Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
113
4.3 out of 5 stars
Their Satanic Majesties Request
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£44.99+ £1.26 shipping


on 21 September 2017
Great product & service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2017
Good music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
A hidden gem in the Stones 60's catalogue, the remaster is brilliant and a great purchase for those fans that find it hard to get hold of an original.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
Bought this ro complete my Stones collection. Although not their best it does contain some memorable moments
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 July 2015
These DSD remasters of the Abko era Stones catalogue sound really good on the vinyl versions. Purist may baulk at the "Digital Remastering" but it allows us to hear these 1960s recordings better than ever before. The Stones recordings of the 60s were not the last word in sonic perfection in any case. Their Satanic Majesties is not held in the same affection as other 60s efforts like Beggars Banquet and Let It Bleed (both of which I have in this series and love) but I really like it. Ridiculed in some quarters as a poor attempt to rival Sergeant Pepper, I think it a really good effort from the boys to do something different and experimental. There are also some classic Stones tunes here. The DSD pressing really lets us hear what was being played and in particular makes very clear how crucial Charlie Watts' drumming and Bill Wyman's bass were to the Stones' sound. A fine album and worthy of re-investigation by the doubters.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
An undervalued record I'd previously neglected. In retrospect I'd say the quality of songs have aged better than Sgt Pepper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2016
quite bemused as to why the ABKCO reissues of the Stones 60s albums all have slight changes to their original 60s counterparts sleeve designs. A specific case in point is this album which famously has or had all 4 Beatles heads in bubbles, now all you can see is John and George and the planet Saturn is cut off at the top of the picture too. Seems they've dismissed the original artwork concept altogether. Hmmm, makes no sense for such a famous 60s design. Also why tag UK onto the proper versions of Out Of Our Heads, Aftermath and Between The Buttons ? Surely it should be US version on their equivalent US releases?? Ah well, a bit picky but to fans it a bit of quality control goes a long way....
5 Stars for the music, minus 2 for hacking a famous picture !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
I first listened to this album back in the early 70's but failed to appreciate it's qualities at the time, no doubt due to the fact that I had been brought up on the more familiar earlier Stones such as Out of Our Heads and Aftermath.
Thankfully I have lately "re-discovered" it and thanks to some excellent restoration work on the CD it comes over as both melodic and innovative. Most of the credit for the bold instrumentation and arranging will no doubt be down to Brian Jones as he seemed to be the one true musician in the group at the time. To say that he was irreplaceable as a key member of the Stones is an understatement.
The well-known tracks are She's a Rainbow and 2000 Light Years From Home but other really good numbers include 2000 Man with it's acoustic guitar intro and excellent drumming, The Lantern with it's fuzz guitar and Citadel which has a psychedelic early Pink Floyd sound to it.
Younger Stones fans who tend to play safe and only listen to their stuff from the 80's and later would be well advised to take a chance on this but make sure that they listen to it on headphones so as to really take in the diverse nature of what is on offer. For us of the 60's generation it is a journey back to halcyon days.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Not one of the stones most popular albums if youtube viewing figures are anything to go by. This album is often seen as the Stones answer to Sergeant Pepper but it far outstrips the Fab Four's pastel noodlings. Don;t get me wrong, I'm a huge Beatles fan, especially of the Revolver period but the Satanic Majesties offer an album crammed with dark melody and a sense of mystery. From the mellotron laden 2000 Light Years from Home to the ethnic jam that is Sing This All Together, the Stones put together an album with real depth and sense of risk. It turns out far more psychedelic then Sergeant Pepper and approaches Piper at the Gates of Dawn as one of the all time greats of the genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)