Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
37
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2009
I have to disagree with the last review on here, this is everything to do with Christmas, The Prince and the pauper is based at Christmas, yes some of the stories are old but that just makes it even more enjoyable, i love the classics and the last story "Small one" is very touching and perfect for getting into the Christmas mood :-D
My Son is 3 and half now and this has been a fav of his for almost 2 yrs now.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2010
I bought this DVD to get a copy of The Small One. I loved this Christmas cartoon as a child and, after watching it, still love it as an adult.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Disney over the decade has made numbers of shorts and features that while great, are not really long enough to justify being on DVD alone. This has led in recent years to a huge number of Disney DVD's that tend to bundle a mix of winter and Christmas themed items together. Some of them, like the "Winter Wonderland" DVD - are cheap advertisements for other Disney titles, While titles like this one contain the real Christmas gems.

Prince and the Pauper is a featurette film, it's longer than your traditional short at 25 minutes, but a masterful adaptation of the classic tale of a king and peasant who switch lives for a few days. It premièred in theaters in 1990 with Rescuers Down Under, but still looks fantastic to this day. Plenty of great songs and character interaction between Mickey, Goofy and Donald.

The shorts are general issue ones from the list of many Disney have in their vaults. The stand out stars are the very fun "Donald's Snow Fight", a rare showing for one of the less popular "Silly Symphony" series - "Wynken, Blynkin and Nod", and the very much respected "The Small One"

"The Small One" is special in that it's one of the very few times Disney has tried to tell it's own take on a religious story, in this case, the birth of Christ. Rather than actually focusing on the Nativity, the story is instead about a young boy looking to sell his beloved old Donkey that his father can no longer afford. He resolves to sell him to someone who will love the animal as much as he does. One of the last projects Don Bluth worked on before setting up his own studio, it's a heart-warming, but bittersweet story much like the later films he worked on. It never seeks to expressly preach or push it's point, letting the story and characters themselves tell the story.

In short plenty here you'll have likely not come across on other Disney DVD's if you are looking for something new.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2002
Countdown to Christmas says it all. A wonderful collection of classic Disney cartoons for young and old alike. Whether you are a youngster discovering Mickey,Donald and their sidekicks for the first time, or seeing them again and remembering those carefree days of your youth it doesn't matter. The enjoyment is there for the taking what ever your age.I wholeheartedly recommend it.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
Bough this for my 2 year old daughter and she was happy with it
bought before christmas and thought would be good idea to prepare her for christmas and it worked
she was looking forward to it and there is a lot of things to learn from the stories like being good to others and sharing and trying to help others
great buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2004
I bought the DVD because of a review but found out that it had very little to do with christmas whatsoever.It's made up of six stories,some of which appear in Disney Fables too.They are rather old and I simply could not understand how the"Prince and the Paupper" get in a holiday DVD.If you really want christmas fun and Disney magic,try "Mickey's Once upon a time" istead!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2012
I purchased Mickeys Christmas DVD part 2 last year and my 3 year old and myself loved it so much I thought I would purchase some other Disney Christmas offerings as I hoped they would be in the same vein. I am a bit disapointed in this DVD, it is just a rehash of some old Disney cartoons, with not much Christmas spirit involved. The only common thread is that all the storys seem to be set in the snow. But my 3 year old seems to enjoy it, so I would not recommend it for the Christmas content, but it is good classic Disney.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2004
I find the title rather misleading.The DVD is actually a compilation of stories you find in other Disney DVDs too.The story of the "Prince and the pauper" and "Wynken,Blynken and Nod" are also found in Disney fables.The rest of the stories are somehow old and only the two last ones remind us of Holidays.I think that "Mickey's Once upon a Christmas" is far better.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
All of the sections in this DVD are suitable for all. 9 year old grandson loved all of this. My favourite is still "Small One".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2007
What a disappointment. I bought this DVD with the expectation that it would have Christmas stories and help our 3 year old get excited about the big day. No such luck. She so completely tuned out at The Prince and the Pauper. One of those products that miss-sells, does not do what it says on the tin.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse