(-) After playing the game on "Hard Mode" you will be exhausted and won't want to experience much more for a while, but give it time, you'll want more.
CONCLUSIONS:
I was shocked at how long this game was and how amazing it looked. There are more kinds of monster in this game than any other in the series, which is refreshing - I didn't expect so much from what I thought was going to be a fairly short and lacking spin-off to the Resident Evil Remake. This is a full blown prequel that is if anything BIGGER than the remake! The introduction of two characters is great fun and the acting is (for once) really very good! The lip-sinc is perfect (as it's not dubbed, it's in English in Japan, just subtitled) and the story is great, explaining quite a lot and leading up to the events in Resident Evil 1. With the oppertunity of a prequel, more could have been explained and the appearance of some of the more mysterious characters of the series would have been nice (though there are a few suprises, I personally would have loved to have seen what Ada Wong of "Resident Evil 2" was doing during this time period). This game is perfect, it moves away from the more "hollywood" orientated road that "Resident Evil: Code Veronica" began to steer down but keeping the horror, action and character development that we've come to respect the series for in total tact. Well done Capcom!
0Comment| 119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
ok well, im making this review 12 years after the game came out but even now this game still holds up. Seriously iv seen 360 games look worse than this, the detail for a game of its age is incredible. Anyway on to the actual game... this game tells the story of how the t virus was created and gives some pretty interesting back story involving albert wesker and william birkin ( im assuming you know who those guys are but if you dont their both pretty much the most important villians in RE) . The character swapping mechanism is cool, both rebecca and billy have their own strengths and weakness' and billy is a really cool character. However the selling point of this game has to be the atmosphere. It's horrific, the lab areas you encounter later in the game were used to research the t virus and its obvious humans were used as test subjects, so you find torture devices covered in "old dried blood" and morges with feet sticking out of body bags. The sound only adds to it, the music in this game is unrelentingly forboding, it gives a constant sense of dread, its easily some of the best music in the series. This is one of the most ' love it or hate it ' games in the series, and i agree it does some time to get going, but once it grips you it will have you till its end. Awesome stuff
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2005
I absolutely love this game. It's got a great fear factor, and keeps you on the edge of your seat. When I was playing it, I kept getting to situations where I was scared to go into the next bit, knowing there would be a huge boss, yet wanting to know what was past that. This game keeps you gripped, with its awesome storyline and brilliant graphics. For all resident evil fans, I really recommend this game.
Its got great features that the old versions never had, such as being able to drop your items and them pick them back up. You also have a partner throughout this game, so you can switch between them and pass items if you're close enough. One of the most annoying bits must be that you don't have one of those 'safety box' things that you have in the playstation resident evils, so theres nowhere to deposit your items. But being able to drop and repick up your items later on makes up for this.
I think this game is great, because it kept me hooked for so long that I actually bothered to go right to the end and complete it. Usually a normal adventure or platform game will get boring or there will be a bit you get stuck on and you give up, but this game keeps you going right to the end, and you often spot items you've missed or rooms you haven't gone to using the map.
In my opinion its an awesome game, and a must for any resident evil/silent hill type fan.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2003
Resident Evil Zero is the second exclusive RE title for the Nintendo gamecube after RE: Remake, and marks the first true game (although a prequel rather than a sequel) for the series since RE: Code Veronica on Dreamcast/PS2.
The game allows you to control two characters (Rebecca Chambers & Billy Coen) fully for the first time, with a new feature in the games called character zapping which means you can instantly switch between the controlling of the two characters in seconds and give orders like attack or idle.
For those who don't know, Rebecca was a secondary character in the first game and eventually the only survivor of the Bravo team who were sent in first to their deaths when stumbling upon the evil. This game, seven years after the PSONE original reveals what actually happened.
At the start, the bravo team arrive to investigate an incident in the a neighbouring forest of Raccoon City when their helicopter inexplicably malfunctions. An emergency landing is forced with touch down in the forest where the team slit up to investigate the area. Coming across some bodies and documents, they find that a man named Billy Coen, an ex-marine on sentence of death for killing 23 people has escaped. It is up to Rebecca to find him while being stalked by a mysterious figure who seems to be the master of the leeches that infest the game. The first bit of the game takes place on an empty (or is it?) train, before settling into the more familiar surroundings of a mansion, church, training facilities and sewer complex.
Graphics?
The graphics are extremely well done, if a little bland when compared to the slightly more impressive RE:Remake. All the bosses are visually excellent, if not the best yet as are the two characters you control. The backgrounds are still pre-rendered, which you'll either like (great detail) or dislike (no 3D interactivity).
Sound?
For me, the game seemed one of the least musical of the series. Ther are at times, moments of silence which as in Silent Hill 2 can be well utilized at the right times for fear (although not as good as the forementioned rival game), what music that does rear its head can be at times forgettable. The music in the intro FMV before the title screen also doesn't quite keep in keeping with previous brooding scores. Highlights however, is the ending theme once the game is completed (nearly as good as RE2's end piano score) as well as the music that comes before encountering the leach zombies!
Playability?
The game mechanics and controls have remained the same as all the previous titles (which you'll either like or dislike for ints lack of innovation). Whatever your feelings, the controls have been refined and improved as much as they have ever been, and fans of RE will feel right at home. The zapping system is good, but can at times be fiddly when having to jointly solve puzzles or fight the bosses. The computer controlled partner is often better at attacking than you! Arguably this can detract from the fear, but I never noticed it. If anything, practice makes perfect with the system.
Lastability?
Without a guide you'll probably finish it within five days on normal mode. There's also hard mode if you can be bothered (nothing extra is revealed compared to normal, just the challenge). Like all the others before it, completing the game under the classic conditions will lead to extra weapons, clothes and a mini-game.
Overall?
Re:Zero is a classic game, yet there were a couple of times during gameplay that made me question whether it's the best yet and whether the character zapping works? By the end of the game and its climatic finale, I was well and truly won over except on the point of the zapping system which is alright for one game, but with Capcom waiting to use it for RE4 as well let's hope it improves and isn't as frustrating (especially wasting ammo when giving orders!). For anyone who is a fan of the series, this comes highly recommended especially for the character revelations of Rebecca and those 'dog tags' and salute. Is this the best in the series? Re:Remake and especially the undervalued Code Veronica (no.1 in my opinion)is the best!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2005
This is my favourite RE (and Gc)game I currently own. The game further expands on the origional story, telling how the T-Virus was created. The character zapping system works well, and makes the game a fair bit easier. The graphics are impresive to say the least, and the "real time" lighting really adds to the mood. A must for fans of the game.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2003
After Resident Evil, I really did not expect this one to be mind blowing, but it really is. At the start the game runs slightly slow, but this is for new 'cubers' to get to grips with the game. After 3 hours of gameplay everything heats up, and you will find your self glued to your cube...
Amazing cinematics, love the new control system, the double-parter zapping system is very nice and not having item boxes is just great!
The game still suffers from the painfull door opening sequences, but this ACTUALLY causes some suspension, and fear as to 'what's inside this room?!?'. The extra partner offers more comfort thus the fear factor is slightly reduced as you know that you have double the firepower, but if one of 'em dies game over...
Quite a few puzzles require both of the characters to complete 'em, and the usual Gas Room puzzle is back with full force...
This is simply a MUST BUY for any GameCuber!
Mike...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2003
I first heard about this game back when it was going to be a game for the N64, at the time I was very excited about a brand new RE game, but that excitment ended when it got canned. However, it bounced back to become the best Gamecube game there is so far!
The story follows the events prior to the first Resident evil game, the main characters are the bravo teams medic, Rebecca Chambers and an escaped convict named Billy Coen.
The gameplay is the usual Redident evil style, except for the new "team mode" this is where you effectively control two character simultaneously, some puzzles in the game require two people to solve them and there are points in the game where the two get split up. I was unsure whether the team mode would work at first, as in all the previos games only one character is able to be controlled. I was pleasantly suprised however that the team mode works very well and it certainly doesnt take long to get used to.
There are more enemies in this game than any other previous Resi games, most of them are insect based, including a giant scorpian, a giant centipede and various other insect forms. although this game does have a lot of new enemies, most of them are meerly real life insects made bigger which does seem to be a bit lazy on capcoms part. The best new monster undoubtably are the eliminators, which are little monkey's. These monster worked particularly well, i thought. They jump around from all directions and swing on various bits of scenery tearing into you with huge claws.
The graphics are another good thing about this game, all the environments look really realistic, although they are only pre-rendered, capcom has certainly done a great job. The attention to detail in this game is also very impressive, I was very suprised when a zombie grabbed at my foot, and when I stamped on its head, blood flowed from it and it really did look great, flowing like real liquid. I was even more suprised at the way the body was still twitching afterwards.
One of the main drawbacks of this game was the fact that capcom has done away with the item boxes that Resi fans have come to love, and replaced them with the ability to drop items, which is usefull and it leaves a mark on the map, but if you drop a useful item and by that time you are far away from where you dropped, it is quite annoying having to backtrack all the way back to where you left it. Another drawback is the fact that each character can only hold 6 items each, which is ok because you get two characters so there is a total of 12 item slots between them but the fact that all the big guns (shotgun, grenade launcher etc) all take up two slots, the space is used very quickly.
I would really liked to have seen what happened to the other bravo team members during this game aswell, but capcom just leaves you guessing at what happened to them during this game.
Despite this game's flaws, the good far out-weighs the bad, and is another Resi game worthy of a 5 star rating.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2006
I was an avid resident evil fan and recently when buying games again decided i should get all the resident evil games and play them in order.

Resident evil 0 is the beggining of the whole story. In this game you get to play as Rebecca, a young S.T.A.R.S member who is on her first misson and Billy who is being transported to serve his death sentence.

This game has a lot of good points.

Great character swapping which you dont get in any other resident evil game.

Great story line

Nice graphics

New enemys which can actually scare you

The bad side

Unfortunatly its the old contol sytem and not the one that you get in resident evil 4

Sometimes the camera angle can really get on your nerves

Game feels a bit short

You should really complete this game in a few days (i got onto the second disc in about a day of on and off playing)

If your new to the Series then This is well worth starting with. And after that work your way through the series. If your an old hand that hasnt got this yet then why not.... Your as bad as me... Still better late than never go and buy this before you struggle to get it
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Resident Evil 1, 2 and 3 are great, but this is sort of to a certain taste. It works just like the Resident Evil remake, but I can't seem to make up my mind. It's nice, but I don't get the love that I with others. I haven't even completed it so probably need a good go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2005
From start to finish this games has supsence and more action than ever of the other resident evil games. It has amazing graphics and is well worth getting. It keeps you on the edge of your seat all through the game and people who are new to the series this will last you at least 15 hours first time through and you would want to go back for more.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)