Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
39
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2003
... well I had. Superb stuff from a maybe out of fashion performer. Pure entertainment all the way and if you don't enjoy Candyman you ain't got no heart left.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2016
The reason I have only given it 2 stars is not that the songs on the cd are bad, infact there are some great songs on it. BEWARE however if like me you buy this thinking you are getting the fabulous song "I gotta be me" heard recently in a tv advert as, although billed on the cd, it is less than 10 seconds at the end and is instrumental only. Very dissappointed as only bought the cd for that record and the other songs were to be a bonus. DO NOT FALL INTO THIS TRAP.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
This was just the job for me - a compact collection of Sammy Davis jnr. I'm not so much a huge fan as an interested listener but in my humble opinion, no one can do Mr Bojangles like he did Mr Bojangles. I love The Candy Man and Have A Little Talk With Myself but to be honest they're all pretty good songs (not sure about this version of John Shaft though). All in all well worth a punt for the more casual listener.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2010
a great entertainer but also a much underrated singer listen to candyman and mr bojangles this is popular singing at its best not forgetting the people tree another great track
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2011
listen to chris evens radio 2 every friday at 8 am he plays this love it starts my weekend..
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Has great tracks, very good quality remastering, but only 11 tracks !!!!!
I wanted a CD with Mr Bojangles and this fitted the bill, so I bought it, I could not at the time find another CD with this track, so it was a case of had no choice.
SFJ's singing is as always brilliant, all tracks in stereo, so apart from only 11 tracks an excellent CD and A FIVE STAR PERFORMANCE.
Since buying this CD I stumbled across a good alternative "Definitive Collection [Original recording remastered, Import]" this offer much better value for money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
Sammy Davis JR CD, arrived very quickly in post, lovely cd of Sammy, his lovely smooth voice how songs should be sung. Would highly recommend this if you like the rat pack or just easy listening music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
bought this for only a few track,s ...wasn,t let down by those, however the rest of the cd had a padded out feel about it, the record company obviously used a few well known tracks to sell an albums worth of sammy stuff.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
REALLY ONLY BOUGHT THIS FOR THE SONG "CANDYMAN" BUT HAVING LISTEN TO ALL OF THE OTHERS ON THIS C.D. I REALLY LIKE IT MANY OF THE SONGS I HAD,NT HEARD FOR YEARS, SUCH AS "MR BOJANGLES" AND "THE BIRTH OF THE BLUES" THIS COLLECTION OF SONGS ARE SOME OF HIS BEST WORK. IN MY OPINON HE REALLY IS ONE OF THE GREATEST AMERICAN ENTERTAINERS.I CERTAINLY WAS VERY PLEASED WITH MY PURCHASE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
Bought this mainly for the "Candy Man" track which has become a bit of a cult thing, with everyone singing along to it at Christmas. But the rest of the album is just what you'd expect from an old pro like Sammy Davis - some old fashioned songs with a hint of smokey joe and a loosened tie. You get the picture, don't you ?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£13.32
£9.41

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)