Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
31
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2017
Memory lane led back to this album. There are some really good tracks but I was fresh from listening to 'Thick as a Brick' and 'Passion Play' and this does not match these 2 mighty pieces.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
Great sounds from the Tull .Superbly written songs from the pen of Mr Ian Anderson and his mighty band of minstrels .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Not their best from this era but still enjoyable. Title tack is the highlight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
For me this has always been the ultimate Jethro Tull album, maybe because it was also my introduction to the band back in 1976. Usually the first album you discover by an artist whom you decide has something worthwhile to offer will always hold a special place.

This is an album which tells a story of the die hard old rocker who is out of sync with the world around him. Each song is a part of his story. The main character Ray cannot adjust to the changing fashions around him. He still wears his hair too long, his jeans too tight, a death head belt buckle and liked his ale too light. He lives yesterday's dreams. Reminisces about fairground battles where the local lads were given a hiding, about coffee bars and The Shadows playing FBI, about Charlie Parker and Jack Kerouac and his other heroes.

The album opens with Ray entering a TV quiz and winning the star prize. As a result he is recognized from his 15 minuets of fame by a girl who takes a shine to him but regards him as outdated and crude and a bit of rough. She finally stands him up. He realises that he has gone from a dead beat to an old greaser. Ray thinks about his life and how he was once someone. To cheer himself up he decides to go for one final run on his bike. Transport was once a Harley then a Bonneville and he still likes his bikes. Just one more burn up the A1 by Scotch Corner at over the ton, but Ray looses it. However Ray survives his crash and after recovering in hospital discovers that his style has come back into fashion and he is a fashion icon.

If you have the original vinyl pressing of the album you will find that the story relating to the tracks on the album are presented in comic book form within the album 'gate fold'. A superb concept album celebrating a past age and for my money the best Jethro Tull album ever.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2005
A concept album from JT with good tunes.
A bit of fun to lighten your day.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2007
The 1970's were Tull's decade for great music and this is no exception. Whilst "Heavy Horses" will always be my favourite since it was that cd that re-awakened my interest in Tull, "Too Old ...." is certainly the most played. From the opening blast of "Quiz Kid" and witty "Crazed Institution" to the sublime "Taxi Grab" and title track, this is a classic Tull record. But for me, "Big Dipper" is one of the finest fun tracks ever penned by anyone. Top marks
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2009
This is where a life long love affair with Tull began, way back in 1976. A friend of mine played me this album several times over a few weeks, and to be honest it took me a few listens to appreciate it, first only liking the title track and then gradually everything track by track. I later got it my wn copy for Christmas and I must have driven my parents and brother mad playing it over and over again, in over 30 years I have never tired of it.Its an album which I can listen to time and time again, as it is so well structured and performed.

Strangely I was oblivious to the negative reaction that this album got from many of Tulls fans and critics alike, as in my opinion it sits very nicely in between the classic 1975 offering "Minstrel in the Gallery" and the start of Ian's love of country pursuits and the "Songs from the Wood" album which followed in 1977.

Too Old to Rock n Roll too young to Die has always been one of my favorite Tull albums from arguably the strongest line up, Tull ever had (and there have been some rather strong line ups over 40 odd years)with Ian Anderson supported by Martin Barre on guitar, John Glascock on bass (his first outing) John Evan on Keyboards and Barrymore Barlow on drums.

As other reviewers have mentioned, this was originally planned to be a stage show, using the music, and you can see how this would have worked by the strip cartoon which graces the middle of the album sleeve. I think this might have worked a couple of years earlier, but at the time this was released, there was a new movement happening either side of the pond as the first signs of Punk Rock appeared and the "natural" backlash against the "dinosaurs" of rock began to show (the tipping point)... any band linked to prog rock got an instant berating from the younger journalists (what happened to the journalists that had previously loved those classic rock bands..did they all get fired at the same time, did they all suddenly turn their back on clasic rock and embrace the new scene...? Possibly because the music scene was dominated by pop/teen magazines and weekly publications such as the NME, Sounds and Melody Maker, it left no room for the classic bands which had dominated the last 7 years of rock music. I doubt that could hapen now, as monthly magazines such as The Word are designed for a wider audience with probably a higher demographic.

Anyway, back to the album, its a concept album about Ray Lomas an old rocker who early on (Quizz Kid) gets his fifteen minutes of fame, before his life slides back to normal, this makes Ray look at his life, his friends and his future. It also has a couple of excellent bonus songs, A small cigar and the brilliant underated Strip Cartoon, which really should have made the original album cut.

Classic Tull, performing Classic rock from one of the strongest and interesting periods of music, forget the 60's, to me the 70's is the decade where we had some of the most interesting sounds ever created and some of the worlds greastest and best selling albums ever made. I cannot honestly say if this is the best album Tull ever made, but I can tell you this, its right up there with them and to me will always be amongst my favorite albums of all time. Too Old to Rock n Roll is a classic just like Dark Side of the Moon, The Lamb Lies Down or Hotel California, this is another timeless album one you may not have heard of but one which should not be ignored. A great place to start if you are not sure where too with Jethro Tull and at this price its not going to be much of a risk either.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
Aqualung was a long time favourite LP to borrow from friends ...

Too Old To Rock was the first and apart from a history collection the only Tull recording I have felt moved to buy.

A good concept, nicely written story and great lyrics, Ian Anderson on great form and the highly talented Martin Barre playing in a powerful by restrained manner ......

Sadly the vinyl has worn away over the year but the crackles pops and hiss add to the poignancy of the Chequered Flag as it sweeps across the oil-slick track
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
Like many Tull fans, I consider this album to be one of their weaker '70s efforts. I can't help thinking that was partly due to the mixing of the original album, which was very low, and which robbed what was a fairly quiet album anyway of any dynamism. This remaster has at least addressed the latter point and it's now a much pleasenter listening experience. You don't have to strain to hear (or twiddle with nobs) nor do you have the feeling that something isn't quite right, which I always had with the original release. Consequently you can just concentrate on the music and it really isn't half-bad. Of course the remastering hasn't changed the songs and they're never going to match those on the other '70s classic albums, but it does allow you to appreciate them more. There's definitely enough good music on the album to have it in your collection, especially at this price.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
By 1976, Jethro Tull had settled into a very comfortable groove and were producing some very enjoyable albums. This 1976 release is perhaps not one of their strongest but, even so, there are a number of really good slabs of rock including 'Quiz Kid', 'Crazed Institution' and the sublime title track. An interesting concept album, any fan of Tull's 1970's output has to have this release simply to complete the set.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)