Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
15
Sunset [DVD] [1988] [2002]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping


on 25 March 2006
Tom Mix (Bruce Willis) is going to make a film based around real events in the life of Wyatt Earp (James Garner)and so they wheel earp out to Hollywood as an advisor in the film. Thats the plot in a nutshell, but it is the relationship between the two guys which is at the heart of this film.
Funny and sad, this is a movie above all knowledgable about how vintage Hollywood was below the glossy surface but it shows it with wit, a sadly vanishing quality to-day.
I have watched it so many times and it never fails to entertain.
SOB and Sunset both reveal Blake Edwards' love for the movie world but based in the reality of its' foibles.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2017
For a start, it has James Garner in it, so even if the film wasn't any good, he still would be. In fact, it's a good film - very enjoyable, and rather thought-provoking. I lent it to someone, but when it comes back I'll watch it again, as it was great fun and very well done. And genuinely tense, too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2011
It is no wonder that this film was awarded a nomination for best costume design, the detail of the 1920's is absolutely superb. In addition the music by Henry Mancini is great. Altogether, this film is a really superb way to spend a relaxing hour and a half.

The cast is excellent with Bruce Willis and James Garner giving sound performances and the interplay between the two characters is brilliantly done.The acting cudos must go to Graeme McDowell as the vicious killer,an outstanding performance. The story is tongue in cheek, about the meeting up of lengendary Tom Mix and Wyatt Earp, who in partnership solve a vicious killing and told with great style and superbly directed by Blake Edwards. This must rate as one of his finest films.The female cast in this film is also of the highest standard.

Yes,if you enjoy a film with comedy, drama,superb music, great acting, good story and wonderful period costumes and scenery without having to use the little grey cells, then you should not miss it. I saw it on television and one reviewer has commented that the DVD has been poorly edited but at the price it's worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2006
An underrated Blake Edwards film, this revisionist look at Hollywood history is an anachronistic but enjoyable comedy-thriller adapted from a novel by Rod Amateu, about what might have happened if Wyatt Earp teamed up with Hollywood acting legend Tom Mix to solve a murder.

Lots of sparkling dialogue and good set pieces as we've come to expect from this writer-director, and entertaining performances from the two leads, although some of which is sadly missing from this slightly edited DVD release (some of the profanity has been, rather poorly, dubbed over with less offensive swear words, and some scenes have been shortened. This was not a BBFC decision and seems to have been undertaken by the distributor for no good reason). Otherwise, a great way to spend an hour and a half.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2013
Xmas pressie for mum, maybe our fault but didn't realize wouldn't be able to play DVD in England. Shouldn't sell to us or should have BIG warning that it couldn't be played. Will be more aware next time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2013
My wife and I had a lot of fun watching this very funny DVD. It's an entertaining and in a very good sense old-fashioned plot. We both enjoyed it very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2010
This is a good well made film with an extremely good cast. It has comedy as well as drama and I recommend it for enjoyable relaxed viewing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2013
Great comady.Its was nice to watch this film again as i had not sean it for many years ago.They need to put it on a DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2016
another later career misfire from Blake Edwards. Garner too old too be romancing such a young girl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2017
dvd was in god condition and played well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)