Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2002
Came to this product after a frustrating afternoon trying to install McFee.
Can only say this was a pleasure.
I have XP as my operating system and Norton installed first time, no conflicts contacted their web site & regirstered the product straight away (something McFee failed to do despite an afternoon uploading patches & two sessions with their tech people)
Intergrated with Explorer no problem.
All in a first rate progamme and first choice if you want something which installs first time from the box with no hassles.
0Comment| 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2003
I purchased my new computer in January and was disappointed to find that it had Norton Antivirus 2002 installed with only a short term licence for LiveUpdate. Why didn't Hewlett Packard put the 2003 program on?
I have used NAV on my desktop PC since 2000 and Symantec have seriously improved the interface on 2003 compared to earlier versions. I particularly like the way that it absorbs other Symantec programs when/if you buy them, e.g. firewall and systemworks. Everything comes together and operates efficiently to protect your computer.
Whether you like to tweek all the settings to your own fancy or, like me, prefer to accept the default settings, leaving the program to run in the background and do its work, NAV 2003 adjusts to your individual taste.
I like the easy way LiveUpdate keeps your files up to date without interrupting your main work. It is so forgettable that the program may almost be part of Windows itself.
I prefer to set NAV to carry out regular system checks - it has found little horrors on my system in the past and effortlessly deleted them. I wouldn't have known about it had I not selected the "Tell me if you find anything" option.
Overall, an excellent program that suits learners to professional useage and a "must have" for anyone using the Internet.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2003
An antivirus tool is a must for any computer connecting to the Internet and Norton’s Antivirus is one of the top two products in this field. You can not go wrong with this product and one year of free updates is included. By default updates are automatically downloaded by the LiveUpdate program or you can select to be notified when new updates are available. Norton Antivirus is very comprehensive and includes auto-protect (checks programs for viruses as they are run), scanning of both incoming and outgoing email, scanning of any Instant Messenger, regular hard disk scans and script blocking. The latter prompts you to confirm the action to be taken when a potentially dangerous script is run. As with any virus checking program it is worth temporarily disabling virus checking and script blocking when you are installing new programs to prevent potential installation problems.
If you don't have a firewall then Norton's Internet Security 2003 offers better value for money than buying separate antivirus and firewall packages.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2003
Norten AV has always been my prefered choice. It sits silently in the background watching your ports making sure nothing malicous gets through. E-mail scanning is automatic, during sending and recieving.
The system scan is slow, even on a 1.5ghz system, although that probably depends on the speed and size of your drive. Start the scan and go out for a beer. It'll be done by the time you get back.
Well worth the investment.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2003
I had Norton 2002 - when the time came to update I paid my £30 and heard no more - can no longer update via Live Update, cannot get a reply from Symantec and their online help is completely useless! Now have to buy a NEW antivirus package - thanks Norton!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2002
I recommend this to anyone who wishes to update their Anti virus software from symantec. The simple installation instructions included in the manual are a brilliant guide for novice pc users.
The installation wizard guides you through each step and will give you the option to access the correct help page at symantec if a problem should arise.
Brilliant, not sure how symantec will be able to improve on this version.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 November 2003
Let's not get technical here - it just isn't necessary.
The Norton franchise has long been regarded as a brand of choice for those PC owners wishing for an intuitive yet comprehensive solution. Norton AntVirus 2003 is probably the most advanced product on the market currently and it is certainly one of the easiest to install and operate.
The key? It will sit nice and quiet in the background and provide you with freedom from viruses, pretty much whatever your activity of choice. Best of all, it will automatically "phone home" each time you log-on to the Internet, helping to keep you one step ahead of those pesky virusseers by updating it's virus definition database.
If you are considering a solution to virusses, buy this. If you're not, buy this anyway before you get hit.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2003
A fantastic product. THroughout the years Symantech have strived to be the top dogs of home and corporate business / computer security, and with this product, they may well have reached their goal on the Anti-Virus front.
A few features:
- Comprehensive file scanning
- Fully editable
- Bloodhound technologyl; detects new viruses befor other companies even know they existed!
- LIve updates; keeping your virus definition "up-to date"
- Background protection
To go on would take me forever and I only have 1000 word :)
Seriously though, this is a product well made and designed with the home users in mind at nearly every stage. My only niggle is the fact that you must buy a new subscription service from symantech every 365 days to keep it updated against viruses. This however us worth it, as it only costs arounf £3.00 I believe.
A product not to be missed out on!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2003
This is the finest antivirus program I have used, and also the easiest to install and configure. Ignore those who have written about the program being difficult - the interface couldn't be easier. All you have to do is put ticks in boxes, all of which are there anyway by default.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2003
Don't dare install this product without planning to subscribe forever. I just talked to Symantec about their nag-ware popups which will occur after the product subscription runs out, as mind just did. They do not know how long you will get a daily reminder to renew. It will go on indefinitely. These guys know their virus stuff and use it to their best marketing advantage. If you love popups and spam you will love this product.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)