Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
51
4.5 out of 5 stars
Best of 1990-2000
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£35.84+ £1.26 shipping


on 7 November 2002
I really wanted to give this a 5, I really did, but alas the awkward arrangement of tracks and the omissions of some of my favourites forced me not too. The biggest mistake was the out of place The First Time. I also feel Lemon should have been included and was dubious at the presence of the inferior Jeep mix on the B-sides disc. However the rest of the album is great. The styles may seem a little mix-matched, but that is the beauty of the ever-changing style of U2. Different yet Wonderful. Besides, it's a compilation of 10 years of work; you can't expect perfect harmony between tracks can you? The play list may be scattered and arranged in a way when the songs do not always flow together. But you can forgive that, as the music is superb.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
U2 are one of those bands that when they release an album, no one will like everything that's on it but you can always guarantee that at least three of the songs will be pure genius...
Unfortunately U2 The best of 1990 - 2000, sells just like a normal one of their albums... The really good songs to listen out for are; One, Beautiful Day, Staring At The Sun, Mysterious Ways, The Hands That Built America, Numb and Miss Sarajevo. They show just how good U2 really can be as a band.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2002
I wouldnt say this is better than the 1st 'best of' album, but this is were U2 really widened their scope and gained alot on new fans. This album is 'more rock orientated than the last with in-your-face- riffs and lyrics and just plain weird,i mean U2 and Pavarotti?????. The new version from the 'Pop' album give a small glympse of how great the album could of been, (althought it wasnt THAT bad), When listen to the Zoo Era Songs, you cant help but hold admiration for these classics, writting such tragic songs like 'one' and 'stay' but then delving into the dark side for 'the fly' and 'even better than the real thing'. The new material 'electrical Storm' and 'HTBAmerica' are just wow, they still kno how to write a good song or 2. Althought the version on the b-side is more rockish. Speaking on which the B-sides is mostley remixes and unworked songs. North and South of the river is a must-listen. 'Lady with the spinning head' is a glimpse of what 'the fly' evolved from. over all the album is a MUST have for any u2 fan or people who are just interested
LONG LIVE ZOO TV and THE FLY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2002
This is a great compilation of U2 material for those who grew up in their teens listening to the new musical experimentations of one of the worlds greatest bands. It's full of great rock guitars, catchy melodies and some fantastic lryics. However the b-sides is a bit of a flop. When you consider the great material U2 has produced over the last decade it's a shame that a whole CD is given over to mix's that sound like music from a 1980's spectrum computer game. CD 3 is worth it though. Apart from a great version of electrical storm the b-sides is a flop and that from a big U2 fan. However the quality of the a-sides far outways the 'ruined songs' on the b-sides Cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Superb Double CD of all U2's 90's Hits and their relevant B Sides.

Some of the B-Sides are as good as the A Sides which shows you just how good band they are.

Highly Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
CD's as advertised and what you'd expect - it is U2 after all.

No DVD supplied however so a tad disappointed. Amazon had the good grace to credit without any quibble.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2002
With the inclusion of the second disc of B-sides this compilation demonstrates why I have given up buying any of U2's singles. As the 1980-1990 compilation demonstrated the b-sides used to show originality and several were particularly good, but most of the b-sides presented here are extremely boring remixes.
Unless you have a strong urge to own everything U2 have ever released, I'd steer clear of the limited edition and buy the single disc edition (at least you will listen to that multiple times).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2002
I was recently bought this album by a friend who thought I would like it. To put it simply, this is by far the greatest series of songs I have ever listened to. The power of songs like the One and Electric Storm are immense.
This is a rare and magnificent album which stands head and shoulders above other musical offerings. It really does provide a huge lift to your spirits listening to this music.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Wrong description: 2 cd, no dvd.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
I ordered the 2cd version. I got the 1cd version with a barcode for the 2cd with b sides stuck over original barcode. Bit crappy if you ask me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)