Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
39
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2013
If you want the only "traditional" setting of this great masterwork, this is the one for you. From the 1990 Met, with a terrific cast and beautifully acted, staged, recorded and sung(Morris' Wotan is spectacular!).I strongly urge you to get this one over the recent Met version. As far as I can tell, not having viewed them, the others are set in more modern times(i.e. the Industrial revolution of the 19th century). I prefer my Ring with real Norse gods and dragons....not with evil industrialists and modern firearms, thank you!
Great set.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2012
There's a lot to commend this production. Firstly the quality of the music from the Met orchestra under Levine is magnificent, and if you can hear it in DTS 5.1 via a home cinema system that alone will blow you away. So it's thumbs up for the ears. As to what your eyes are treated to, it's a mixed bag to say the least. The sets are largely good, being 'traditional' but in the main they are also static. So, you would think more imagination would have gone into the direction of the actors, but I'm afraid to say the acting is not convincing in large parts of all four operas. The acting is as static as the sets. The singers who pull it off the best are Morris, Jerusalem (in both roles) and Salminen (as Hagen). But you only have to see Siegfried Jerusalem's better portrayal of Siegfried in the Barenboim / Kupfer Ring DVD to see that's it's largely not the fault of the singers. There are other casting issues: other reviewers have mentioned Norman and Lakes and it doesn't work for me either. And it has nothing to do with the Volsung lineage or colour of skin; it's the fact that Norman is too strong for the role of fragile Sieglinde. Lakes sings the role of Siegmund but doesn't act it and he's often glancing at Levine rather than looking at Norman. I felt no connection to them as characters. Similarly, Behrens is mostly good but she struggles towards the end of Gotterdammerung. As for Gotterdammerung itself, I have to say the finale is a triumph for stage effects; it's worth the admission price alone. And Salminen's Hagen is evil personified. Once Salminen appears in Act I of Gotterdammerung, he steals almost every scene he's in.

There are lots of dramatic highlights but interestingly it's usually where the orchestra takes over from the singers, such as during the transition scenes or preludes. And that says it all.

So overall, a good production (bearing in mind it's 'Live') but it didn't grab me as emotionally as it could have because of the casting and acting. For a more authentic Ring (with ironically, a post-modern minimalist staging) I'd recommend Barenboim's / Kupfer's Ring on DVD.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
I totally concur with the positive comments others have made about the singing, conducting, set design, direction, etc. For me, the deal breaker is the picture quality. Put bluntly, it is AWFUL. Maybe I've been spoilt by the razor sharp images of blu ray and hi-def television (and for that matter, widescreen), but this looks muddy, smeary, with poor colour, etc, etc. Wagner always intended the Ring to be an equal marriage of sound and vision, and here it plain isn't. This is a huge shame because with better picture quality, this would, I think, be my favourite set.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
If you regret that no modern production is ever true to Wagner's own stage directions - and you should, because it is always disappointing these days, usually ugly or merely provocative for no good reason - this is the one for you because it looks so damn good and is brilliantly performed. I've more or less decided never to go to a live Ring again after spending so much on productions that simply make you squirm. Save your money - buy the CDs!
Or do as I did and simply live with Solti's old, unequalled original recording from the 60s and make your own stage scenes in your head. They will always be better than any modern production!
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2010
Being a serious stage Wagner opera fan I agree with much of the praise for the music and singing on this disc. However I was disappointed with the NTSC format resulting in a less than perfect visual experience. In fact everyone of the seven discs jumped or snatched throughout the whole opera. Unknowing about these technical matters, is this normal for a region 0 disc or are the technicians trying to put 941 mins of music and film onto too few discs? Or is the NTSC format just not for us? I would appreciate some informed comment.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
...and, in all probability, an excellent introduction for newcomers. Music, being subjective, means that there can never be a 'perfect' version or performance. What one person hates, another loves. For me, James Morris makes a superb Wotan - I, also, love Donald McIntyre's interpretation - the late Hildegarde Behrens does struggle, vocally, at times, but still gives us a fine Brunnhilde. I do find it odd to see Jessye Norman as a downtrodden Sieglinde, but she does have a voice to die for. The aptly named Siegfried Jerusalem is a fine hero.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
This is an excellent staging of the ring, which thankfully remained true to the composer's intentions. The orchestra was superb and Behrensas Brunhilde looked the part. Wlaschiha was the best Alberich I've heard since Neidlinger. Marvelously staged and acted by all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Excellent. Couldn't ask for more. Good filming technique (contrary to many operas on DVD).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
I have watched Das Rheingold and Die Walkure. As i understand it this is a version how Wagner directed it to be performed. It has so far been spectacular. The sets are fantastic, and the features on the DVDs such as subtitles in english etc have really helped the overall enjoyment of these music dramas.
Also the notes booklet accompanying the dvd is thorough and akin to having a programme at the theatre with full synopsis and information about the performers.
This is my first ring so i have nothing to compare it with, but i have loved it none the less.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2016
Essential for the true Wagnerian
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)