Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2002
With "Symbol of Life", Paradise Lost have produced an album of intense guitar riffs paired with Gothic keyboards and melodies,rounded off with vocals that range from Andrew Eldritch Goth to James Hetfield Metal in sound. The melodies on "Symbol of Life" are awesome, the high points being "Pray Nightfall", "Perfect Mask", "Two Worlds" and "Mystify".
The songs contain a great fusion of keyboards and guitars but the whole thing has a heavy feel about it which was lacking in Paradise Lost's more recent albums.
The limited edition also has covers of Dead Can Dance's "Xavier" and Bronski Beat's (!) "Smalltown Boy"
I took a chance and bought this album without knowing anything about it. It is definitely my album of the year.
If you like rock/metal/goth music, do yourself a favour and buy "Symbol of Life". You won't be taking a chance, you'll be buying one of the best albums produced in 2002.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2003
I have followed Paradise Lost since their first offering and often I cannot believe the direction they have taken with their music. Since 'Once Second', they have trimmed away the "Death Metal" over tones and replaced their style with something that is not only perfection but also up to date.
Since 'Host', they have appeared to be tilting towards the later Depeche Mode material but 'Symbol of Life combines this tilt and also the heavier side of their talent.
By far the best track for me has to be 'Pray Nightfall' which demonstrates the depths of Nick Holmes' vocal talent and the whole band come together to deliver a haunting tune.
Along with 'Isolate','Erased' and the remaining tracks, this album is by far the best that Paradise Lost has ever produced. My hat goes off to a band that can drastically change their musical direction and can still produce spellbinding songs worthy of anyone's collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2002
Paradise Lost return with an excellent sequel to last years brilliant Believe In Nothing. Symbol Of Life continues perfectly in the same vein and style of it's immediate predecessor. If anything this recording is actually heavier but still glossed with the synth and keyboard effects, experimented firstly in 1997's One Second and dominating 1999's Host. The finished article here is very impressive, opening track Isolate captures the feel of the album from the very beginning, providing an immediate hook. The apparent 'Smash Hit' Erased continues this feel, following closely along the lines of another PL 'hit' The Last Time.
Two Worlds, comes straight out of the heavy drawer and shows that PL certainly haven't lost any of their rock edge. Pray Nightfall, slows the tempo down a notch and also the intensity of the guitars, instead delivering a haunting chorus continuing the high standard of the album.
Primal, shows again that PL have not lost any of their clout as a heavy band this time coupling the heavy riffing with another attention grabbing chorus line. Perfect Mask, if a little repetitive, works due to again an excellent heavy guitar riff along with a thundering complementary baseline.
Mystify, has to stand as one of the best PL songs of all time, perfectly crafted it has everything. A fantastic opening guitar riff in the traditional Mackintosh style immediately catching the attention and leading seamlessly into a thumping bassline which drives the song along to the epic chorus. Probably won't worry Gareth Gates as an outside challenger to the Christmas Number 1, but sounds good nevertheless.
No Celebration is a good, solid performer, featuring the trademark Mackintosh solos leading nicely into the up-tempo Self Obsessed. A fast pace number, possibly the albums weakest link, but still a fine song with Mackintosh popping up again with those widdly guitar solos.
The album's title track raises the standard again, with a catchy driving drum beat mixing neatly with the mirrored bassline and orchestration. A slower song with the only flaw perhaps being that it slows and finishes a little to soon.
The official album closer, Channel For The Pain, takes a chapter from the Slayer book of songwriting and adds the usual PL finishes to produce an haunting, fast paced juggernaut of a song. Tremendous vocal performance by Holmes here.
The bonus material fits in nicely for those lucky enough to get the neatly packaged limited edition SOL. Xavier a slow brooding effort, is a fine all round performance, even though it sounds like PL from few years back. Small Town Boy takes a large pop sound and sorts it out, guitar effects, keyboards and a great Jimmy Somerville impersonation by Holmes - works well.
Overall Symbol Of Life is an excellent album, should be exactly what Paradise Lost fans want to hear and offer interest to others too ignorant before to notice. Paradise Lost are a home grown band, consistently producing quality music with none of the recognition they deserve. Bin 'Pop Stars' and get a 'life.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2003
I have followed Paradise Lost since their first offering and often I cannot believe the direction they have taken with their music. Since 'Once Second', they have trimmed away the "Death Metal" over tones and replaced their style with something that is not only perfection but also up to date.
Since 'Host', they have appeared to be tilting towards the later Depeche Mode material but 'Symbol of Life combines this tilt and also the heavier side of their talent.
By far the best track for me has to be 'Pray Nightfall' which demonstrates the depths of Nick Holmes' vocal talent and the whole band come together to deliver a haunting tune.
Along with 'Isolate','Erased' and the remaining tracks, this album is by far the best that Paradise Lost has ever produced. My hat goes off to a band that can drastically change their musical direction and can still produce spellbinding songs worthy of anyone's collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2002
Paradise Lost have been my favourite band for 9 years.
"Symbol of Life", on first listen, has completely blown me away! Seven years of uncertainty since "Draconian Times", finally, Symbol of Life demonstrates the full intensity of Paradise Lost's ability to churn out metal of the heaviest and darkest order!
This album has topped all others I've heard this year, and there are a fair few.
Don't get me wrong, I loved "One Second", "Host" (very much) and "Believe In Nothing", but "Symbol of Life" beats them all, and possibly "Draconian Times".
Nick's vocals show the greatest amount of angry grunts since Drac, seems anger was the day's mood when recording this one! Greg's leads, although slower nowadays, are very abundant and atmospheric. Aaron's rythmn chops are heavier than ever and Steve's bass is louder than on any previous albums. This adds the hellish subsonic low end to a greater degree compared to past years. Lee adds all the off-beats and ghost-strokes everywhere as he did when establishing himself on Draconian Times, also with some wonderfully skillful bass pedal flicks.
The Keyboards add all the colour of the previous albums, although not as prevalent as on "Host".
The musicianship on this album is outstanding and I'm dead chuffed that the band have finally made their real return to form.
My favourite songs on this album, bearing in mind its very early days yet, are "Pray Nightfall" and "Symbol of Life". Sheer class.
Having bought the digipack I've extra songs, covers originally by Dead can Dance and Bronski Beat's "Small Town Boy", which is excellent.
The most impressive album I've ever heard.
Paradise Lost are the Kings of Metal!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2002
Paradise lost continues to evolve as a band. Each album is a new experience, and "Symbol" is damn good experience, at that.
A lot of reviewers are saying things like "it's got More Guitars than one second So It Must Be Good". I disagree; True, PL definitely have a more guitar driven sound on this album, but not vastly more so than the previous album, Believe in Nothing. No, the reason you MUST own this album, is because no other metal band worth the name, could possibly cover Bronski Beat's "Small town boy" and get away with it :-)
Paradise Lost have that one thing that most metal today just doesn't care about; rocking good tunes. Songs, melodies and leads that will stick in your mind like some unmentionable pop track. Buy this album, It's a great album from a great band.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2003
I was into PL back in the Draconian Times/Icon days.. have always thought they were a good band. Obviously they went in new directions since them, and Id say this album has the best of both worlds, guitars & electronica. I actualy bought this album just for the cover of Dead Can Dance's (what an AMAZING group)"Xavier".. and wasn't dissapointed, the song updates well in a metal format. I actualy found myself enjoying the cover of Bronski Beats "Small Town Boy" more though! Inspired choice of a cover. Of the actual album tracks the standout for me is the very melancholy "No Celebration". Overall this is a good CD, dark rock music updated for the C 21st.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 November 2002
Hearing Paradise Lost of today and Paradise Lost of yesterday and you would not recognize that they were the same band. The metamorphosis is quite staggering really when you take into account that these guys were one of the leading pioneers of British doom metal, along with fellow Yorkshiremen My Dying Bride and Liverpool's Anathema, with their lo-fi, excruciatingly slow and heavy debut 'Lost Paradise' which was laden with death metal vocals and bleak lyrical themes. Skip forward some years to 'Host' and you get a goth tinged Depeche Mode almost bereft of guitars and heavy on the keys. From one extreme to another, yet Paradise Lost's best music was arguably released in their mid-years which balanced the melody of the later releases with the heaviness, yet not nearly AS heavy, of their earlier efforts.

So this year brings along yet another album which was always certain of drawing an abundance of scepticism from fans and former fans who didn't quite appreciate PL's shift in sound. Let all scepticism be swept away because this is the album which should have proceeded 'Draconian Times' straight away.

'Symbol of Life' see's Paradise Lost bring back the guitars after three albums which were quite low on the strings, granted 'Believe in Nothing' had guitars, but they were quite sparse and didn't really sound fitting in my opinon. To me this is the near-perfect fusion of 'Draconian Times' era Paradise Lost and the gothic electronic stylings of 'Host'. As soon as the albums opener "Isolate" kicks in you can tell things are back on track with the heavier guitars and drums, and things just keep getting better from there on. There are some nice guest vocals by Cathedral's Lee Dorian on the following song "Erased" and Strapping Young Lad and solo artist Devin Townsend on "Two Worlds", the guitars have not yet dissapated and the song writing is as good as ever. My personal favourite is "Pray Nightfall" which actually reminds me of something from 'Icon', I can't help but listen to it over and over. As a matter of fact most of the songs on here show Paradise Lost to be back on top form with just a couple weak moments such as the industrial thrash-lite of "Perfect Mask" which may be heavy, but not so good due to it's repetivness and an almost "wer're trying to hard" feel.

All in all I am very satisfied with this album, this is a great hybrid album as the electronics are not completely left out, which is good as I actually like 'One Second' and 'Host'. Also Nick's vocals are sounding great and Greg hasn't forgotten how to play guitar (hoorah!). I highly recommend this to any Paradise Lost fan who lost faith after 'Draconian Times' or any fan who has remained a fan, or even anyone who has never heard Paradise Lost as this is a well balanced mix of PL of old and PL of present, lets hope they can keep making quality music such as this for the future. Not a perfect disc at all, but very good!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2003
Paradise losts new album "symbol of life" is another excelent peice of work, with more in common with "one second" than the early "gothic" or more recently "host" the album is a blend of heavy guitar riffs and eletronic symphonies created by the multi tallented Greg Mackintosh, Nick Holmes Vocals are as angstfilled as ever before, his ability to sing so well cleanly has far outdone the growling found on "lost paradise" and "gothic". Truely a good peice of work by the best techno goth band in the feild. Highlights include the single "erased", "symbol of life", "Isolate" and "pray nightfall" For fans who where looking for something a little darker (and better produced) album after "beleive in nothing"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2003
Well, Paradise Lost do again. Another change in production sound but still definitely Paradise Lost. After sounding like Metallica, Depeche Mode and a good nu-metal band this album sees the boys from Halifax doing a damm good Rammstein impression (only better). Quite frankly this album ROCKS!! All the old ideas are back. In Erased the female vocal is back to the fore and adds a fantastic edge to the song as Nick Holmes growls away in top form. Pray nightfall could be one of the best songs they have ever written and I often find myself humming the title track over and over. The two cover versions at the end of the export version are inspired. Xavier has quickly become one of my favourites even though I have never heard the original and have no idea who wrote it. A goth band covering Bronsky Beat? brilliant! What a way to end an album. Industrial yet accessable is the general feel for the album and they pull it off as if they had been producing this sound for years. Many bands that try a new direction from time to time end up sounding, quite frankly, rubbish (radiohead anyone?) however every time Paradise Lost do this they sound new fresh and exciting. You wouldn`t know they had been around for over ten years Buy this album now but be warned, your bank account will take a battering as you will want every album they have ever made!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)