Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
73
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2015
Probably my favourite Tull album and this is just an amazing package. I love the 5.1 mix and the bonus disc (although it seems to me like the recording is playing too slowly - surely the band didn't play that slow back then?!)
I wish they could find the rest of the live footage on the bonus disc - the one song we get is incredible, it would be so good to see the rest.
Still, overall this is highly recommended, as are all the recent 40th Anniversary reissues.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2016
I bought this CD to replace my vinyl original, so I knew the album but hadn't listened to it in years. I loved hearing it again, partly because it was a nostalgia trip, and partly because I finally heard the subtleties of the music I hadn't appreciated when listening to the record through cheap speakers. In its sound and content, it's close to Thick As A Brick or A Passion Play, but divided into songs (albeit some long ones) and more 'pop'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
Really surprised me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2002
This is the album that launched a new era for Jethro Tull. After the excesses of Thick As A Brick and A Passion Play, Ian Anderson embraces the softer side of his lyric writing. The title track, a self-effacing and down-to-Earth laugh at the idea of rock stardom, shines better than ever in its crystal-clear remaster, but it is just an opener to a string of beautifully crafted songs. The epic Baker Street Muse has been broken down into its constituent parts and they can all stand alone, as well as together, perfectly well.
Martin Barre gets to rock with his guitar on Black Satin Dancer which twists, fades and climaxes with the triumphant orchestral work of David Palmer.
Summerday Sands - originally the B-side of the Minstrel In The Gallery single, and held by many to be one of Tull's finest, is a rare love song from Anderson with a wry and slightly bitter ending.
Another notable bonus track is Pan Dance, an enchanting flute piece with a background of strings that can carry you away on its melody.
This CD will be on every Jethro Tull fan's shopping list, but it also serves as an introduction to the band in that it encapsulates many of their multi-faceted styles in one collection. Beauty with an edge.
33 Comments| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2016
Dolby and DTS stereo and surround sound. Not one of my favorites, but it's a great job, although is not a dvd audio or SACD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
The remixed version by Steve Wilson is definitly noticeable better than the previous cd releases. Clarity and soundstage show an immediate improvement making the hole album sound better. If you're a fan of this album than it is a must buy, and if you haven't yet listened to the album this should be an obvious first choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Minsteral in the gallery is a solid album by jethro tull from 1975. Steven Wilson has used his magic to transform this mid 1970s recording into a fresh sounding masterpiece. The live CD/DVD is exceptional except the bizarre ending in Aqualung with the violin outtro with an intensive drone that ruins the song, Jakko should have mixed this out.
The booklet is a great read, took me ages to finish!
The 5.1 mix is very enjoyable as is the bonus tracks.
Overall a great package once again.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
Well I have purchased the deluxe four disc edition due to a nostalgia trip. I first had this album on cassette in early 1979 and purchased again on CD about 2000. Listening to it today on the CD only, from the new set it seems there are more elements heard on the title track and the general feel about the sound of the whole album is that it is brighter. Reading in the accompanying book, it states that some critics felt it was more of a solo album and listening to the disc before reading this, I now had the same feeling too. There are a number of tracks that do feature the group, but the interplay that was on display on say a previous album such as “A Passion Play” is not so prominent, I love this album still and greatly appreciate the title track, “Baker St Muse and "One White Duck / 010 = Nothing at All".

What makes this box set more exciting is that there is a live recording of this particular version of the band from Paris in July 1975. There has never been a full live concert from this version of Jethro Tull (“Critique Oblique” from this concert was used on the four CD 25th Anniversary box set).

The additional tracks on the main CD are okay, but nothing to get too excited about. As Ian Anderson states, the live version of “Aqualung” is far too ponderous.

A worthy addition for seasoned fans and newcomers as it comes at a good price too.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
Huge is the word have been a Jethro Tull fanatic for ages and ages this is their number 4 release in deluxe super deluxe editions, once again a great package the original album remastered and including a 5.1 surround sound of the album, and a live concert too, although the recording at times is a little raw it's great to have. Once again similar to some of the other recent box sets a huge glossy 80 page book history of the anniversary
edition and what i do enjoy is when Ian talks about each track on the album and how it came about great stuff from the legends
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
I've always loved this album from the first time I rushed into town to buy it upon it's `75 release. 40 years on there's nary the slightest pop or click on my treasured vinyl. Other previous posts have made summations of the tracks themselves, but with this particular album I'm more interested in the sound reproduction factors. Firstly, Steven Wilson's unacknowledged brief must have been to make Anderson's vocals slightly louder. Indeed, that's the case. I never too keen with the 5.1 surround separated channels gimmick stuff, it's just too unnatural to my ears, but I have to say that the stereo imagery is superb & in particular the clarity & resonance of Barlow's drums. The icing on the cake though, & I'm no orchestral buff really, but Palmer's string arrangements are very much more pronounced and hold a presence that previously was just buried in the mix. They now sweep in or rise up as the occasion demands and hold their musical intentions like it's almost an entirely new listening experience. It's a very well produced record in the first instance, say as opposed to the previous WarChild, which I always thought was too muddy but could be pinned down to that bloody unrelenting saxophone, but Wilson hasn't attempted to warp history and has simply lifted everything into a respectable sonic equilibrium.
I'm deducting one star simply & only because more film footage could have been included.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)