Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
28
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2014
This was my first ever Patty Griffin CD and it was worth it!
There is something so engaging about her songs, her singing and her arrangements!
I continually play this album and it still is so pleasing to hear!
This has encouraged me to delve a bit more Patty's catalogue and I now feel that I am a fan of hers!
I have been amazed who have covered some of her songs but hearing her sing adds something to hearing these songs!
Have a listen, and you may be amazed
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 March 2016
Brilliant album from a much underrated musician. There is not a track on this album that I don't like though Rain is my absolute favourite. Very glad I bought it...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
I bought this CD as the CD I had of it was a bad copy but I liked it so bought a second.
It's simply a very good collection of very good songs.
I've got a few other CDs by Patti Griffin and in my opinion 1,000 Kisses is her best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2002
After her last proposed release 'Silver Bell' was shelved by A&M Records (the second time this fate has befell her), it's all the more remarkable that Patty Griffin has returned with fresh enthusiasm and a fantastic album which ought to more than satisfy critics and fans.
Blessed with a stunningly powerful and accurate voice and revered as one of the finest female singer songwriters around by such lumaries as Emmylou Harris, Steve Earle and Mary Chapin Carpenter, Griffin has produced a largely acoustic-based album, reminiscent of but far more refined than her debut 'Living With Ghosts'.
The artistic freedom of signing for a smaller label has resulted in this record having a looser, more instinctive feel than her two previous outings (not short on quality themselves), and the songs here have room to breathe in the uncluttered arrangements.
This new approach has also resulted in the inclusion of three cover versions, Springsteen's 'Stolen Car' the most notable, but it's on Griffin's own compositions 'Rain', 'Be Careful' and 'Making Pies' that '1000 Kisses' truly shines.....
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 March 2013
This is a stunning low-key treasure trove of country,jazzy blues and Tex-Mex styles, performed with real heart and soul by singer guitarist Patty Griffin and her very fine acoustic band. The whole project has a live in the studio feel, as a result this music sounds honest and stripped down as if we were witnessing the band live in some club.

Patty is a beautiful singer ,her voice conveys emotion in an understated, yet passionate fashion that reveals an inner strength that will suggests that adversity will be overcome, despite the pain and loss.Songs like 'Nobodies Crying' with their spare acoustic arrangements allow to Patty to dig into the lyric, bringing out the poignancy of her words in such a fashion that only a stoney heart could resist. This is a fine album then-beautifully crafted songs and a cover of Springsteen's 'Stolen Car' that almost outshines the original. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2003
When Patty walked on stage of the Halifax Victoria Theatre (steady), I wondered what this dimunitive lady was doing as it was a Billy Bragg concert. There followed what was a short but powerful and skillfull demonstration of the art of solo performance. It was a 'must buy' moment for some of Patty's music and hence this review of 1000 Kisses.
The music is unerringly simple in its sound and draws the listener in with a mix of melodic music with the occasional twanginy guitar fused with poignant and personal lyrics that build in intensity during each song.
Patty's own songs are about life, love and death, whilst skillfully avoiding any country music cliches. This is no Dolly Parton ye ha merchant.
There is a fabulous cover of a Springsteen song, which I couldn't recall having heard on the original album (20 years ago and never liked it).
The big surprise comes from the cover of a traditional latin number Mil Besos which jars the mood refreshingly well.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2005
Griffin's third album, following the acoustic folk "Living With Ghosts" and hardening rock "Flaming Red", and stylistically different yet. Studio recorded, mainly acoustic, with a more subtle and intimate production than her previous release, it's still Griffin's voice that captures your ear and mood ... her voice and its ability to embrace the words she sings. Some songs emerge from your speakers like spam on your computer, or junk mail on your doorstep: Patty Griffin has the ability to deliver her message in person. When you hear her sing, you want to unwrap the meaning and savour every note.
The material is just outstanding. In the main her own songs - she offers a magnificent cover of Springstein's 'Stolen Car' and an emotive 'Mil Besos' - the melodic quality and poetry of Griffin's words deliver track after track which you simply want to listen to again and again. She creates an extraordinary mood of attentiveness. As a listener, you listen - this is not background music.
Patty Griffin is a storyteller. This album is exemplary in its ability to deliver stories - would-be songwriters should listen to Griffin, learn how she crafts words and phrases and builds them into a compelling narrative. Oh, of course, it would help to have as fine a voice as hers, or her sense of melody and skill in delivering an arrangement, but time and again you come back to the fact that Patty Griffin writes exceedingly good songs.
And they're songs with real meaning, not commercial pap. Griffin has an eye for the detail of emotion and a perception of the inconsequential and routine, recognising that they can tell you more about people than a glamorous façade or the apparently obvious. She can explore pain and sadness without ever becoming maudlin or depressing. Indeed, her songs always seem to elevate, to enable you to face the world with a greater sense of optimism and expectation of human worth.
Griffin's voice and words touch you in a way few other performers manage. The wonderful 'Be Careful' reminds you about the fragility and strength of human dignity and the need to respect others. Ultimately, that's the message which comes across on "1000 Kisses" - respect for Griffin, and a recognition of the respect we owe others. Absolutely superb!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2002
Patty Griffin is a hugely underated artist. Fans of the very "in" Ryan Adams should be checking her out. In the same way that Ryan's recent album of demos showed the enormity of the mans talent, Patty's stripped down raw debut, "Living with Ghosts" was an astonishing achievement of just a gal and her acoustic guitar. Songs like the opener "Moses" were jaw droppingly strong vehicles for the best voice in modern music these days.
The follow up "Flaming Red" had a much rockier, electric feel and whilst there were no fans screaming "judas" at her gigs, something was lost with the addition of other players and electricity. So fans of "Living with Ghosts" have been waiting for the true Patty Griffin to re-ermerge.
Here she is! If ever an album has crept out unannounced this is it. 1,000 Kisses was released in the States, but only available on import in Europe for some time. It's european release confirms what true Pattyphiles who bought the import already knew. She's back on form with acoustic guitars, stripped down songs of quality and meaning and that voice is allowed to soar again, unmolested by manic session men wigging out.
Class!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2005
Griffin's third album, following the acoustic folk "Living With Ghosts" and hardening rock "Flaming Red", and stylistically different yet. Studio recorded, mainly acoustic, with a more subtle and intimate production than her previous release, it's still Griffin's voice that captures your ear and mood ... her voice and its ability to embrace the words she sings. Some songs emerge from your speakers like spam on your computer, or junk mail on your doorstep: Patty Griffin has the ability to deliver her message in person. When you hear her sing, you want to unwrap the meaning and savour every note.
The material is just outstanding. In the main her own songs - she offers a magnificent cover of Springstein's 'Stolen Car' and an emotive 'Mil Besos' - the melodic quality and poetry of Griffin's words deliver track after track which you simply want to listen to again and again. She creates an extraordinary mood of attentiveness. As a listener, you listen - this is not background music.
Patty Griffin is a storyteller. This album is exemplary in its ability to deliver stories - would-be songwriters should listen to Griffin, learn how she crafts words and phrases and builds them into a compelling narrative. Oh, of course, it would help to have as fine a voice as hers, or her sense of melody and skill in delivering an arrangement, but time and again you come back to the fact that Patty Griffin writes exceedingly good songs.
And they're songs with real meaning, not commercial pap. Griffin has an eye for the detail of emotion and a perception of the inconsequential and routine, recognising that they can tell you more about people than a glamorous façade or the apparently obvious. She can explore pain and sadness without ever becoming maudlin or depressing. Indeed, her songs always seem to elevate, to enable you to face the world with a greater sense of optimism and expectation of human worth.
Griffin's voice and words touch you in a way few other performers manage. The wonderful 'Be Careful' reminds you about the fragility and strength of human dignity and the need to respect others. Ultimately, that's the message which comes across on "1000 Kisses" - respect for Griffin, and a recognition of the respect we owe others. Absolutely superb!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2004
How did I survive before I discovered Patty?? She combines folk, country and lyrical depth to forge her own unique musical magic. Listen to "rain" to indulge your melancholic, introspective side, "mil besos" to feel uplifted and care-free or "tomorrow night" if you're just feeling plain nostalgic. My favourite track is "nobody's crying"; the lyrics express the fear and uncertainty you experience when a loved one dies, and the longing for their safe passage: "may you dream you are dreaming in a warm soft bed,/and may the voices inside you that fill you with dread/make the sound of thousands of angels instead". My only initial criticism was that her voice sometimes seems a little grating and insensitive, but eventually found this added a raw, emotional quality (best exemplified in "Living with Ghosts"). I recommend this album to anyone who has a soul! And then buy "living with ghosts"...that's an order! Let's hope "Impossible dream" lives up to its predecessors....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.56

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)