Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
116
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 October 2002
Following Dave Grohl's appearances this year on the Tenacious D album and as drummer on the new Queen of the Stone Age album, The ex-Nirvana man gets back to regular business with his band the Foo Fighters, and gets things going pretty quickly with rock anthem 'All My Life'.
'All My Life' is definitely the standout track, for being so heavy and for being so straight rock.
But don't get worried; there are a few more straight hard rock songs along this record as well.
'Times Like These' and 'Overdrive' stand tall above the other songs, and are as straight rock as 'All My Life'.
These are great rock songs, and mix well with the slower songs played in-between them.
This album is simply a rock album, and each song no matter how slowly it starts always soars into some sort of monstrous riff, or heavy sound, or provides a strong anthem like chorus that Grohl seems to pull off well with his powerful voice.
Every track is great, and is definitely Foo Fighters best work to date.
So if you’re a Foo Fighters fan don't hesitate in thinking about buying this, it really is great stuff.
Apart from the excellent album, the DVD that comes with this provides the funny still clip audio for 'The One' (which is a track that can only be found on the 'All My Life' single release or the Orange County soundtrack, so this is the only Foo Fighter album so far you'll hear it on), along with the unreleased video for 'Walking A Line', and the funny, but serious video for the leading track on this album, 'All My Life'.
The DVD also features a photo gallery of the band backstage, playing live and clips of them in the video for ‘All My Life’.
Going back to the CD, the inside case will give you a code to use on the Foo Fighters website to gain access to a secret site that contains exclusive songs.
So apart from the amazing album, this comes with plenty of extra features to have fun with.
Enjoy.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Another powerful and memorable offering from the Foos.

Do they ever do anything other than fantastic?

This is packed with amazing tracks from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
Great cd, reminds me of when I was growing up definitely a good car Cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
Had this years ago. It went missing. Bought again. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Arrived a day early, excellent quality. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
A Classic Album from this group and a must have.

Great songs and really great to listen to.

I recommend this to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2007
After reading the review about this being a copy protected disc, I wasn't sure whether to buy this album or the original version as I listen to a lot of my music on my mp3 player. I took the risk anyway as others had not mentioned it and am glad I did. Although the disc does say that it is copy protected, I had no trouble playing and ripping it to my pc using media player. It is a brilliant album and also includes a bonus disc which has some really good tracks on too. Do not miss out on this great bargain.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2002
The Foo Fighters finally follow up their highly acclaimed 1999 album 'There Is Nothing Left To Lose' with One By One. The Foos are as solid as ever, playing and sounding like the rock band they want to be.
The album opens with the forceful All My Life, which is a pure slice of rock'n'roll fun. The driving powerful guitars hit home and this is an exhilarating ride. This song is quite heavy for the Foos and the next song, Low follows suit. Low is quite simply unique and quite simply brilliant. Continuing the dark edge present in All My Life, the powerful fuzzy guitars and tribal drumming are contrasted perfectly by Grohls calm vocals. Next on the agenda is Have It All, which reminds of the Foo of old and easily is one of the strongest songs on the album. The sweeping catchy chorus and riff is perfect single material. Another song, which reminds of old Foo Fighters material, is the beautifully written Times Like These. Emotional and straight to the point, again a standout track. Disenchanted Lullaby follows with quite a misleading title. The aggressive grunge chorus (“I maybe scattered, A little Scattered…….No-one has fit like I do”) helped by Hawkins forceful drumming makes this a powerful song. A certain Queen guitarist by the name of Brian May crops up on the next track Tired Of You and adds a nice guitar track but the most surprising part of this song is just how powerful Grohls vocals can be. We find Grohl in a thoughtful, reflective mood (“is this just desire, or the truth?”) but the vocals are truly haunting and send a shiver down the spine.
The second half of the album begins with the stadium-rock of Halo. A powerful desperate chorus and deep lyrics, Halo fits nicely after Tired Of You. Again a potential hit as a single. Lonely As You is a slow burner, but a powerful track nonetheless. It grows on you and evidence of the dark edge the band seems to be exploring as well as their lighter side is present here too. A good example of Hawkins drumming ability too. Overdrive is simply an inoffensive punk rock song that’s catchy and fun. Nothing new for the Foo Fighters but then theres nothing wrong with that if its quality. An Overdrive is so no problems there. Burn Away is another slow burner but the hooky chorus and fuzzy guitars soon draw you in. The album finishes with the truly epic Comeback, almost eight minutes in length, the sound is quite raw not unlike All My Life. The album finishes as it started. As a rock’n’roll album. Sometimes the album does feel a little too produced, and there is a sense that the band could have gone for it a bit more on a few tracks but these are minor faults that in no way spoil the album. There is a constant theme in the album of different relationships through Grohls lyrics. He is progressing as a lyricist all the time and One By One is perfect evidence of this. The Foos continue to do their own thing and we should be thankful for that. Its an album that will no doubt go down well with their ever growing fan base, but will also help add a few more. Its an album which can hold its head up high next to the epic The Colour And The Shape and the Grammy winning There Is Nothing Left To Lose-and if that’s not praise I don’t know what is.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2003
It is August 24th 2002 in a Berkshire field. Dave Grohl, front man of the Foo Fighters is standing alone on the Reading Festival stage for the encore to another brilliant set. An adoring crowd is hearing, for the first time, the haunting Tired of You and realising two things: 1. Grohl's past as drummer of the legendary Nirvana, is irrelevant because at this moment, he has cemented himself as true rock legend in his own right. 2. His sabbatical from the Foos to drum for Queens of The Stone Age was no mistake, nor has it led to the predicted downfall of his band. In fact, the opposite has occurred: the experience has given him a ten-fold increase of urgency and aggression - and this album is all the better for it.
In the difficult position of writing a fourth album, Grohl has succeeded admirably, exemplified by the low-slung guitar genius of All My Life and the brilliant Low and Halo. Even the haunting ballad of Tired of You has undertones of real passion, and is possibly the best non-shouty song Grohl has ever written. It was a shrewd move to leave behind the polished more commercial sound of previous album There Is Nothing Left To Lose, and it is an ironic twist that with this album the band have been rewarded with their most commercial success yet. Although track Burn Away is a little limp and Overdrive is a less successful attempt to re-create previous track Generator, the rest of the album more than makes up for these slight inconsistencies.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2002
This is a great album by any definition. The album opens with the amazing hit 'All My Life' before hitting the grungey sound of 'Low'
If i tried to name any song that stood out n this album it would be 'Disenchanted Lullaby' The new 'stuff' was played at the ReadinG Festival which i happened to be at. After hearing the songs once i went home a happy man. Upon purchasing this album that song stood out the most as the one i remembered. Its an excellent track full of emotion.
I would reccomend everyone to get this album as well as the rest of the Foo's back catalogue esp THe colour and the Shape.
Get this album and awe in the magnificents of Dave Grohl and friends!!
A very worthy purchase!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)