Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
18
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2017
Always liked child of the moon could not find it anywere else superb album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
With 4 transatlantic No 1’s in ‘(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction’, ‘Get Off Of My Cloud’, ‘Paint It Black’, and ‘Honky Tonk Woman’, and lots of other successful singles, the multi-million selling US compilation Hot Rocks 1964-1971 is rightly highly regarded.

By contrast this slightly more offbeat follow-up, which covers material recorded between 1963 and 1969, feels a little overlooked. It really shouldn’t be. It might not have the same volume of big hits, but this double LP has 2 UK No 1’s (‘The Last Time’ and ‘It's All Over Now’), and some other Top 10’s (‘Not Fade Away’, ‘We Love You’, and ‘Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby, Standing In The Shadow?'). It also boasts plenty of other attractive material from deeper in their back catalogue, like album tracks ‘Out Of Time’ and ‘No Expectations’.

The 8 rarities (the “fazed cookies”) that conclude this collection stand up relatively well in that company, particularly their 1963 debut single 'Come On’ and the 1966 B-side 'Long Long While'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
MORE EARLY STONES MAGIC
This album is in no way inferior to "Hot Rocks." Even though it contains rarities and album tracks, it's full of early Stones magic and plenty of classics like Tell Me, Not Fade Away, The Last Time, Out Of Time and Lady Jane. It's particularly strong on the psychedelic side of the Stones with brilliant songs like Dandelion, We Love You, She's A Rainbow and 2000 Light Years From Home. On top of that, it contains their very first single Come On and some excellent covers of Muddy Waters and Chuck Berry compositions. This album has stood the test of time very well and is a masterpiece compared to most of today's mainstream rock music. Like Hot Rocks, it also deserves 7 stars.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 June 2009
First released in 1972, this sequel to Hot Rocks 1964-1971 is necessarily somewhat short of greatest hits, as these had been liberally spattered all over the earlier double album. Nonetheless it does sport half a dozen A-sides. Surprisingly, these include The Last Time and It's All Over Now which were both number one hits in the UK, and Not Fade Away, which reached number three here. However it looks as if the collection was put together by the Stones' former US label, London, as it includes several selections that were on singles in America but that were album tracks in the UK, such as I'm Free and Lady Jane. Tell Me was also an early US single, though here it is in a longer version that was on the British version of their debut album.

Unlike Hot Rocks which, with just a couple of exceptions, contained only songs featured on singles, More Hot Rocks provides a wider and richer peek into the Stones' vast back catalogue by also plundering albums and assorted odds and ends. Out Of Time, for example, and Sittin' On A Fence were well-known songs because they were hits for Chris Farlowe and Twice As Much, but the Stones' own renditions were only on album. What To Do and Let It Bleed are also album tracks.

The Stones were more adventurous, diverse and experimental than a cursory run through their hits would indicate, and the B-sides chosen here make the point nicely: Good Times Bad Times, Dandelion, Two Thousand Light Years From Home (more like the Pink Floyd than anything else), Child Of The Moon, No Expectations and Long Long While.

Rarities include Poison Ivy (Version One) and Fortune Teller. These two covers were recorded as a follow-up to Come On, their debut British single, but were rejected and instead turned up later on a mixed artists compilation that nobody bought entitled Saturday Club. Money (That's What I Want) and Bye Bye Johnny come from their first British EP, which was not released stateside. I Can't Be Satisfied was on the UK version of their second album but was unreleased in the US, and since the 2002 reissue programme did not include the British versions of the first two albums, this is the only place it can be found on CD, and in a splendid stereo mix.

One of the aims of the reissue programme was to find the best and purest sources of the Stones' masters and get as many variants in catalogue as possible, excising all electronic stereo. Therefore, whereas Singles Collection: The London Years is all in mono up until Honky Tonk Woman, this compilation is liberally sprinkled with stereo where available, including It's All Over Now, the We Love You/Dandelion single and Child Of The Moon. Sonically, it is a big improvement on previous CD editions and sounds even better in SACD, though it maintains the authentically bright sound of the original production, as the aim here was not to remix.

Three other tracks have been added to the US version of the album, all unavailable on any other CD, but are unfortunately not included on the UK release.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
Yes this is not for everyone, and if you want a best of, buy 40 licks, however there are some lovely gems on this collection such as 'child of the moon', 'sitting on a fence' I always liked the feel of this compilation, especially disc 2. I don't think it's fair to give this collection 3 stars, the title does give it away a bid (fazed cookies). The problem with the stones is, although people think they are always the same, the are very diverse. And I'm one of those fans who like 'satanic majesties', 'between the buttons''beggars banquet' 'voodoo lounge, All the albums that most people don't seem to be very fond of. To me they are quality.
all in all a very pleasurable cd if you like their flower power era..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2005
Well that depends... if you want a "Best of" collection there are many better Rolling Stones CD's out there, if you want to find out what they were doing in their "early years" than their first two albums are definitely the place to start, and if you want the "B" sides to their early singles plus the tracks off their first UK EP's (several which are included here) then their "Singles 1963-1965" boxed set has them all.
So why bother with this very odd compilation? Well there's only one, ridiculously expensive reason - "I Can't Be Satisfied" - a magnificent cover of a Muddy Waters track that's up there with the very best of anything the Stones or anyone else has released and which, along with "Little Red Rooster", was pivotal in establishing their reputation as a "serious" blues band. Featuring some stunning slide guitar from Brian Jones, wonderfully understated backing from Keith Richards and some beautifully laid-back drumming from Charlie Watts, it's an absolutely unmissable cut that was, quite unbelievably, "lost" in the track-shifting between their first two UK & US albums... and, equally unbelievably, is, at present, only available here.
It's a huge amount to pay for one track but then maybe you can help justify the cost on the basis that several of the other tracks on this double CD, most of which are excellent, fill some glaring gaps in your Stones collection.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2000
I must say I was dissapointed upon listening to this CD. I expected something similar to the songs on "Hot Rocks," but got only side-B songs. Sure, two or three of them are great ("Have you seen your mother baby, standing in the shadow?" or "Sittin' on a fence"), but the other 20 are.. well, maybe mediocre is too strong a word, but not far too strong.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2004
So here we have Hot Rocks Part Two, or so the title would suggest. It certainly starts out in the same vein as its predecessor, building as it does from the Stones' early R&B repertoire - Not Fade Away, It's All Over Now - through their commercial pop phase - Lady Jane, Have You Seen Your Mother Baby? After this, we are treated to an interesting portion of the Stones psychedelic era, most notably the brilliant We Love You and Child Of The Moon. Then we're into the classic stuff, with the sublime country-blues of No Expectations and Let It Bleed.
Then, just as you think this collection is about to get really good, it's back to the early days and a load of rare and previously unreleased rubbish. I mean, Fortune Teller? Poison Ivy? Bye Bye Johnny? What the Hell is that all about? It's as if they got to Let It Bleed and ran out of good material, which I have since found out not to be the case. I mean where is Stray Cat Blues, or Love In Vain? Nowhere to be seen, that's where, and that is why you should not buy this CD. Instead, go straight for the studio albums Let It Bleed, Beggars Banquet, Exile On Main Street and Sticky Fingers, in that order. Or, if you prefer the Stones' early work, target The Singles Collection. Here, you get all of the good stuff from this collection, most of the good stuff from Hot Rocks, and none of the rubbish you'll find here.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2016
Be aware that the artwork implies this is the boxed version but it is not, it comes in a slim jewel case. Contents great of course but Amazon needs to update the artwork.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2001
Hear about the Beatles' famous butcher cover? (Not a cover version, mind you, but, in this case, an album cover, featuring the boys in butcher smocks holding raw bloody meat!) That photo was a protest against how some British groups' albums were being mangled Stateside. As a US fan, I've enjoyed the superior (and longer) UK versions of early Beatles albums made available in my country when their catalog was being issued on CD. Too bad the same hasn't been done with the Stones' early albums; worse, *UK* fans are being forced to endure the US reshuffles (splitting _Out of Our Heads_ into two separate albums, for example) and major redundancies such as _Flowers_ and this compilation. US fans used to treasure this for the rare B-sides and album cuts found only on the UK LPs; now *you're* being forced to compromise as well, shelling out more money for "We Love You" (formerly available on the UK edition of the single-disc _Through the Past Darkly: Big Hits, Vol. 2_) and "rare" R&B covers from the early days, while also buying songs you already have on CD!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)