Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
103
4.4 out of 5 stars
Forever Delayed
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 October 2013
A glorious collection of many of the Manic's classic singles including the brilliant 'Motorcycle Emptiness' and the clutch of excellent singles from the 'Everything Must Go' album including the title track as well as 'A Design For Life' and 'Kevin Carter'. In truth, I would probably have liked to have had a 2CD collection which covered all the hits but, even so, this is definitely worth buying at a low/competitive price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Disc in mint condition, case had damage to corner. Worth the money though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2007
Forever Delayed is OK. It essentially compiles the Manics' most accessible singles but its trump card is that a quarter of the twenty songs have never previously been available on any album. I don't have a problem with the tracklisting. There's a time a place for everything, and the place for The Intense Humming Of Evil isn't on a Greatest Hits. I also think that the 'radio anthem' side of the Manics isn't celebrated enough, and it's telling that their most cherished song Motorcycle Emptiness feels totally at home snuggled up to You Stole The Sun From My Heart and Australia.

The main flaw with the collection is that they've had to edit quite a lot of the tracks to fit all twenty on. In some instances this means including the radio edits, in others the radio edits have been edited (!). This lets it down, and it's also now two albums out of date, so hopefully one day we'll get a more comprehensive Manics primer. I like the format of the Pet Shop Boys compilation Pop Art, with one disc containing their big radio anthems and the other gathering together their more 'arty' side. It would work well for the Manics - a band who can never please everyone.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 May 2015
Released in 2002, this was the first Manic Street Preachers compilation, featuring two new songs, 'There by the Grace of God' (released as the album's single) and 'Door to the River', and three singles that were never released on any album. With five rare songs, this should be incentive enough for big fans to want to own this, but please be aware of the limited edition that is also available, Forever Delayed (Limited Edition) which includes this album, as well as a bonus CD containing 13 remixes. A DVD, Manic Street Preachers: Forever Delayed [DVD], sporting 30 music videos, is also out there.

This standard edition is a good introduction to this Welsh alternative rock band's work, with 18 major hit singles, including two UK number ones: 'If You Tolerate This Your Children Will Be Next' and 'The Masses Against the Classes'. Three songs from the band's debut album 'Generation Terrorists' make the cut, two from the second album 'Gold Against the Soul', one from the third 'The Holy Bible', four from the fourth 'Everything Must Go', the same for the fifth 'This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours', and one from 'Know Your Enemy', album number six released in 2001. The remaining tracks are the five I've previously noted. The tracks aren't presented chronically, but in an order which is pleasing to listen to.

A fine single CD which captures the mainstream chart highlights of a great band who have had a lengthy career, which spans back to the mid 1980s. This is a healthy mix of old and new, with the beautiful 'Motorcycle Emptiness', naturally included.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2002
Let me just start by venting my anger about all these people who slag off this greatest hits package because its 'too commercial', and theres not enough from the Holy Bible on it. I too wish it included more songs from pre-Everything Must Go. But, this is a greatest hits album, not a best of compilation. If you want that, get your copies of the first three albums and make a tape/cd of your favourite tracks.
I'm usually not bothered by greatest hits albums, unless its of a band whose albums i dont own, and of whom i just want a taster. However, i will be buying this for the new songs and the remix cd. As another reviewer points out, they could have put b-sides on, and although i haven't heard them all, the manics b-sides i have heard have been pretty poor. b-sides are songs that aren't good enough to make it onto an album.
The songs that have been included on this album are essentially the greatest hits. complaining that the manics have sold out by putting too much recent stuff on it isn't going to make a difference. the manics aren't suddenly going to recall all the cd's, burn them in a big skip and come up with a compilation of the first three albums and a design for life. if you dont like the album, dont buy it. it's like people who get offended by a tv programme, but insist on sitting through so that they can get even more offended and complain a lot. In about ten years time there will probably be another greatest hits compilation including the stuff they do in the future. That will include even less old stuff, so please just realise that it is not 1994 anymore. dressing like the cheapest tart (whether you are male or female) in the world does not make you a better manics fan than someone who has only got into them in the last two/three years. There are many different types of manics fan, and this compilation was never going to please everyone. However, i believe that this is the best the manics could have done, and there is enough here to please everyone but a sullen few who refuse to grow up.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2003
For someone relatively new to MSP (first picked up on them in 2000), but more recently familiar with the Richey-era, "Forever Delayed" makes a great starting point for anyone curious about the band. If I had followed the band from very early in the nineties, I would probably also bemoan the lack of songs from "The Holy Bible" in favor of the "Everything Must Go" and "This Is My Truth" period. Just the same, this collection provides a good balance of past and present. Besides, it's not as if the beautiful "Motorcycle Emptiness" had been left off the running order. Even the tracks from the misguided mess "Know Your Enemy" fit fine here, though I'd have to agree with several reviews that "Ocean Spray" and "Let Robeson Sing" would have been welcome. The best surprise, though, would be "There By The Grace Of God", a fantastic single that shows the band could be back on the upswing.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2010
Out for over 2 years and no reviews? Help, as an MSP dabbler, but not a diehard fan, I've no idea how good this is. However, it does contain the best songs (in my opinion) from the 2 albums I own ("Everything..." and "This is my Truth..."), without any filler from those CDs. Suspect that this is just what the dabbler wants, a distillation of their best work, all on one collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)