Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
8
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2003
...for saddos like me it was about the best Xmas present you can get. So what do you get for yer dosh? Basically a superb 6 cd set & very good informative booklet (or book more like). Highlights? Here goes:
- an early ol' Cov doing a very(bad)David Clayton-Thomas impression with the Govternment
- Mk2 versions of Mk1 songs 'Hush' & 'The bird has Flown'
- the first known version of 'Highway Star' (makes all other versions positively pedestrain)
- 'Black Night' from the Made in Japan encores
- (at last) a properly remastered version of 'Burn'
- an awesome live version of 'The gypsy'
Ok there is an awful lot of noddling on the extended jams (a 30 minute version of 'Mandrake Root' anyone?) and you kinda wish that Glenn Hughes woul've kept his Stevie Wonderisms firmly in his trousers. But this does demonstrate that DP were the best, most innovative and, goddam it, most funky of the 70's heavyweights. Listen learn & Love!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2002
Hmm, where to start? With a group as longlived as Deep Purple throughout their many incarnations that is a difficult one to answer and so to the only point of criticism of this box set... it takes 11 tracks to get to Deep Purple themselves!
That said, the pre-purple tracks by Zephyr. Trapeze and The Government are reasonably good. The others are only of historic interest and the whole idea of pre-purple careers would probably be better done on the "Deep Purple and Family" style of package.
Whilst most of the of the 74 tracks (42) are new to cd, previously unissued or a 24 bit remaster, let us not fool ourselves here... they are pretty much available somewhere. This is where the package scores, by gathering them together in one set. We would probably all choose different tracks, clamour for more of the legendary outtakes from various sessions and put it all together in a different way (yet still end up with a similar set with the essence of Purple).
As a set that introduces Purple to a new audience and refreshes the ears of the older audience with real rock music you could not get much better. I think that it knocks spots of the earlier Shades of Deep Purple set and I would have given it 5 stars if it were not for the opening 10 tracks!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2002
It is not uncommon for many rock groups with a long career to release boxsets after being around for quite a while, but boxsets have often been disappointing and a waste of hard-earned cash. Why? Most boxsets tend to be highly priced, with CDs containing all the songs that an ardent fan would already have in his/her collection. However, this is DEFINITELY NOT the case for this Deep Purple boxset. Listen Learn Read On is a little piece of treasure in its own right. Unlike most boxsets that tend to compile a 'greatest hits' package, this 6-CD collection goes through every aspect of Deep Purple's career in the 1970s, from its pre-existing days (looking into the previous works of individual band members prior to joining the band), and through its evolement from MK1 to MK4. This collection not only contains rare, previously unreleased tracks but also hard-to-find live performances. Accompanying the 6 CDs is a book that serves as an excellent companion to this boxset. From lead vocalist Rod Evans to Ian Gillan to David Coverdale, from guitarist Ritchie Blackmore to Tommy Bolin, from bassist Nick Simper to Roger Glover to Glenn Hughes, and of course not forgetting our favourite organist Jon Lord and drummer Ian Paice, this accompanying book leaves nothing out and can arguably be described as one of the best Deep Purple autobiography ever written. Listen, learn, read on... as this boxset's title aptly described, is exactly what one should do. Buy this boxset! Trust me... you will never regret!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2003
After months of deliberation, I eventually decided that, "Yes, I am anally retentive", and "Yes, I am going to buy this box set".
The problem, unfortunatley, was not the music - and others have adequately commented on this in other reviews on this site. The problem is that this box set lacks (and seriously lacks) the focus that it should have.
It seems to me that this is neither an essential collection of hard to find tracks, or a comprehensive retrospective. It's a mix of both. And that, from this collectors point of view, is not acceptable,
In my sad little "I must own 20 versions of the same track" little world, about a quarter of the songs in this box set were essential. (See disks 2 & 3). The rest are all fillers, and are all songs that are easily available on other commercial releases (or that are relatively irrelevant to this release; see tracks 1 - 10 of disk 1).
I would have been so much happier with one double CD set that comprehensively covered the BBC sessions (perhaps with an accompanying booklet that gave some specific insight into these sessions) and perhaps another single CD that covered the 'scraps' (Hallelujah, Bird has flown Mk II etc.).
I read some time ago that one of the major contributors to this set considered the original 'Deep Purple Anthology' album to be a cynical release, as it included a number of collectable songs onto a 'best of'. I consider this set to be a similar release. It's just bigger.
So I give this 2 stars for the concept. The music I have to give 5 stars. It is, after all Deep Purple.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
So many extras of the - once said - Loudest Band in the World. A Must for All Deep Purple Funs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
This is a wonderful box set full of hard to find tracks (and not so hard to find tracks) that will delight any self-respecting Deep Purple fan. The book alone IMHO is worth the price of the package. Following the recent and painful passing of the great and inimitable Jon Lord i have decided to listen to this massive box set again...as a personal tribute to the great man. And what a pleasure it is to recollect all the intense passion that the masters awakened in me at the impressionable age of 11. Thirty-two years later i'm as big a fan as i was then(well i don't listen to Made In Japan 3 times a day anymore lol)and this box brings it all back! Thanks Jon for the music and for the lessons in how to be a gentleman!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2003
After months of deliberation, I eventually decided that, "Yes, I am anally retentive", and "Yes, I am going to buy this box set".
The problem, unfortunatley, was not the music - and others have adequately commented on this in other reviews on this site. The problem is that this box set lacks (and seriously lacks) the focus that it should have.
It seems to me that this is neither an essential collection of hard to find tracks, or a comprehensive retrospective. It's a mix of both. And that, from this collectors point of view, is not acceptable,
In my sad little "I must own 20 versions of the same track" little world, about a quarter of the songs in this box set were essential. (see disks 2 & 3 in the main). The rest are all fillers, and are all songs that are easily available on other commercial releases (or that are relatively irrelevant to this release; see tracks 1 - 10 of disk 1).
I would have been so much happier with one double CD set that comprehensively covered the BBC sessions (perhaps with an accompanying booklet that gave some specific insight into these sessions) and perhaps another single CD that covered the 'scraps' (Hallelujah, Bird has flown Mk II etc.).
I read some time ago that one of the major contributors to this set considered the original 'Deep Purple Anthology' album to be a cynical release, as it included a number of collectable songs onto a 'best of'. I consider this set to be a similar release. It's just bigger.
So I give this 2 stars for the concept. The music I have to give 5 stars. It is, after all Deep Purple.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Thanks !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)