Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 11 April 2016
GAME! For life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2002
Operation Flashpoint, is simply the best war simulator available. It boasts huge maps which you can easily get lost in, indeed you can often ignore the mission given and explore these areas at your leisure. Flashpoint's missions are also non-linear and can be completed in many different ways. The infantry levels are certainly the best in the game, and I agree that the tank and helicopter missions are poor in comparison but that is excusable, I think the developers overstretched themselves needlessly by including too many vehicles. The overall quality of the game in general is so high, this isn't really a problem.
You can pick fallen comrades or enemies weapons up and arm yourself with anything available. When in charge of your own squad you can order squad members to pick up ammunition from fallen bodies or supply trucks, or heal at medics if injured. You can enter machine gun emplacements and use these. I especially like the special ops missions in a morning, the sound of wildlife and the graphics in the forest are just perfect, this also helps to keep the atmosphere tense.
I cannot understand comparisons being made with Delta Force. Delta Force 2 and 3(land warrior) are used almost exclusively for multiplayer, since the AI on single player is so poor.
Operation Flashpoint has room for improvement, but it achieves so much that its minor failings can be put aside for now. It is a realistic and (for that reason) sometimes sickening war game. It is also the best squad based strategy/action/shooter available today.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2001
I cannot believe the previous review re this game not being very good. You do have to spend time understanding the controls and the game. The quality of the graphics will depend on the graphics card and PC you own. Other than that the graphics are up to expectation. The game has so many levels in terms of being a single soldier or a commander of a group of soldiers. The Artificial Intelligence is pretty much spot on - even though things all seem to start from the same place each time you play it. It is a hard game but then why buy a game if it is not a challenge. Ignore the last review is my advice.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2002
This is very much an infantry war simulator with incredible graphics and good (though not perfect) AI. My favourite example is being with your squad at the top of a valley and trying to pick out the bad guys wandering up through the trees in the distance towards you. You can just about spot some tiny shadowing figures hundreds of metres away. Your eyes strain at the screen to see them. Trying to shoot them at this range is very difficult as there is the flight time of the bullets to consider. As soon as the first bullets start to fly the opponents are on the ground, crawling, hiding behind trees, shooting back. Have you shot them all? I can't hear any rustling or footsteps. I really don't want to advance not knowing, but I have to - is that shape alive? Maybe I'll pop a bullet in it to be sure.
What isn't so good!
In the real world you, sometimes you are just unlucky and die before you even see what shot you. Same here. The SINGLE in-mission save made this very frustrating until I found out you could rename save.fps from Windows to get as many saves as you like (a bit of a performance though).
The missions flying helicopters and tanks are pretty naff. I found it more an exercise in keyboard skills than anything approaching a simulator. You just have to get through them. More than made up for by the fantastic infantry/SAS type missions.
Tips: turn your volume up high and save often by renaming save.fps in the 1985 directory.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2002
Someone once said to me 'if Operation Flashpoint isn't realistic enough for you, then you should join the army.' Not quite true anymore - Bohemia have co-developed combat software that is now in use by the military - but you get the idea.
The graphics are excellent, especially the vehicles, and the sound is extremely satisfying, particularly the explosions when you destroy a tank with a salvo of FFARs.
Where OFP really excels though is in the sheer scope of the game. The scale, depth and attention to detail are unprecedented. The ability to go anywhere on the islands (which are up 100km2) and drive or fly any vehicle is very refreshing.
Although there are some flaws in the AI - particularly at close ranges - it is generally very good, and makes for a very challenging game. Ballistics is also all present and correct, and takes into account velocity and range precisely, as well as wind velocity (I believe) in one of the later patches (included with this edition).
Overall, this has to be one of the finest games I've ever played, and as all three campaigns are included in this box, combined with the stand-alone and multiplayer missions, you'll be playing this for some time to come.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2004
If you are a Gamer or a Family/Friend purchasing for a Gamer.
This game is First Class, well Games, because there is the original game, which takes on the campaign of US Soldiers in a conflict, then the add on (cold war crisis) where you take on the role of a soldier of the same conflict that of the original game, but on the side of the Soviets.
Then the final add-on (Resistance) is set before both the original game and 'cold war crisis'. An ex-special op is sent back to the horrors of war, when his home is invaded by the soviets.
This Package works best, if you play, the game, by playing the original, then cold war crisis, then resistance.
This GOTY edition has many updates to the game, giving more missions, when you are tired of playing the campaign.
This game is one of the most technical games ive ever played.
The story is gripping aswell as the playablity.
You can even create your own campaigns and missions, aswell you can download extra stuff to your OPF, nearly anything, from units to Buildings, and even new terrain!!.
You will spend months playing this game, as you can also play online!!!.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2003
This is simply the most outstanding game ever developed. Along with the Resistance add-on, no better war game exists, and it's almost 2004! The graphics are obviously quite outdated, and there are several minor bugs, but these are genuinely insignificant, and the gameplay is amazing.
The level of freedom is totally unrivalled, as you embark on lone or team-based missions on enormous island landscapes. There are extensive single-player campaigns, but a powerful and easy-to-use mission editor also exists, so custom maps can be quickly developed. There is a large assortment of weaponry such as RPG launchers and machine guns, and all sorts of vehicles can be driven, including jeeps, tanks, motorcycles, boats, helicopters and planes. The controls for commanding your team are not ideal, but they are easy to follow and offer an extensive range of orders, including formations and attack commands.
Either wait for the sequel, which will still be a while, or buy this now! Don't believe that since it's outdated by more modern games, it is not the best -- it is!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2004
I am a fan of strategy and tactical shooters, like Ghost Recon and Hidden and Dangerous.
Operation Flashpoint is more than that, because it allows you to live a realistic experience in modern battlefields!
There are several kind of missions: black ops, sabotage, assault or seek and destroy, and in all of this missions you can control a team up to 12 military units! (for example at the same time you can have in your team a RPG soldier,a sniper, a medic, a private and also control some Armored Vehicles (like a T60, Abrahms or M113).
In the Cold War Crisis Campaign, you have many tasks to do and it's important often to give orders at the right time.
In Red Hammer you play as a Russian.
Pro:
- impressive friendly and enemy AI;
- good graphics(I have a Geforce4, Pent.1,5 Ghz, I set on 1280 X 960 and it works well)
- many kind of missions (sabotage, assault, recon, etc)
- you can control up to 12 units;
- you are involved in realistic military campaigns
- there is a powerful and interesting mission editor
Cons:
- sometimes it takes time to learn how to give orders
- the scenery, the battlefield are wide and you have to be careful in orientation and sometimes it could take time to move from one place to an other one.
In conclusion I think that this game is a must for everyone who likes War Games and wants to play as an officer of US Army or Soviet Union and experiment a realistic military life!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2002
Yes, this game does contain a lot of bugs such as being able to land a plane on the propeller and that curious and amusing bouncing objects glitch, but for the size and scope of the game (it even has a realistic star map, for crying out loud!)you really can forgive them for these little niggles that occasionally turn up.
This game contains so many memorable missions, particularly the ones that see you as a black op at nightime sneaking around watching enemy sentries through your binoculars or sniper rifle. I must warn you though, only buy this game if you think you have enough time to play it as it can take up to 30 minutes and beyond to complete a black ops mission and is difficult on the normal grunt missions to boot, and the Red Hammer addon is even worse.
Graphically, the game's good, although at times the textures can look a little bland if you want to complain about something but it's nothing that detracts from the immersive qualities of the game.
The real strength of this game, however, is the number of ways you can complete a mission and it's complete non-lineararity once you're in the field. You're just dumped in a hostile environment with a bunch of objectives and guns and a good luck pat on the back from Uncle Sam....gee thanks.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2003
A multiplayer demo of Operation Flashpoint is what got me hooked. I had a demo disk from PC Gamer UK and was installing demos and giving them a go. I came across Operation Flashpoint multiplayer demo, installed it, loaded it up and gave it a go. At the time I didn't have access to the internet or to a LAN to actually play multiplayer so I was all on my own in the mission. Even with this hindering me I still found the demo amazing. I had access to several different weapons, I could drive jeeps, armoured personel carriers and also tanks. This was great! I spent about two weeks messing around with this demo all on my own blowing things up. I then got the proper game.... The demo I thought was big, but compared to that the game was massive. In the demo I had access to this large area of land on one of the 3 islands in the original game. When I got the full game and loaded up that island the area that I thought was huge in the demo was on an island almost 10 times the size. All that area and you can go everywhere in it. This was a good buy I thought. I then loaded up some of the multiplayer maps and had some fun with the Ai, blowing up bases and vehicles. I never even tried single player. I then found out that you can actually fly in this game! Also you can drive boats. So now I can go by foot, go by wheels, go by tank tread, go by boat or go by plane or helicopter. Only then did I start playing singleplayer. The singleplayer campaign is excellent but difficult. I have had the game now for a couple years and haven't finished any of the campaigns in the original or the expansion packs. This is mainly down to the excellent multiplayer capability plus the editor feature to make your own missions. Even with all that if for some very strage reason you get bored with Operation Flashpoint there is a huge world full of excellent addons and modifications for the game. Ballistic Addon Studios, Project UK Forces, Operation French-point etc etc are all amazing projects with really high quality work that will make you never want to put the game away.
Get this game NOW!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)