Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 24 September 2002
Simply put, there is no messing about with this bunch of kiwi's. It's hard, fast, balls out garage music with loads of energy, but no little craft.
The first track, 'Rock n Roll MF' kicks things off with a blast of pure rock not a million miles away from the Stooges at their best and, it's submission from there on in.
'Party' may have been an obvious single, but there are plenty of other candidates.
In a nutshell, if you like your music, loud, fast, fun and with plenty of good attitude, then you could do a lot worse than to buy this album.
It rocks!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2002
Well if you ask me it's all getting a bit silly this garage rock thing! Following in the slipstream of The White Stripes, The Strokes and The Hives has emerged a seemingly endless supply of back to basics rock 'n' roll bands... The D4 step up to take their place alongside the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Parkinsons, Vines, Libertines, Bellrays, Von Bondies....etc. But the shocking thing is none of these bands seem to be bandwagon jumping, they're just doing what they've always done and always will... play rock and roll music with passion, charisma and a natural sense of cool.
The D4 do nothing original on this CD, theres even a Johnny Thunders cover, but to worry about that is to miss out on the essence of what this album (or more importantly the D4's cracking gigs) is about... playing rock and roll loud and fast without any pretence. Theres going to be lots more bands breaking through with the same spirit as this but this is one of the best albums in the new-garage-rock revival... COME ON!!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2005
I purchased this album a few years back and have loved it ever since. It is an album full of pure, raw rock and roll with catchy tunes and air guitar solos!
Best song it in my opinion is Exit To The City. But every track on the album comes in a close second!!
If you like any bands like the Hives, ACDC etc. You will LOVE this!!
Their new album is released in late march and I know I will be getting it straight away if its half as good as this!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2002
Very well recorded and assembled album; just one small thing i'll mention - the choruses (chori?) are all the same except for the lyrics. They all involve chanting the title of the song multiple times, but hey, that's the style of music so who cares?!? btw the live gig in Nottingham was outstanding. The D4 are a brilliant band. buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2004
New Zealanders giving rock`n`roll a much needed kick in the pants where Black Rebels dare`nt tread ,high energy non-stop-rock n roll, If this fails to get your pulse racin then you need shootin,
If you get a chance to see them live do ,I saw them at Camden Electric ballroom truly awesome go if you can handle the heat!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2016
Rock with a punk attitude. Great guitar and vocals. Lost a star for foul language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2004
what can i say this album is absolutley perfect, if your into AC/DC ormotorhead you'll love this album or if you just love fast paced pulsingpunk rock.
when i bought this album i loved it and i still do i listento it practically everyday. its brilliant i can't imagine why you wouldn'tbuy this album, unless your clinicly insane.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
Absolute bargain price, some good tracks on here
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2002
No matter how they try (and I know that true punk began in he USA) Yanks just don`t properly get it. I love, listen and buy the Ramones et al just like the next man. I try and enjoy the various new rock/punk that comes over now and sometimes I think I`m going to really like something and then...
But this band touch what so many other great Uk names also touched at this point in their career. They will change, move on, become better musicians but before that they have produced this. Its not perfect and its not a classic but it has no track that isn`t enjoyable, which in my experience is pretty astounding. I could reel off comparisons but they don`t deserve it, these are men of the moment having a great time making this music, buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£3.95

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)