Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2017
Giod
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2006
I don't understand why this film has upset some reviewers so much. All I can guess is that they were looking for some 'Nightmare on Elm Street' style bloodbath with plenty of latex special effects and screaming teenaged girls in cheerleader outfits.
Well Wendigo doesn't have much of that going on it's true. What it does have is a sustained and unsettling atmosphere that means you truly don't know what is going to happen to the lead characters - although you fear the worst. The opening breakdown sequence with strangely threatening locals stopping to help, the unpleasant discoveries in the house they have rented and the neighbours' gutting deer in the backyard all conspire to set the viewer on edge and keep him or her there for most of the running time. Sure there are weaker moments here and there; the wise old Indian stuff is a bit daft for instance. But the wintry landscapes and the similarly icy dynamics both within the family and in their relationship with the villagers, the unseen presence of something far worse and the final descent into horror all make this a pretty satisfying spooky tale.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2003
A wonderfully atmospheric chiller, 'Wendigo' is beautifuly made, intelligently scripted and extremely well acted. There is no real 'plot', the director more interested in creating atmosphere, studying characters and presenting us with various symbolic images. It is a real shame that a perfectly crafted piece of cinema as this does not get a cinema release or the praise it desverves. True, it will probably only ever reach a small but appreciative audience; but Darkness Falls got a major theatrical release and ad campaign and this film slips barely noticed onto DVD/video! This is a film full of superb sequences, and the ending - where a character's death is represented by stillness, silence and the placement of a dirty pair of shoes, instead of the kind of histrionics too often found in genre offerings - is truly heartbreaking.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2009
This is not what you'd expect from a horror movie. Basically, this movie relies on atmosphere, the sense of isolation, and occasionally some chilling dialogue. There's some artistic shooting that sometiems works and sometimes doesn't.

The characters are built up quite well. There is a sense of warmth in watching the family.

When stuff starts happening - which is a pretty long wait, by the way - it's worth waiting for, so long as you find the atmospheric elements effective.

If you're looking for an action-based horror movie, don't bother.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2017
I have always been fascinated by the Wendigo, ever since I first heard it mentioned in Stephen Kings Pet Sematary. Larry Fessenden who wrote and directed this film also appears to be fascinated by the Wendigo judging by his PS4 game and other movies.
The movie itself is very, very creepy. There are a few little jump scares, but the whole film is unnerving. Especially the Wendigos many appearances and a first person views.
Fantastic film, just the ending lets it down slightly, it feels unfulfilled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2007
A couple and their little boy take a short break from their busy lives in the city to enjoy a couple of days in the countryside. It's the middle of winter and roads are slippery. They have an accident involving a deer and an even more unpleasant run-in with the men who were hunting it. The couple are angry, the hunters are angry and the little boy is upset. Negative emotions are generated all round. The family finally reach their destination only to find unwelcoming signs of the hostile neighbours. Their feelings of unease increase when they notice that the menacing hunters are based close by. The day after the accident, they go into town and the little boy meets a Native American who takes a shine to his innocent belief in the spirit of the Wendigo, and gives him a small idol of the angry spirit. From this point on, the boy seems to sense the presence and get the occasional glimpse of the Wendigo who, in turn forms a link with the boy.

There are a couple of problems with the film, the biggest is the difficulty in making out the dialogue. A large proportion of the story is taken up with the couple talking quietly to each other. It's possible to get the gist of what they're saying but, frustratingly, it's hard to catch most of it. Subtitles would have been very helpful, but there are no subtitles. Another problem is that most of the potential customers for this DVD will be hoping to see a scary horror film with a terrifying supernatural monster. However, most of the fear and tension is provided by the sinister hunters, one of whom is particularly creepy. When we finally get to see the Wendigo, it's fabulous, but it must be about two thirds of the way through the film before it finally puts in an appearance. I almost enjoyed the film but I would have liked more of the amazing Wendigo and less of the (not very original) human conflict. The winter woodland, the sense of impending doom and the representation of the Wendigo are worth high praise, but the poor sound spoils it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2016
Disappointing and not scary from the same guy that did the brilliant 'Until Dawn' game for the PS4. Only reason I bought the film...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
Not a horror film, nothing happens until the end, very tame and lame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2012
i was looking forward so much to this film--dont know what attracted me to it--oh yes i do!!!jake weber!!!i suppose i would try and watch most things he is in.well,this film didnt disappoint-jake or not.a family travel to a weekend hide-away-mum,dad and small son.dad has a bit of a barrier ACTUALLY being one and tries to build some bridges with the boy-and dad suggests going sledging,its looking good.BIG PROBLEM THERE.There will always be some miles to be had from an old creepy farmhouse we know that;add to the mix some very odd,angry neighbours and --.The 'wendigo'comes from some creature hanging around--is he real?do only bad people actually see him?Well,thats to be decided.It has a few shocks,a few 'ahh' moments and a few'dont go there' moments too--but i would thoroughly recommend this to anyone--it helped to pass a Saturday evening for us with enjoyment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2004
I would love to have given this film a higher rating. There are many things I liked about it - it does build tension, the actors do a good job and there is an original feel to the movie. For example I like the idea of horror seen through the eyes of a child. Unfortunately the movie loses its way towards the end. Worth a watch though.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)