Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
158
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 September 2009
This 1973 Vincent Price movie followed in the footsteps of The Abominable Doctor Phibes and Doctor Phibes Rises Again revenge by using a theme. In this case it is the works of William Shakespeare.

As a number of self opinionated theatre critics start dying horrible deaths it becomes apparent that they have written one bad review too many.

Vincent Price is the hammy Shakespearean actor Edward Lionheart who believed that the critics had deliberately humiliated him at the Critics Circle Award. At his lowest point they all sniggered and laughed at him and he jumped from the balcony into the Thames. It was believed that he committed suicide, but having been saved by a group of homeless people, he had been waiting for the opportunity for revenge and revenge would be based on the role that each critic had savaged the most.

The murders are from: Julius Caesar, Troilus and Cressida, Cymbeline, Merchant of Venice, Richard the Third, Othello, Henry the Sixth pt1, Titus Andronicus and King Lear.

Diana Rigg plays Edwina Lionheart, his daughter who blames the critics for her fathers death - even calling Devlin her father's murderer.

The critics are: Peregrine Devlin (Ian Hendry), George Maxwell (Michael Hordern), Hector Snipe (Dennis Price), Horace Sprout (Arthur Lowe), Trevor Dickman (Harry Andrews), Oliver Larding (Robert Coote), Solomon Psaltery (Jack Hawkins), Chloe Moon (Coral Browne), and Meredith Merridew (Robert Morley).

The police are Sergeant Dogge (Eric Sykes) and Inspector Boot (Milo O'Shea).

Also of note is Joan Hickson (Miss Marple) as the harrying wife of Arthur Lowe's Horace Sprout - with this one you feel that Lionheart did him a favour; and Diana Dors as Solomon Psaltery's wife. It was on this film that Vincent Price met his future wife, Australian actress Coral Browne.

It's the tongue in cheek humour that makes the film great.

If only Shakespeare had been this good when I was at school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
Wonderful scene when Lionheart has just killed one of the critics and as he's leaving looks at a lascivius picture on the critic's wall then looks back reproachfully at the corpse, LOL. Don't make em like this anymore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Camp as they come. Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
Amazing, Vincent Price is definitely one of the greats
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
Very good early British horror film with the added bonus of Vincent Price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
One of Vincent Price.s most memorable films and great value!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
My favourite film of all time now in Blu-ray! Vincent Price plus so many great old British actors in there - Arthur Lowe, Michael Hordern, Robert Morley, Dennis Price, Ian Hendry, Jack Hawkins and Diana Rigg has never looked lovelier than she does in this. The same can't be said of a rather large Diana Dors though!

Milo O'Shea and Eric Sykes add comedy as the slightly bumbling cops on serial killer Price's tail and you can tell the cast and crew had a blast making it. No wonder it was apparently Vincent's favourite film.

If like me you're a fan of seventies cars you'll love the numerous Rover P6 patrol cars, Hendry's Jaguar XK150 and Hordern's Bentley S3 driving round seventies London.

The bonus feature with soundtrack composer Michael J. Lewis is hilarious, who knew he'd be so camp!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Title: THEATRE OF BLOOD (1973)
Label: ARROW VIDEO
Tranfer by: MGM
Aspect Ratio: 1.66 : 1

Some Thoughts About The Movie:
THEATRE OF BLOOD is a funny, kind of grim and sarcastic little old fashioned „splatter“ movie. The cast is wonderful and it has a certain oddity attached to it. Set- and costume design is mentionable. The cinematography is very good. It is an unusal little movie because it focuses purely on the many creative constructed death sequences (in a row). The story indeed is simple but who cares? People get killed for (very) dubious reasons. Visually highly enjoyable and professionally done. A movie made by real filmmakers. So to say the movie is straight foreward and very consequent. If it had been done nowadays maybe it would be just a torture porn movie but probably without the style and all the lovely set design details. I am lucky THAETRE OF BLOOD was made in my favourite decade for art, movies and music ever. The 70th…and so it has become a special movie which has a lot of cult-followers today. Enjoy Shakespeare!

No Grain Baby, No Gain / The Transfer:
The 2K BD Transfer was done by MGM and fortunately they did a quality above their usual avarage transfers. In every aspect this transfer is very film-like regarding grain-structure (fine and organic), texture, deep dimension picture, color and grey-level. The picture is stable and well cleaned although some debris is left over in the print – what I find to appeal even more film-like. During the head-scene you will notice some damages but they are not distracting and I am happy they did not choose another source as an insert. Well done! I have been collecting this movie ever since and at this moment this IS the definite version! TOB never looked better and probably wont in the near future.

Cut and Run:
This is a version integrale from one complete source. NO noticeable inserts from different sources have been applied. I find this most important for a fluent visual experience. The movie has passed uncut by the BBFC.

Final Thoughts:
Fans, collectors and people with big screens or projectors can should spent their money without further doubt. This is the definite verison! Film-like through and through. A joy. Curtains, applause, encore.

How I rate / What I rate:
My ratings refer exclusively to technical aspects of BD sets. The more film-like a HD transfer looks and feels via a projection, the more high-class the source is scanned and digitally treated afterwards, the higher my ratings will be. Digital phenomenons like edge enhancement, block noise, digital appealing grain, swarming grain / noise behavoir and DNR filtering will directly result in lower ratings.
I do not rate movies at all. In the introduction part I just offer my opinion, based on taste, preferences and knowledge about film/photography in general. Movies are artificial constructions where many efforts have been taken (including complex postproduction) to accomplish a vision of whatsoever kind. No movie made for cinema ever shot has earned a 1 star rating on AMAZON or a 1 point rating on IMDB. I have studied many publications about making films, their psychological impact, and the subject violence on film. I am a hobby photographer knowing much about frame compositions, color and light effects and different styles. I am also a hobby musician and sound designer for my own private joy. I could rate a movie/ its soundrack, but why should I? Things are what they are and nothing more or less. I like to think beyond mind constructed terms of good and bad. So called "objectivity" becomes fast diluted by preferences which results in comments of personal taste. These comments are fine but they go without any base value for creating a rating-scale out of them. Technical aspects are a different kind of matter. DNR, edge enhancement, block noise and such things are obvious even on small screens and maybe we can speak more of objectivity and measurability in this area. I think we should be informed about the quality of a product.

All about Ev(m)e:
I am a collector of films for 27 Years, own about 3.000 films (would be far more, but I often sort out transfers I dont like) and watch them in a home-cinema room via bigscreen projection. I am also a hobby musician and photographer with some experience scanning camera negatives in high definitions. I am fascinated by film (from reels) since I am a kid and spent hours for hours in cinemas and visiting film festivals.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)