Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
140
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2009
I was familiar with pretty in pink along with other john Hughes films however being 16 i wasn't around in the 80's, which is a shame because 80's "teen" films especially by john Hughes are really good. After watching the breakfast club on TV i decided to buy some John Hughes films and being familiar with them i thought they would really appeal to me - And i wasn't wrong. With john Hughes films including pretty in pink it feels like John put real heart into his films and cared a lot about his characters especially less fortunate characters such as geeks. He's very kind to teens and seems to express their characters,feelings and lives very well. Pretty in pink is a warm-hearted film with good characters. For me and it seems many other really like "duckie" , he's a lovely character and very funny. For me duckie and his relationship with Andie is the best aspect of the film. the music is also very good. its definatley a classic and is brilliant as are most of John Hughes films of this era.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2002
A very welcome reissue in DVD format. Another "right of passage" film from the John Hughes stable, with a Romeo and Juliet slant. Molly Ringwald is perfectly cast, again, as Andie, a misfit high school student, who is facing convention and prejudice in the face. Also stars a very young James Spader (Stargate SG1 film fame) who has improved with age. Andie falls for Blain,"that's not a name it's a food mixer" played by Andrew McCarthy - another stalwart of late 80s brat-pack movies. Blain comes from the right side of the tracks, where as Andie is not so comfortably off and has her own quirky fashion style, who is into vintage clothes before it came fashionable this season. Andie has another suitor "Duckie" who is similarly unconventional, whose efforts to win Andie's affections are not subtle and he acts like a lovesick teenager.
A splendid feelgood movie with a soundtrack that will send you straight back to the "alternative 80s" when I was young - The Smiths, OMD (maybe not so alternative), New Order and of course the wonderful Psychedelic Furs "Pretty in Pink" whose lyrics do not match the film's plot but who cares - it's a cracking song!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2006
Okay, I am only 24 and so was just 4 years old when this movie came out. My sister however, is six years older than me and used to watch this film all the time. We eventually started watching it together and have come to love it.

I must say though, we do spend a lot of time taking the mick out of it. The music is fantastic and the acting is brilliant. I loved the whole idea of the opposite sides of the tracks getting together no matter what but I am not sure about some of the thinkology.

For example at the end when Andie arrives at the Prom, and the Duck Man is there for her, Blain comes over and says that he always believed in her but she never believed in him. This always gets me frustrated because Andie did believe in him, she believed him when he asked her to the prom and believed in him enough to keep ringing his house when he avoided her calls like a wimp.

I DO NOT get that Andrew McCarthy is good looking or a heart throb but maybe it's an era thing. Anyway, despite this annoying factor in the movie, I think this film is a keeper for all time.

Somehow it just makes you feel a certain way when watching it and cheers you up.

One thing me and my sister and everyone else we know who has watched this film will never understand is why, for goodness sake was that dress thought to be Pretty? Okay, Andie had alternative styling and that was fine, but through the whole "I'm going to go to the prom anyway and show them all" dress making scene, you sit on the edge of your seet and can't wait to see what it will look like. And then she steps out to show her dad and it's like deflating a balloon.

The thing was shapeless and ugly, the good thing was that Molly Ringwald looked pretty and her hair was fabulous.

A special mention must go to Duckie who is, not only funny and brilliant in this movie but delivers the best line in the whole film, "Blain, his name is Blain? That's not a name, it's a major appliance." Fabulous!

All in all a great film I will keep a copy of forever.
44 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2016
Good movie from the canon of John Hughes, loved by some and disliked by many. Although John Hughes has presented us with some of the eighties most classic movies, Pretty in Pink has aged worse than many of his other movies and I cannot pin point why. The only positive factor that rescues the movie from the clutches of the wet and untalented Andrew McCarhty is James Spader's great acting as always.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2012
I love this film and watched it for the first time in more than 20 years with my daughter yesterday.
However the sound quality on this DVD is not great and it is sometimes difficult to hear what the actors are saying (muffled) when music is playing on the film.
Still a great film though!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2008
This is one of those very rare things, a teen romance movie which has a wonderfully sincere and genuine heart at it's centre. A young woman named Andie is it's main character, a high school senior who comes from an underprivileged background. Her father is superbly played by Harry Dean Stanton.

Andie is convincingly played by Molly Ringwald, and the film is charming, subtle, and lacking the kind of knowing, worldly-wise scripts which are characteristic of teen romance movies of the twenty-first century. Andie is best friends with 'Duckie', a young man with a unique and individual sense of style who would actually like to be in a relationship with Andie. Yet Andie has her sights set on Blaine, a rich young man who she meets at the record shop where she works.

The plot is fairly simplistic, yet it's the genuine honesty and sincerity of Molly Ringwald's performance that steals the show. Fearing that she isn't good enough for the wealthy Blaine, her fears are confirmed when he fails to get in touch for several days. The snobbery of Blaine's friends is generally frowned upon in the film, and director John Hughes almost seems to be striking a blow for individual and down-to-earth misfits like Andie and Duckie.

Which is what makes 'Pretty In Pink' such a great film. It's a romance of a more innocent era, when superficiality and materialism weren't always the order of the day, when there were more young people who were willing to have their own unique style and an aesthetic which didn't come straight off a rack. Andie, with her home-made creations and unusual ensembles is the charm at the heart of this wonderfully innocuous teen romance movie.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2013
A 1986 American romantic drama, with High School kids fretting over relationships and Prom dances. Come on, me? It should just go into the bin, surely? But no, you would miss out on some great performances, good characterisations, and some young actors really stepping up, to lift his film out of its brat-pack roots. You even get Harry Dean Stanton, as the pouting Molly Ringwald's dad.
This hackneyed tale of poor girl from the wrong side of the tracks, falling for rich boy she can't have, is just that. But it's better than that, so much better, and the reason is simplicity itself. Because they all take it so seriously, playing their parts as if they are in a Stephen Soderbergh Art House film, many years later. (And some were). We get early flashes of brilliance from James Spader, as the slimy friend of the object of Molly's Ringwald's desire, and a quiet, sleepy turn from Andrew McCarthy, as the boy himself.
What seals the deal for me, is the fantastic performance by Jon Cryer, as the socially inept Duckie, who has always loved the girl, and is prepared to sacrifice everything for her happiness. His mimed performance of Otis Redding's `Try a little tenderness', across the floor of a record shop, is one of my favourite moments in cinema. Then there is the title song, performed by the Psychedelic Furs, but only over the closing credits, at least on my version. Pop magic.
Oh yes, there is a happy ending too, sorry about that.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
Excellent!! Well packaged. Brand spanking new. Still in original sealing. So pleased. It is my favourite film and had to replace the old one. I have watched it so many times it was scratched. Would definitely buy from this seller again. many Many thanks. Andrew mcCarthy's No1 fan <3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2011
A great movie, love the songs in it and love Andrew MacCarthy's eyes gorgeous!!But the film itself two hearts wrong side of the tracks come good in the end. love the acting. Jimmy Spader Stargate and Alien Hunter, if you haven't got get it another little gem for the collection. Pretty in Pink 5**+ need I say more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
This DVD is a collective vanity piece for the so-called Brat Pack of the 1980s. Bought to revisit my youth and to educate my children. We all watched and loved it! Good quality DVD and excellent value for money. Quick despatch time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse