Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Curb
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
4.6 out of 5 stars
Curb
Format: Audio CD|Change


on 3 October 2017
This is a self produced album. I think this means that when you order it, Chad Kroeger goes into his garage to run one off and then delivers it by hand next time he's nearby.

When it does eventually arrive you get Nickelback with some very grungy rough edges. At times they seem to try too hard which doesn't always pay off, especially with the vocals, but all the signs are there of what Nickelback were to become. Stand out tracks for me are Detangler and Fly, but there is plenty of variation to suit many tastes.It's Nickelback but not as you know them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
As promised
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2010
An amazing album. I would recommend everyone to buy it, especially new Nickelback fans. I suppose the album is a mix of Nu-metal and Grunge but Nickelback are just a fantastic rock band. It also reminds me of Pearl Jam in parts.

I'd also like to stick up for Nickelback as sadly they tend to get a bad press. It irritates the living daylights out of me when fans complain that bands have "changed". Bands progress, their talents develop and as a result, their music changes. A lot of people have also stopped supporting Nickelback as they feel they have become `too popular'. Can't people just be happy for rock bands making it big? (Rant over!)

As a massive fan who has seen Nickelback live a few times, they play their new stuff as well as the old. But yeah, if you'd like to hear a heavier and grungier Nickelback, then this album is definitely for you!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2003
Having everything else they have released, I finally bought their debut album Curb. Whilst not as polished as The State, Silverside or The Long Road, its still a superb rock album and a must for any fan who owns any of their other stuff. Agree with previous reviewer - excellent drumming - but think it is Brandon Kroeger before Ryan 'Nik' Vikedal joinned. Five stars for the best band around. *****
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 November 2002
Maybe it doesn't help that I heard Nickelback's third album (Silver Side Up) first but when I listened to The Curb I didn't think it was nearly as good. I still enjoyed listening to it but the band seem to have gotten better as they've progressed through the years.
This is maybe most evident with the song Just Four which appears both on this album and Silver Side Up. I don't know why they have re-recorded it but it has been improved, maybe this is what the band wanted to do but I think it does show that they are getting better all the time.
If you are a fan of Nickelback they you will definitely like this album.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2006
This is a must-have for any Nickelback fans who have been disappointed with their latest 'All the Right Reasons' but love the other stuff. It takes the band back to their roots and uncovers a different side of their musical abilities.
I bought this album having already owned Silver Side Up and Long Road for a while. It surprised me at first - it is hugely different to anything else they've done, with a raw, grungey sound and vocals that sound like Chad didn't really know what he was doing. The songs seemed rather disjointed and improvised at first, but after a few listens I saw the intricate quality of the album. The songs show great originality and passion, and certain numbers grow on you fast, especially ones like 'Where' 'Curb' and 'Fly'. It shows a whole new side to the band and I found myself loving it almost straight away.
If you love SSU and The State (which I bought after Curb, and is an equally impressive record) then get this album! It's just a shame that Nickelback have gone downhill with their overly-poppy 'All the Right Reasons' which seems to lack any signs of their early charisma.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2002
This is the first album by the sensational Nickelback, and it's certainly not a Let down.The vocal brilliance of lead singer Chad Kroeger is a rare treat, maybe only matched by the Red Hot CHili Peppers Vocalist Anthony Kiedis. The drumming by Ryan Vikidal is first class. All in all this is a must have for all music fans. My personal favourite son is Falls back on but all are great. Buy this album
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
I love it! Arrived quickly and well packed. Really pleased.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2009
They seem to be a love or hate band, obviously i've given 5 stars and so inhabit the love them category. Forget Rockstar, which has been overused by everyone for everything, and look at 'Animals', 'Just to get high' and 'Feelin way too damn good'. They make us smile, think and feel.

Curb is a chance to see how they began and although it lacks the finesse of their later projects, it has that glimpse of promise in their talent that got them there in the end.

If you're a Nickleback fan, get it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2005
(NOTE: this album is their second, after their self-produced "Hesher")
This definitely has some great grunge songs on it, and not all of them are for grunge-lovers only. Songs like Fly and Pusher are some of my favourites of all time.
If only the band had stayed on this grunge style, instead of turning to the pop-rock band that made Silver Side Up and Long Road (two terrible albums IMO)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)