Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
8
4.1 out of 5 stars
Shostakovich: Music for the Film, The Gadfly
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 May 2015
This music has haunted me ever since I watched the 'Reilly Ace of Spies' series on DVD. Unfortunately the only music credit on the DVDs names Harry Rabinowitz as composer/conductor. This is not entirely true. While he may indeed have composed some of the incidental music - the main title is definitely the 'Romance' from 'The Gadfly' suite by Shostakovitch, so I am delighted to have found this CD. It is pure magic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
Brilliant recording. Promptly delivered. Well worth the money
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
I thought that is a CD. I can not play a cassette because that is not in my machine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
now rightly regarded as one of the 20th C most revered composers Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975) was by many accounts a conflicted,hugely cultured, nervous + accomplished composer of often seeringly intense, coded/double meaning Soviet era works. this cd of an all Russian cast performing one of Shostakovich's (DSCH) lesser known musical suite for the film " The Gadfly" (1955). a "Gadfly", (source: wikipedia :"a fly that annoys horses and other livestock, usually a horse-fly or a botfly , also - a social gadfly, a person who upsets the status quo")- again typical double edged DSCH making a subtley political point against the prevailing Soviet regime.

this cd on is well recorded, fresh in it performances by all concerned (Khactarturian /USSR CSO from 1962) yet only for total DSCH obsessive need buy this slight hack work of typically largely melodic authorities pleasing faux-propaganda music. classic fm's website states that :"The setting of the film gave Shostakovich the excuse to borrow musical ideas from Italian Romantic composers such as Verdi and Bellini, but it's the six-minute Romance for violin and orchestra that explains the score's continued popularity today."
booklet notes are reasonably informative + sound absolutely fine. i would like to compare this version with the regarded Kuchar- naxos version at some point.

elements of many former established film scores elements prevail - themes, developments, jaunty juxtapositions (gallop + barrel organ waltz), an Rachmaninov-esque adagio + serious nocturne, but nothing here approaches DSCH's best + definitive work , his concerti,symphonies or chamber music namely - violin concerto no,1, cello concerto no.1, string quartets 1-15,cello sonata, piano sonata no.2, etc or symphonies no. 1,5,7,10,14.

accomplished, likeable yet hardly essential Shostakovich. 3 stars going on 4.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
In my opinion this original film score of The Gadfly Suite by Emin Khachaturian / USSR Cinema Symphony Orchestra,dating from 1962, a Melodiya USSR recording, is superb; I have the LP version of this (unfortunately scratched but still listenable) and have always loved this interpretation of Shostakovich's score. It has a flowing, deep, dark tonality that sounds great on my hi-fi system (valve amplifier based, with Michell Gyrodec turntable, Arcam CD player). Even the Spotify version, MP3 low bit rate no doubt, still sounds good. I also have the Naxos / Kutcher version on CD and don't find this as involving. Many older recordings are better than more recent ones, despite supposed advances in technology. Engineers seem to like 'messing about' with their high-tech toys when making a new recording, but there are exceptions; Tony Faulkner for one, with classical music. He usually uses simple mike techniques and proven recording equipment, with as little processing as possible post recording. I don't know what kind of recording equipment Melodiya would have used back in 1962, but it is the result that matters.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
The best rendition
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2017
I like this music. Prompt delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2016
1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)