Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
45
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2017
Still sounds GREAT after all these years. Replacing my original LP
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 2002 CD re-issue of the Rolling Stones' third album, and the fourth to be released in the states, is the much superior USA version.

The British edition of 1965's 'Out of Our Heads' omitted the excellent tracks which were written by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, the two UK chart-topping, rock-raucous singles '(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction' and 'The Last Time', as well as the song which was originally issued as it's latter's B side: 'Play with Fire'. Obviously, this trio are now among the most prized of the band's early gems as far as the fans are concerned. Another Stones original which was left of the British version is 'The Spider and the Fly', which provided the flip side to 'Satisfaction'. With these important additions, the state side edition has always knocked spots off the UK's.

This was the album which ended the tradition of these five rockers covering American R+B numbers, and after it's release, they would then make albums entirely of their own songs. The Don Covay hit 'Mercy, Mercy' opens the record up brilliantly, and following this we find excellent versions of Sam Cooke's soulful and catchy 'Good Times', and the more obscure 'Cry to Me', written by Bert Burns, which is still the definitive version as far as I'm concerned. The live track, 'I'm All Right', taken from their first official EP 'Got Live If You Want It!', gives you a little taster as to how great they were on the stage.

Despite the covers, which were delivered with the band's very own authentic stamp, ample flair and attitude, 'Out of Our Heads' was when these boys were really starting to come into their own, and it marked the end of their first era so to speak. It's a really great album, free of any filler, and my own personal, hands-down favourite of their earliest releases. A very important addition to any Stones' collection, and a brilliant introduction to their work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2016
Had to return item as track list on screen was totally different to actual track list.
Wouldn't have minded so much but needed 1 particular track for funeral music and that was one that wasn't on the cd.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Received wrong cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
The track listing above does not match what is actually on the CD ! Not very helpful as I bought it on the strength of that. I guess this list is for the US release not the UK one ?
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
This was the last Stones album to feature R & B covers as well as their own material. After this Andrew Oldham ordered them to make their next album (Aftermath) Stones only which ushered in a new creative era with Between the Buttons, Satanic Majesties, and an their ensuing golden period.
The photo is Ealing Club (I think) where my sister used to ogle Brian Jones. I still have the vinyl version from 1965 but be sure and buy the definitive version CD as manufacturers tend to mess about these days (adding and removing tracks) for commercial impact.
My son (born 25 years after the album was made) loves it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 April 2007
'Out Of Our Heads' is the final Stones album that was a mixture of covers and original material. In 1965 the Stones still considered themselves primarily a singles band so much of their attention was still being focused on those three of four single releases a year. That's not to say 'Out Of Our Heads' is not a good album - it does have much to offer but it's rather an uneven album in many ways particuarly when compared with the albums that followed.

Much like the Stones debut album 'The Rolling Stones' much of 'Out Of Our Heads' displays the rock 'n' roll vitality and occasional blues sound which had always been a striking feature of their early style. However, 'Out Of Our Heads' also displays a strong soul element which the Stones managed to incorporate very well into their rock 'n' roll grooves.

'She Said Yeah', the opening track really does reflect the Stones fidelity as hard edged purveyors of the rock 'n' roll sound. Its manic sound is a perfect early example of their raw energy. 'Mercy, Mercy' and 'Hitch Hike' also have that hard edged rock 'n' roll sound but there's also an element of soul, too. 'Good Times' has a softer soul sound. The Stones also include a more typical Chuck Berry cover 'Talkin' 'Bout You' which is perhaps not their most inspiring take on a Chuck Berry song and also 'Cry To Me' and 'Oh Baby (We Got A Good Thing Goin') which are good if not particuarly arresting.

Their own songs 'Gotta Get Away', 'Heart Of Stone' and 'I'm Free' continue the soul theme and if these songs aren't quite Stones classics they do display a degree of promise for things to come. The Stones other original 'The Under Assistant West Coast Promotion Man' is an effective blues influenced song. The highlight of the album though is another Stones cover - 'That's How Strong My Love Is' in which Mick gives a fabulously effective vocal to this fine soul song. I'd say it's this performance more than anything else on this album which shows how genuinely convincing the Stones can be even when attempting to emulate the rugged black soul sounds of the day.

Overall 'Out Of Our Heads' isn't exactly an essential Stones album as they would go on to bigger and better things - yet it is a nice addition to any collection. It's a little uneven in places yet there's an authentic raw spontaneity which shines through most of the time which, with a little refinement, ultimately points the way to their classic sound on albums like 'Exile On Main Street'.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 November 2009
The only one of The Stones's first five US albums to share its title with one of the UK releases, 'Out Of Our Heads' nevertheless features just six of the same tracks on both releases. This version is undoubtedly stronger, simply because it features the tracks from their first two big, self-penned hits. 'The Last Time' and 'Satisfaction' are among their finest moments, but the b-sides 'Play With Fire' and 'The Spider And The Fly are also superb. The restrained, dramatic qualities of 'Play With Fire' crept increasingly into their writing, and at first proved valuable, but were perhaps later overused.

From the first two cover tracks, it's clear that the band were a lot more confident and competent at tackling a wide range of material than on their first album. For me, every track is a winner, with the exception of 'Good Times', though that probably has a lot to do with my aversion to Sam Cooke songs. A great CD, which shows that there was a lot more to the early Stones than just a string of number one singles.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2010
The first time I heard this album was on a mono version back in 1966. I had bought it second-hand from a friend and it quickly became one of my favourite LPs.

This album has the rawness of early Stones albums, with some classic tracks that sound as fresh today as they did back then, with one caveat - the digital re-mastering has shone new light on the excellent production.

I remember lending the LP to someone back in the 1970's and never saw it again (lessons to be learnt). It was only because my favourite track on the album 'The Underassistant West Coast Promotion Man' came into my head one day recently after thirty-odd years(who knows how the Human brain works sometimes), that I searched the Internet and found this re-mastered album at Amazon. There are several versions of this album, but for me it had to be the one with the cover used on the LP I acquired in 1966.

There's not a track on this album that I dislike, 'Mercy Mercy' running second place favourite for me as it has a solid drum line throughout, demonstrating Charlie Watts skills and excellent guitar work. If you want to hear early Stones tracks at their best, you won't be disappointed by this album
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2010
Which album are Amazon advertising here?? The US or UK version of this album?? Both were different.

The American cover sleeve is on display, but the UK track listing is advertised.
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£5.45

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)