Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
176
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 2002
I was 12 years old when Auf Wiedersehen Pet first hit our screens. The first series was set in Dusseldorf and as my family had just returned from there, I suppose we were more inclined to watch it than most to see if we recognised anywhere. Anyone who has ever watched it will know that you don't see much of the scenery but that was when I fell in love with the gang.
I was delighted when it was announced that the BBC (what happened to ITV?) were producing a new series 20 years on starring all of the original cast but of course without Wayne. However, even here it was a touch of genius to introduce a son of the wayward rocker. What made this series for me was the fact that despite the bizarre storyline, the actors were totally convincing as their aged characters. While they had all moved down the road a few years apparently more sensible and worldly wise, flashes of old were constantly seen. This very clever (if slightly crazy) plot cannot fail to interest new viewers while original fans can enjoy the return of the gang that filled their living rooms on Friday nights 20 years ago. Perseverance is the key for the first couple of episodes as the plot is quite complex and doesn't grab quickly. It really is worth the effort though becoming totally addictive with a very satisfying end. Marvellous entertainment with Mark Knopfler's catchy theme tune throughout makes for a great viewing experience.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2004
Certainly the best of the breed, this takes a simple concept (demolishing the Middlesborough transporter bridge) and weaves multiple themes and characters to make an engrossing story. It ranges from almost slapstick to good drama, with no character over-dominant, some wonderful one-liners (such as when Barry takes the Chief to the hotel reception) and classic comedy (such as when the drug squad surround the swimming pool). If you are looking for real entertainment that is more than a sitcom, with a blend of drama and story ... give this a go.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
First I should mention that this is the series from 2002. The title is a little misleading if you are expecting the most recent series, but it was the brand new series when the DVD was released.

If you're hoping for lots of DVD extras, there are none to be found. It is simply the episodes spread across two discs and that suits me just fine.

I loved the first two series and it is always a gamble to revisit a successful series without ruining it. That said, this was done superbly and was thoroughly enjoyable viewing.

I won't spoil the plot if you haven't seen it, but if you enjoyed the earlier series' then this is well worth purchasing.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2002
Even though I'm a massive, massive AufPet fan I have to say I was very dissapointed with this new series. Don't get me wrong, I was entertained by it, but I will not kid myself that this new series is anywhere near the quality of the originals.
The way I see it, some of it was OK, a lot of it was bad, but none of it was great. Yeah, it may have been twice as good as anything else on the Box at the time, but it isn't even half as good as the first series, never mind the second - which was AufPets finest moment in my view and something that will never be beaten.
Some people may say that because it's got 'Auf Wiedersehen, Pet' as the title and is written by Dick and Ian, that means it's great; I'm sorry, they are kidding themselves, it's not and no amount of repeat viewing will change that.
As for the DVD: Actual episode content apart, the first thing I would say about it is that it does look and sound great. It's in Dolby Digital (2.0) Stereo and Widescreen 16:9 Anamorphic so it's more like a feature film than a TV series. The BBC cropped the image when it was broadcast, which did make some scenes look a bit odd on TV, but here it's presented in it's original 16:9 widescreen and looks miles better for it.
However, while it may have great picture and sound, the rest of this DVD transfer is a strictly bare-bones, cheapo affair.
Despite the fact that the BBC and (the AufPet production company) Ziji Productions must have had load's of interesting stuff, there's NO extras of ANY kind. The menus are silent\static and there are no subtitles. There's not even a booklet or leaflet about the programme inside. The cover has a small blurb about each episode and a couple of publicity shots of the lads, Wyman, Grainger and Joe - that's it, nothing else.
The lack of any extras is extremely disappointing, but they have added insult to injury by including an advertisement for Mark Knopflers' Ragpicker's Dream CD at the end of the last episode! Wonder who came up with that great idea?
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2004
As a Geordie I found the third series of Auf Wiedersehen to be brilliant especially after all of these years, alot of programmes have tried and failed but the third series was very entertaining. When it was first broadcast on TV a powercut hit Tyeside and Wearside and it had to be shown again due to the outrage of missing it, so this must say something to the popularity of the programme. The Geordie Boys especially Wor Oz is as funny as ever and still makes the jokes aimed towards our wearside neighbours - sorree!. I strongly recommend you to buy this and keep this in your DVD Collection with Series 1 & 2!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
Being a big fan of the first series, but not so much a fan of the second series, I wasn't sure how well this would work, especially with such a huge gap since series 2 was made, and of course without the fabulous Wayne. But I was very pleasantly surprised. The humour was there, the characterisation was there and although the plot was a bit bizarre (I kept wondering why they were showing a native American Indian at the beginning of each episode although I figured it would become relevant somewhere along the line) I think it actually worked really well. Oz was of course, well, Oz - how could he be anything else - despite the so-called 'identity channge'. Barry, as always, pretentious and not very streetwise, did what Barry does best - fumble through life unaware of what's going on around him. I thought the idea of introducing Wayne's son was good too - sort of felt as though there was a link there, however small. What I love about this series is its combination of humour and grittiness. We Brits do seem to do really well at portraying the less glamorous side of life (no hollywood smiles, perfect house, perfect husband/wife, dog, children et. al. and fabulously glamorous job - cue the Colgate smile). Guys who have passed their prime in life, still struggling with the same problems and in some cases, even bigger problems (Dennis - two divorces, Neville three kids and a struggling business). It's all brought together very well and the sub-plots, together with the main plot keep you wanting more! Proof of the pudding is that I started watching this in the evening and had to watch every episode until 6.30 in the morning! Nice one guys! Sad to hear about Pat Roach dying of cancer in 2004. Rest in peace Pat and Gary - your stars will shine forever!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
This is one of my all time favourites- an outstanding TV series and I have waited a long time to obtain it. Delighted. Thank you,Amazon.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2003
Taken on it's own, and not compared with AufPet I and II, this was okay. It was only six episodes long, whereas the first two series were thirteen episodes, but nevertheless it was quite good. Neville and Barry really came out of their shell in this one, though Bomber took even more of a backseat in this series than he did in the first two. What really let it down was two things that couldn't be helped - Gary Holton wasn't in it, because he died in 1986, and they all look much older than the lads we grew to love from the 1980s - well they are much older.
The story takes some getting in to, though once they are in the States it rolls along at a merry pace. The Middlesborough and Liverpool bits seem a bit disjointed, but it's okay. Trouble is, when you've got a history that AufPet has got, okay is a long way short of good enough.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2003
As a Geordie I must admit the new series of Auf Wiedersehen had a lot to live upto especially after the earlier series but it did just that as it was brilliantly created and entertaining, Jimmy Nail plays Oz brilliantly.
Auf Wiedersehen recieved rave reports in NE England and had to be reshown on Terrestrial TV in the NE especially when the final part was disrupted by a storm.
So go and buy it!!!!
auf wiedersehen
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2004
Mixed reviews - some harsh but pertinent, some unjust. Just like the new STAR WARS trilogy, diehard fans of old can see Nothing Good when their heroes of yesteryear are given a makeover nearly twenty years later. It is futile to compare it to the original. It is a new product. And the target audience is different now. Let's face it, it is very hard - if not impossible - to please everybody, right?
Most of the harsh reviewers seem to have forgotten that the original AUF WIEDERSEHEN PET, shown in 1983, was the product of the truly grim and despairing climate of Thatcher's Britain, especially Up North (remember 'The Boys From The Blackstuff?'). It was a wry social comment set on a shabby building-site in Düsseldorf, and most of it took place around or after sunset; naturally it was mostly dark to 'suit the mood' of the time. Series Two was a lighter-hearted continuation, but set in southern Spain with sunny outdoor scenes - nice 'n bright, etc., again to suit the then-burgeoning mood of a society coming out of a bad recession.
Two decades later, the economy and social climate are a lot brighter again, although Series Three successfully incorporates several of today's bugbears: asylum-seekers, Russian mafia, and drug-dealing. Okay, so one of the actors died and his character cannot be around anymore - but I thought 'Wyman' was both a good successor and a Good Idea to inject some of today's spirit of youth. And, in remembrance, Wayne (Gary Holton) is mentioned at least once in each of the six episodes.
The old characters are still there, of course. Jimmy Nail, especially, obviously relished reviving the loud Oz - "reformed character" or not, his big booming gob is still Oz! Tim Healy still looks permanently constipated as disillusioned gaffer Dennis. Timothy Spall does a good turn as the self-satisfied nouveau-riche entrepreneur, but ultimately self-deluding and garrulous ... well, as 'our Barry! Indestructible 'Bomber' (Pat Roach) unfortunately reminds us that time takes its toll. Hassled-at-home Neville (Kevin Wheately) reflects much of Britain's 'industry' today: his and Brenda's company sell prefabricated houses manufactured abroad via the Internet. And eternally scratching-around Moxey (Christopher Fairbanks) still witters-on in a semi-fantasy world of lines from famous films, beautifully delivered in his Scouse accent.
The dry wit is still there, too. Moxey: "I sold me cello" and "I'm not stupid - just strange." And there was the almost heartfelt anguish of a Tranmere Rovers supporter, forever doomed to exist in the shadow of Liverpool and Everton.
That Eagle-of-the-North thingy is supposed to represent the new spirit of the North, right? (personally, I think that monstrosity looks like something that escaped from a Nuremberg rally) Well, so was AUF WIEDERSEHEN PET Series Three. When it was on TV in the spring of 2002, it was sheer delight throughout! I really think it would not work to have made Series Three grim and dour with a miserable socio-economic sub-message à la 1983, however light-hearted. As Neville succinctly remarked to living-in-the-past Dennis, "This whole area used to be pit villages. Everybody worked for the colliery. [...] Now all the men wear hairnets and pack airline meals. Everything's changed, Dennis - deal with it."
You gotta look ahead; you cannot keep making Model-T Fords, you know ...
Anyway, back to the DVDs. Must concur with Other Reviewers that the two discs are presented as the barest of minimalism - less than the Play All and Episode Selection options is virtually impossible. The odd trailer for Mark Knopfler's CD The Ratpicker's Dream is not even selectable; it was simply part of the last episode. There is NOTHING extra at all, not even the inlay leaflet with chapter listings. Very disappointing that there is, for example, no interview with, or exposé by the writers as to why they decided on this very belated Series Three. No cast interviews or comments. No comments from the Native Americans - how might they have felt to be part of a British cult TV series! Maybe there could have been some short documentary on the Transporter Bridge (which is still in Middlesbrough). Or perhaps just listings of what the actors have done during the past years. There definitely should be more.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)