Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
150
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 October 2003
How many times Robert Louis Stevenson’s novel has been made a film of I don’t know, but I do know that only one good version of it truly existed ( the 1990 version with Charlton Heston as Silver), until this Disney came out…
I was sure, due to the hoards of rotten reviews and the few clips I had seen in adds and Jonathan Ross’ film hour that this one wasn’t going to be an exception. What I saw were mediocre gags and lousy combining of CG-animation with traditional… well, animation fan as I am, I still was compelled to buy the feature, and how wrong I was to doubt it:
Set in the distant future, Stevenson’s Atlantic ocean is replaced by the vast Atherium, a sort of outer space where you can breath, and the Caribbean islands are replaced by planets, stars and galaxies ( This might explain the whales flying around in it – to answer another reviewer’s question?). The original 70/30 look designed by the Disney staff is marvellous, where they keep everything 70% traditional and 17th century looking, but add just that 30% of sci-fi to it, and sure to throw you right into the exciting world of Jim Hawkins.
This problem child is too wild at heart for the suffocating life at his mother’s inn. He seeks adventure where he can find it, and this usually comes hand in hand with trouble…
His life changes when Billy Bones, an old drink-rotten pirate crashes near the inn and with his last breath hands over to the boy an odd golden sphere. Suddenly they find the inn attacked and narrowly make it to safety. Later on, as Jim, his mother and doctor Doppler ( the combination of the book’s squire Trelawney and doctor Livesy … and ehm, ‘Lassie’ ) are recovering near a warm fire, Jim figures out how to uncover the secret of the artefact and soon enough, the whole room is engulfed by a huge 3D map, with at the end of a greenish trail… you guessed it! And so the true adventure begins.
The whole story sticks to the book. Of course there are some modifications to adapt it to the futuristic world, and a few too gruesome parts have been dropped for the kids… but don’t be mistaken, those pirates are as authentic in character as they could be, and if you were to come across some of them at night I assure you you’d be pissing your pants. The captain is wonderful, sharp, snappy, disciplined, someone the British navy would make an example of, and a woman. Silver is… Long John Silver, perfectly brought into the story from the book, and as for Jim Hawkins… apart from a few added issues, he’s the same cocky kid as in the original.
Now I mentioned the poor blending of the computer animation with traditional… Silver’s arm is CG, whereas he himself is animated by one of the greatest is not the greatest animator of this generation (Glen Keane), you try and spot a difference between the two…
The humour is far better than I’d expected as well, with humour ranging from goofy and loony to the driest material.
But one thing I also must say about this film before I finally shut up, is that even though it might be a little hard to digest in the beginning ( due to the sci-fi addition mostly), I does grow on you, meaning you’ll probably enjoy it more every time you see it.
DVD extras are amazing and huge in quantity, interviews, behind the scenes, games, truly a scale tipper
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2004
I cant belive some of the comments above, I loved this film! My son who is 7 rented it from the video shop and I have to admit that I thought it would be rubbish, but I enjoyed this far more than "A Bug Life". I thought the story line was great and the animation wonderful. Highly recommended!!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2005
Young Jim Hawkins (voice by Joseph Gordon-Levitt) grew up reading about pirates, and dreaming of finding the fabulous lost treasure of Captain Flint, the greatest pirate ever. When a dying sailor gives Jim a special "map", Jim and family friend Doctor Doppler (David Hyde Pierce) set off to find it. But, the crew of their ship looks more than a little bit untrustworthy, and none of them more so than the cook, John Silver (Brian Murray). Sailing through mind-blowing dangers, Jim encounters more adventures than he could ever have imagined, and finds a treasure more valuable than gold.
I must admit that I did not see this movie in the theatre; I was that sure that it was going to be a bad movie. Well, I am kicking myself now! This movie is great! The combination of eighteenth century pirates and technology was handled masterfully, and it produces an exciting and visually breathtaking movie! Am I gushing about this movie? You bet I am! This is a great movie that you and your children will all love. (My kids thought that Morph was the best part of the whole movie.) Get it!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2003
I simply don't understand why this film failed at the box office. It's an instant classic and a great re-working of the original story.
What I really liked was the complete fantasy about it - there was no explanation of why some things worked - like the R.L.S Legacy (good reference!) - and what on earth there were whales doing floating about in space...
The film is just the right length - my kids love it. The music score was genius. You won't regret buying this film!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This a Disney adaptation of 'Robert Louis Stevenson's' classic tale 'Treasure Island' only set way in the future.
Young Jim Hawkins has been brought up solely by his mother after his father had deserted them, he grows up
reading/hearing mythical stories of 'Captain Flint's' treasure.
Now as a troubled young-man he helps his mother run a guest-house....one day he see's a small-craft crash-land,
the occupant near death who 'Jim' tries to help gives the young man a small globe, something it turns out he has
died for, he'd been chased to his death by Cyborgs who sought possession of the globe.
After the Cyborgs had destroyed Sarah Hawkins and Jim's livelihood young Jim whist twiddling with the Globe
discovers it contains a map of how to find Treasure Planet and Flint's long lost treasure-trove.
Well, though his mother insists they were only stories, Jim wants to travel the galaxy's to find out for himself, joined
by family friend 'Doctor Doppler' they hire a ship to seek their dream.
The ship is full of many diverse and colourful characters including the cook 'John Silver' a cyborg who Jim is assigned
to serve on the voyage through space.
Well, Jim seemingly gets on well with John Silver who teaches Jim much on the voyage, however John Silver has a
more sinister side, in secret he's a pirate who has long craved finding Flints treasures.
A delightful tale based loosely it has to be said on the great authors works, an adventure sailing through the galaxy's
encountering a super-nova and black-hole along the way......not sure it's what Robert Louis Stevenson ever envisaged
however given the Disney treatment it is a delightful family cartoon-style movie that Disney-fans will love for sure.
Good Blu-ray upgrade.
Features -
Disney Animation Magic - Hosted by Roy Disney
Deleted Scene
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 November 2015
Another of Disney’s occasional forays into unchartered territory is a wonderful triumph of the imagination. Essentially a science fiction version of Robert Louis Stevenson’s action packed adventure about pirates, Treasure Island, Disney have again stepped outside its comfort zone and created a very satisfying and exciting story that is although Disnified is comparatively faithful to the original novel.

When young Jim Hawkins comes into possession of a treasure map that used to belong to a famous and extremely successful pirate, there follows a race through space to the famous Treasure Planet to get to the loot before the dreaded Long John Silver. There are adventures a plenty and a good few laughs along the way, however Silver is much closer and more dangerous than Jim realises and he needs to use all his young wits and intelligence to win the day, or does he?

With the voice talents of Emma Thompson and Martin Short this rousing adaptation is surprisingly bold with beautifully designed space travelling galleons that use the solar wind as fuel, futuristic old fashioned ships cannons, pistols and flintlocks, and old world Dickensian style design such as The Benbow Inn beautifully realised in this modern yet old environment. Listen out for the superb Jim’s Theme “I’m still here” by John Rzeznik.

Not a hit with audiences and I understand a difficult production, Treasure Planet is however a supremely entertaining slice of literature turned into mass entertainment.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
TREASURE PLANET [2002 / 2015] [15th Anniversary Edition] [Blu-ray] Disney’s 42nd Animated Classic! A Magical Inventive Utterly Delightful Movie!

From the directors of Disney’s ‘ALADDIN’ and ‘THE LITTLE MERMAID’ comes a fantastic story of courage, friendship and self-discovery. Now, for the first time on Blu-ray, share this 2002 Academy Award® nominated classic for Best Animated Feature Film with your family as you travel across the universe to discover an exciting world full of fun.

Robert Louis Stevenson’s “Treasure Island” gets a futuristic twist in this amazing tale of a brave young man’s thrilling journey to new frontier aboard a flying ship. Narrated by Tony Jay and Kambiz Shabankare.

Voice Cast: Roscoe Lee Browne, Corey Burton, Dane A. Davis, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Tony Jay, Austin Majors, Patrick McGoohan, Michael McShane, Laurie Metcalf, Brian Murray, David Hyde Pierce, Martin Short, Emma Thompson, Michael Wincott, Jack Angel, Bob Bergen, Rodger Bumpass, Jane Carr, John Cygan, Jennifer Darling, Paul Eiding, Sherry Lynn, Mona Marshall, Mickie McGowan, Patrick Pinney, Phil Proctor, Jeremy Suarez, Jim Ward and Kambiz Shabankare (uncredited)

Directors: John Musker and Ron Clements

Producers: John Musker, Peter Del Vecho, Ron Clements and Roy Conli

Screenplay: John Musker, Rob Edwards, Ron Clements and Robert Louis Stevenson (novel)

Composer: James Newton Howard

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.66:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, English: 2.0 Descriptive Audio, French: 5.1 DTS-HD High Resolution, German: 5.1 DTS-HD High Resolution, Spanish [Castilian]: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Dutch: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Spanish [Catalan]: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Flemish: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English SDH, French, Spanish and Dutch

Running Time: 91 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Walt Disney Studios

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: When watching the Walt Disney animated film ‘TREASURE PLANET’ today, it’s hard to believe the animated cartoon has just reached its 15th anniversary and not because it feels new, but rather quite the opposite. While ‘THREASURE PLANET’ is enjoyable to watch, it plays like a product of the 1990s. With dated computer graphics, artistic style, and soundtrack, the film’s release to Blu-ray entertains but reminds audiences why it never became another Walt Disney classic, but despite this, I really enjoyed its adventurous attitude.

‘TREASURE PLANET’ is based loosely on Robert Louis Stevenson’s novel “Treasure Island,” and spun into a sci-fi world of the future with space pirates, aliens, laser guns, and automatons. With legendary Disney directors John Musker and Ron Clements at the helm, this film appeared to be a way for them to take animation beyond the worlds of ‘ALADDIN and ‘THE LITTLE MERMAID,’ and be appealing more to a male audience.

But while the adventure of the film is often exciting, there is little character connection. Though the motivations behind most of the characters’ actions is simple seeking a long-lost treasure and only a handful have enough development for audiences to care about them. But the animated film often makes up for its relatively simple story with a unique visual style, a seamless blend of traditional hand-drawn and computer-generated animation, even if the CGI appears to be of an era further back than its fifteen year age appearance.

Also slightly dating the animated film’s tremendous song “I’m Still Here,” supplied by John Rzeznik of the Goo Goo Dolls. Hearing the singing voices instantly took me back to the 1990s as it was prominently featured in the middle of the animated film. This one song is a far cry from the brilliant musical numbers featured in so many of Walt Disney’s animated films.

It has been fifteen years since I had last seen the animated cartoon ‘TREASURE PLANET,’ when it first arrived in the cinema. Before watching the new Blu-ray home release last night, all I really remembered about the animated film was something about an obnoxious robot ruining its third act. And sure enough, an over-the-top hyperactive robot voiced by Martin Short entered the picture right on cue, far too late for a new character to be introduced, especially one that ultimately proved to be fairly useless to the story.

But this time around, I looked past that unnecessary character to the grander picture of the animated film, able to enjoy it not as an instant classic, but instead this is a fun adventure through outer space and I don’t even want to admit to a direct reference to the unfortunate and totally obnoxious film ‘Pirates of the Caribbean. It may not be perfect, far from John Musker and Ron Clements best work, and perhaps not worthy of its 2002 Oscar® nomination for Best Animated Feature Film, but it is at least enjoyable romp around the cosmic universe.

With reaching its 15th anniversary milestone, ‘TREASURE PLANET,’ has been given some sprucing up for this Blu-ray UK release. The animated film itself looks terrific and sounds even better, but sadly no new bonus features are added for this release, including, taking viewers behind-the-scenes into the making of each element of the movie. But sadly they are all presented in standard definition and are recycled from previous inferior DVD releases. But Walt Disney fans shouldn’t immediately shrug off ‘TREASURE PLANET,’ especially as it was directed by two of Walt Disney’s best and while it may not hold up to the standards set by so many other timeless Walt Disney musicals, it’s an adventure that is well worth viewing, and best viewed on this new Blu-ray UK release.

Blu-ray Video Quality – Walt Disney Studios presents this Blu-ray in a totally awesome 1080p encoded image presentation. The 1.66:1 aspect ratio HD image looks downright amazing. There was the slightest bit of banding in the opening shot, but aside from that and a couple of other instances here and there, it’s an astonishing transfer. Colors are bright and bold, detail is exquisite and the entire film seems to have nearly presented us with a 3D effect, but sadly not being shown in 3D. We’ve all become so used to the computer animated films looking so good that when you go back and watch a 2D film, it’s nice to have it look nearly as good. For those that have never seen ‘TREASURE PLANET’ and it looks totally amazing.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – Walt Disney Studios presents this Blu-ray in an amazing new 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio sound mix, more than does the job. Every sound seems to resonate with the utmost clarity. Dialogue is, of course, crisp and clean and even the “pirate” speak sounds great. The brilliant surround sounds are heard often, adding some terrific atmosphere to an already very active soundtrack. Like the video presentation, this audio mix is second to none and will give your speakers a good workout.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Special Feature: Disney's Animation Magic: Treasure Planet [2003] [480i] [14:16] Walt Disney Feature Animation chairman Roy Disney goes behind-the-scenes of ‘Treasure Planet’ to investigate the designs of the characters and creatures, the creation of Marquette’s, the use of storyboard, story reels and layouts, and the process the animators used to combine CGI and hand-drawn animation into a workable product. We also get contributions from Glen Keane [Supervising Animator, “John Silver”]; Kent Melton [Character Sculptures]; John Musker [Director] and Ron Clements [Director]. Directed by Jeff Kurtti. Writing Credits by Jeff Kurtti. Produced by Bernadette Bowman, Barbara Gerald, Jeff Kurtti, Scott Musgrove and Michael Pellerin.

Special Feature: Deleted Scenes [2003] [480i] [1.33:1] [6:32] Here we have three unfinished deleted scenes which includes: “Introducing by Laurie Metcalf;” "Original Prologue: Adult Jim;" "Original Sequence Two: Jim Meets Ethan" and "Alternate Ending: Rebuilding the Benbow." We also have at one point introductions by directors John Musker and Ron Clements. As usual you can either watch them individually or Play All.

Special Feature: “I’m Still Here (Jim’s Theme)” Music Video Performed by John Rzeznik of The Goo Goo Dolls [2002] [480i] [1.33:1] [4:12] John Rzeznik was picked to write the song for the animated film, because it was believed he could relate well with ‘Treasure Planet' main character, Jim, and his "rebel-with-a-cause angst." Referring to Jim, John Rzeznik said, "It was easy to relate to Jim, you know? I felt a lot like that when I was his age." It was a moderately successful pop hit.

Preview Trailers: Sleeping Beauty – Diamond Edition [Blu-ray] [1080p] [2.20:1] [1:07]. FROZEN [Blu-ray] [1080p] [2.35:1] [1:25]. Disney XD [1080p] [1.78:1] [00:30]. Where’s My Water [Download] [1080p] [1.85:1] [00:31]

Finally, with this 15th anniversary milestone of this 2015 remastered Blu-ray release of ‘TREASURE PLANET’ has been given little more than a sprucing up for this UK Blu-ray release. The film itself looks and sounds brilliant, but sadly no new bonus features are added for this UK Blu-ray release. But sadly there is nothing to shout home about, except taking viewers behind-the-scenes into the making of each element of the animated film. Disney fans shouldn’t immediately shrug off ‘TREASURE PLANET,’ because it was directed by John Musker and Ron Clements, which is by two of Walt Disney’s best and while it may not hold up to the standards set by so many timeless musicals, it’s an adventure that is well worth seeing, and best viewed on this new 2015 Blu-ray UK release. But sadly there is no upgrade on the extras and they are only presented in standard definition and are of course have been recycled from previous inferior DVD release, but despite this, I am so pleased to add this to my ever increasing Walt Disney Blu-ray Collection. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
United Kingdom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2003
This is a genius of an idea! Not only can you experience the fantastic animated movie of Treasure Planet (a sea-faring adventure in the classic mould, yet set in space where the galleons are solar-powered and the whirlpools are black holes, itself ingenius) but you get a decent game (its a strategy featuring the aforementioned galleons and is satisfyingly gripping in terms of playability). And to top it off you get the classic novel of Treasure Island, on which the film is based, allowing you to spot all the clever references (my favourite is the Benbow Inn). An absolute must for any fan of the story, the film, strategy games or just great film-making in general! A complete package of brilliance!
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2010
I've always enjoyed this film, and what makes it good is that it centres on how it must feel to grow up without a parent. Fifteen year old Jim Hawkins just so happens to have no father, and this makes it hard for his mother to teach him anything, and also proves that it really is a bad thing to be bereft of a male role model which is what Jim really needs. Good at getting himself into trouble and a cool dude, he must contend with robotic policemen, until he finds that he's in for a treat much later when pirate Billy Bones leaves an orb shaped map in Jim's possession. To Jim's delight, the map soon turns out to contain the entire solar system, and the fabled Treasure Planet. This discovery sparks the interest of astrophysicist Dr. Delbert Doppler who is half man, half dog, and the two of them later land on the space port which makes up the moon. As soon as they board the RLS Legacy (great name!) Jim has to watch himself as a gang of pirates make up the crew, and slowly but gradually he makes friends with the cook, Long John Silver, and Morph, a cute pink blob with goggly eyes that can take on lots of different appearances. Emma Thompson provides witty humour as feline Captain Amelia, and works very well as an animated character in comparison to her many other characters from unanimated films. It's all high rides, adventure and fun, and incredibly entertaining. I think the Special Features are really cool, and some of it is really interesting, like the making of the film and the magic of Disney animation, particularly in this film as it's an incredibly popular story and Robert Louis Stevenson is a very well known author. Then there's the more technical stuff, such as a look into how Silver's cyborg eye, robotic arm and peg leg were put into animation, which is pretty fantastic. My favourite Special Feature is the RLS Legacy game because it keeps your mind busy and your brain working. I enjoy this film a lot and even though I haven't read the book it is based on, I do know what it's about, and I have to say that Disney do stick to a classic to the best of their ability. It's a very well executed take on "Treasure Island", and suitable for both boys and girls.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
Recently bought about 12 Disney movies from Amazon for my little girl. Very impressed with the more recently made films Brother bear ect. But this blew me away. How could i have missed this! This is not for kids this is for the Daddies like me who love action films. A better pirate than Jack Sparrow he is for sure oh arrrrrrrgh!
Great price and a truely suprisingly good action cartoon. Reminded me of Starchaser legend of orin. Any one remember that great cartoon film.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse