Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
10
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 3 December 2004
This compilation is probably the best of the many that Earth Wind And Fire have on the market.
All the hits are here and still sound really fresh. The trademarks are the tight funk sound with superb horn arrangements along with the truly distinctive vocals of Maurice White and Philip Bailey.
The great bonus of this compilation is a whole second CD consisting entirely of remixes. Some of these remixes date back to the time the tracks were originally released. There are also present day remixes of such tracks as Boogie Wonderland which are excellent contemporary slants on the originals. I personally recommend playing the remix disc at high volume in the car and just groove as you go from A to B.
'Essential' is often a misused word with compilation albums. However its use is appropriate here and, if you are only ever going to buy one EWF album, this should be the one.
I have deducted one star due to the fact that some of the tracks on Disc 1 are single versions and not the original album length.Still a great album though.
Reccomended
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2003
Michael Jackson is right: Sony kills music. To date Earth Wind & Fire have not been served well in the CD reissue market, but this supposed "best of" takes the biscuit. "That's The Way Of The World" has been cut down from 5:43 minutes to 3:10 minutes, "In The Stone" from 4:26 minutes to 3:33 minutes, and-so-on. I feel sorry for those who are introduced to EW&F by this travesty, which is a butchery of some of the best funk-soul music ever recorded.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2007
There are numerous Earth Wind and Fire Best ofs on the market but this can lay claim to being the best. CD1 contains pretty much every essential EWF track (Reasons is the only notable omission), from their best-known (Boogie Wonderland, September, Let's Groove, After the Love Has Gone) to some more obscure but excellent cuts (Devotion, Can't Let Go). However, it's the remix CD that really puts this compilation head and shoulders above all its rivals. Remixing classic songs of yesteryear is a dangerous game, often resulting in destroying the brilliance of the original by sticking a monotonous beat behind it or by stripping all the original backing away and replacing it with an ill-fitting mix that ruins what made the song great in the first place. However, this is not the case here - in fact, these are some of the most effective remixes of classic songs I've ever heard. Most of the remixers have treated the tracks with a great deal of respect, and instead of completely reimagining the songs have reworked them sympathetically, making them sound contemporary whilst still keeping their original spirit intact. Highlights are the Masters at Work take of Can't Hide Love, the Phats & Small remix of September and the downbeat mix of the wistful Feelin' Blue, an early track not featured on CD1, but most of the rest are well worth a listen too. As such, with a near-definitive collection of their greatest hits on one CD and the unexpected bonus of an extra CD of excellent remixes on another, this is by far the best Earth Wind and Fire compilation for the casual buyer currently available.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2007
I enjoyed the grooves but the cd should have had full album versions of the songs.I find myself thinking twice about cd2 because the remixes spoil the mood that the first disc creates. Its a must have, capturing the evolving sounds of this unique band. I was born in the late 70's and I remember the storm that 'lets groove' caused. I was about 5 years old, singing a few lines!

I expected a gallery of photos..........Maybe next time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
This is a great cd to have as all the hits are there, as well as some top remix versions by Master at Work, Blaze, Restless Soul etc.
Top quality collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2002
If you want an album to put on to really get you and your mates in the mood for that top night out on the town, THIS IS IT! You will be amazed how good this is and how many of the songs you recognise and want to sing along to. I rediscovered Earth Wind and Fire a few years back when I was playing in a funk band down in London. All the tracks are brilliant, disco funk fun and will make you want to dance and party all night. They are also great tracks to put on in the car, in my experience it can even brighten up the M25 (and that takes a damn good album!).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
Love the remix disc, main reason I purchased it was for the Fantasy (Shelter DJ Mix)

Very Happy overall with this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
fan love there music good to list to them and it got some classic on this ablum so cant go wrong
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
CD 1 - Classic EWF

CD2 - really bad remixes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)