Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(3 star). Show all reviews
on 9 May 2008
I'm a fan of Peter Davison's Doctor, but I'm afraid that I find this story to be a bit of a disappointment. Davison, as always is on good form, but the plot seems to be a bit of a mess. We have the Daleks creating duplicates in order to invade earth. There is Davros being resurrected and seeking to discover a cure for a virus, which is lethal to the Daleks. Davros is then attempting to create a new race of Daleks who will be obedient to him. Then, suddenly we have the Daleks creating duplicates of the Doctor and his companions in order to invade Gallifrey!
There are some fine scenes in the serial and a good supporting cast. The best of these being Maurice Colborne as the ruthless Lytton. This is also the first time we see Terry Molloy in the part of Davros. Molloy tries hard and has an impressive go at the part, but he cannot match Michael Wisher's definitive performance from Genesis of the Daleks. At the end we say goodbye to Tegan. I was never a big fan of hers, but I feel that her departure is just a little too abrupt.
There are some extras on the DVD, the most interesting being interviews with Janet Fielding and the then producer John-Nathan Turner. Overall, this was a slight disappointment. However, the Daleks and Davros would be back for two more outings in the classic series, which were of a far better quality.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2012
It is Peter Davison's time to meet the daleks, and it's not impressive. Resurrection is a good story let down by everything else, bad acting, pathetic action scenes and tatty daleks. The Doctor arrives in London to discover killer policemen and a bomb disposal squad that have been despatched to an old warehouse to investigate strange events. The warehouse is the portal to a time corridor that is linked to a dalek ship, where the crew have discovered Davros who has been in hibernation since the Movellans defeated the daleks in a war. The war has been over a very long time, however the daleks haven't found a cure to the Movellan virus, which is why they have resurrected their creator. A terrible story saved by Davros.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2010
Opinion seems to be divided about this Doctor Who story which was The Fifth Doctor's only encounter with the sadistic salt pots from Skaro. Some people regard "Resurrection Of The Daleks" as a classic Doctor Who story but others think that it's a load of old nonsense. To be fair, I think that "Resurrection...." falls somewhere in the middle. It is certainly not a classic and is not even one of the better stories to feature The Daleks but it's not all that bad either.

I think one of the problems is that the two previous Dalek stories - "Genesis Of The Daleks" and "Destiny Of The Daleks" were so good that it is hard for "Resurrection...." to live up to these and is ultimately a bit disappointing after these two great stories from the 1970s. Another problem I have is with Peter Davison as The Doctor. Don't get me wrong, Peter is a nice bloke and a brilliant actor and he has been in some great stuff on tv. He is fine as The Doctor but I don't think he is one of the best Doctors. I grew up watching Jon Pertwee and Tom Baker battling The Daleks and other foes and I thought they were great. I thought that Jon and Tom were hard acts to follow and I found it difficult to accept Peter Davison in the role. I do know some people though who think that Peter is the best Doctor so it's all down to personal opinion and preference I suppose.

"Resurrection...." does have its good points. The supporting cast is a real bonus and features well-known faces such as Rodney Bewes, Rula Lenska and Leslie Grantham. Del Henney, who was in the films "Straw Dogs" and "Brannigan", also appears as Colonel Archer. This story also sees the return of Davros, The Daleks' evil creator, after spending a few years in cold storage, so to speak. The scenes featuring both The Doctor and Davros are always exhilarating and this adventure proves to be a very significant one for The Doctor's assistant, Tegan (Janet Fielding).

So if you like The Daleks and you are a fan of Peter Davison as The Doctor then you'll probably want to check out this adventure from the 1980s.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2008
Sciptwriter Eric Saward was under a lot of pressure writing this adventure: he had a prickly relationship with series producer John Nathan-Turner, Who had lost viewers and fans had been severely disappointed in the Daleks' last outing in "Destiny of the Daleks".Therefore it is understandible that this effort tries far too hard for its own good.Its convoluted plot and hysterical pace unfortunately doesn't suit the Daleks' strengths: brooding menace and the prospect of sudden, violent death.

From its grim openning where a ragbag of slaves are gunned down this is an action-packed but rather charmless romp. The high body count, gunfire and the use of disturbing flesh-eating chemical weaponry reveal the show's insecurity due to, and therefore subsequent embracing of, the mid 80's fashion for dark, disturbing sci-fi. This the age that gave birth to "The Terminator" and Who is at heart a very dark show but not really an action series and the clumsy combat scenes show this all too well. In addition, Saward was a keen admirer of Phillip Hinchliffe's tenure as series producer and scriptwriter Robert Holmes' contributions to the Who canon both of whom liked to send little viewing tykes running to hide behind the sofa.The grim tone cries out for black humour but none is present. Molloy's portrayal of Davros is great but this particular adventure is really a waste of the old schemer and Davidson's Doctor looks rather out of place in what is really a souped-up Blake's 7 story. Rodney Bewes is poorly miscast as a slave with a secret and the ridiculous helmets worn by the Dalek troops invokes a crude and obscene insult that is very popular in today's Britain.

Despite these flaws the direction is zippy and you cannot claim that effort hasn't been made to create a classic but unfortunately the result is light without heat and shouting but no message to convey. A watchable, dissapointing but ambitious, average adventure.

The commentary is great and a documentary on the locations used is okay but really not a lot more needs to be said. A good try but not enough craft or guile.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
As a huge fan of the early eighties Who era, I was somewhat disappointed by this adventure. Davison is engaging as ever, but the story is limited compared to the other classic Dalek stories such as 'Genesis'. The grey London back drop does add an interesting vibe, but this adventure has not matured well unlike some of the true vintage available in the shows history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2010
For me it's odd watching this one again. In 1983 I was 4, Peter Davison is the first Doctor Who I can remember and this is the earliest episode I can remember seeing at the time. As I was, at the time, 4. It was Dr Who and it had bad scary Daleks and shouty naughty Davros (incidentally, the info text in Doctor Who: Revelation of the Daleks [1985] [DVD] suggests that the reaction at the time to this one was positive).

When the RTD reboot happened, then, and I found it to be mostly good, I started re-watching classic episodes (indeed, catching up on ones that I had never seen before, as they were before my time).

I'd seen the reviews of this, and not all were positive - which was a little worrying for me - so I put off watching it for some time. Eventually I did

First, the DVD extras are OK - nothing to write home about (they're covered well enough in other reviews here).

The story itself is pretty grim, in tone and how silly it actually is. It does have some good points though:

Lytton is a good character - he was also good in Doctor Who - Attack of the Cybermen [DVD] [1985].

Tegan leaving is genuinely upsetting and Peter Davison, as ever, does well (he was my first Who, yes, but I think he is genuinely a good one).

So, if you'd have asked me at the time - it would've been 5 stars. Now, it's a 3. A decent enough piece of 80s Who, which for all that it doesn't make a whole lot of sense - mainly, I think, because there's too much going on. The whole Davros creating a new race of more obedient Daleks mixed with the Movellan virus and the plan to create human duplicates...well, it all ends up a little confused.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
Watching Resurrection is akin to watching the 96 FA cup Final. It has a brief moment of magic (several) but everything surrounding it is just very grim to sit through. This is a serial which could have been outstanding (yes I do mean that!). Davison's performance here is brilliant- matched only by Maurice Colbourne's cold and callous Lytton. Davison's character range here is a wonderful prelude to the Caves of Androzani. Moreover, this is a serial which re-establishes the Daleks. These are bad Daleks, very bad Daleks; Daleks which will kill you for no reason other than they can. For the first time in a long while the Daleks have a sadistic edge to them which has not been seen since the 60s (I leave out Genesis purely because the Daleks don't feature in it much, though they are badass in that one too). Davros is also a well played balance of quiet and ranting, and the staredown in the final episode is brilliant. On the production side the serial can rank fairly high as well. Robinson's direction is majestic in places, and the set designs are good- the grim warehouse, the dalek ship, the old space station. The story itself is also not devoid of merit, there are some very good ideas floating around: the duplicates, the Movellan Virus, the double-crossing (and double-double crossing). The problems can be summed up in 2 words: narrative, characters. The story falls apart drastically in episodes 3 and 4- too many built up points are left unexplained, and quite a few elements are nonsensical (the Companion duplicates, Stein's character personality, Turlough's meandering around the Dalek ship). More importantly, the number of ideas and their combination with a companion departure means that the narrative itself is swamped by its own ambition; each idea is sound, but putting all of them together makes the serial unwieldy- in a similar way to Army of Ghosts/Doomsday. The other big weakness, which helps the collapse of the narrative, is characters. The narrative may have been more palatable had Saward written some solid, and well acted characters. As it is the story is crammed full of apathetic ship crew, voiceless mercenaries, and canon fodder soldiers- only Lytton and Stein really stand out aside from Davison and Davros. Furthermore, the wooden ciphers written by Saward translate into wooden performances. None of them seem excited by what they are playing and as such they generate no conviction in what they are doing, helping to weaken the story in the process. On the extras side, since it is an early release, the extras are fairly sparse. The location documentary is informative, but a making of documentray would have been preferable if limited to one or the other. With sparse extras what is needed is a cracking story, as it is all that is there is a frustrating one. If you are a fan of Davison, or concentrate on the good things that the story does, then get this DVD. If not, then you might be better off borrowing it off a friend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2011
I've now watched three dr who serials written by script editor Eric Saward, the others being 'Earthshock' and 'Revalation of the Daleks', and I have to say, I agree with Eric. I personally think 'Resurrection' is on par with 'The Chase' as the worst dalek story in dr who's history, at least until last years 'Victory of the Daleks'.
First of all, the plot. 'Resurrection' is a very dark tale, with only the main cast and one baddie (latery revelled to be two) left alive by the end, much like Saward's previous script, Earthshock. However, whilst Earthshoch had a good, strong plot, 'Resurrection' just simply doesn't. Whilst some of the plans that the daleks come up with are good ones, i.e. take over the earth using duplicates, using a doctor duplicate to assasinate the time lord high council, by craming them all into one serial, it just adds to the rushed feel of the plot. From about mid way through episode 2 onwards, you don't really have any idea what is actually happening.
Secondly,a lot of things in the serial just don't work. Why does Stien just hang around in the warehouse until the tardis shows up? Why does Turlough spend half the story wandering around the dalek ship? Why does Tegan spend half the story lying in a makeshift bed complaining? Why does the doctor spend half the story in the warhouses, before suddenly deciding that they need to go to the dalek ship? Why did the daleks hide samples of the virus that's killing them on 20th century earth, just a short time before their past selves invade it(Dalek invasion of Earth)? Come to think of it, how did the daleks get hold of said samples in the first place?
Thirdly, acting. With the exception of the main cast, and Terry Molly in his first apperence as Davros, and Maurice Colbourne as Lytton, the acting is shockingly poor. Just look at the number of exterminations in the story that are completly overdone.
On the plus side, the sets are relatibly well done, the daleks voice's aren't too bad (apart from the supreme dalek), and...that's about it.
Honsetly, unless your a devoute dr who fan who want's to complete his collection, don't by this. It would deffiatly put newcomers to dr who off the classic series.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2009
this was not so bad but for me i didnt take intrest i like the dlakes alot this one is sort of bad though wouldnt buy it is i were you
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2002
This is one of the last of the Peter Davidson storys and it shows. While the effects are much improved. It is also plagued by over use of the past which was to dog the baker Era. The return of the daleks is well handled though the fact that Darvos has to tag along every time is a bit annoying. While Terry Moloy has improved over the guy from Destiny of the Darleks. He is no where near as good as first time out and sounds more like a Dalek then ever. Come on this guy died once can't he burn in hell in peace.
Basicly it's a good picture especially Janet Fieldings final bow as Tegan (which I won't spoil here) but needed more work. Ironicly it was the Colin Baker "Revelation of the Daleks" that was to restore the old foes to true glory.
Not the best but you will enjoy it even if not as much as the other Darvos/Daleks (Notably Genisis and Remembrance). My advice see this then go find a copy of Remembrance of the Daleks and marvel at the improvement.
Enjoy it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse