Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2015
Great DVD - a must see
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
I have not seen the alternative video edition of this musical film concert, "Rust Never Sleeps". Whatever the relative merits may be, rest assured that this firm's edition, at least in the in the PAL video option for it (Sanctuary Visual Entertainment SVE-4003) plays just fine. I found that at the usual screen ratio setting, Neil Young looked oddly stocky. When I set the option for 4:3 everything fell into place visually and, I later noticed, on the container verso, indeed it said "Aspect ratio 4:3", resulting Neil Young looking like his 1979 mid-thirties lean-and-lanky self and the other musicians appearing mostly fit and trim, as one would expect for active young men of their respective ages. Neil Young being Canadian "and proud of it", despite his trans-national dual citizenships, he is a real icon here in his native Dominion of Canada. The screen image and colour appear natural, and sound quality seem quite adequate to the musical need.

While I enjoy Neil Young's work at any age, it is good to see him earlier in life, like this. His voice, always having that frail quality that is unmistakably his, having a somewhat edgy "high and lonesome" sound to it, never was macho-sounding, so that his videos from later in life can become uncomfortably tenuous sounding. Not so here, for Young's voice, despite its inherent vocal qualities so suggestive of vulnerability, is able to sustain phrases adequately, with welcome volume, and not to seem in any real way on the edge of failing on him. The players of Crazy Horse, Young's group, also provide the harmony vocals and do so very capably and with excellent intonation and musicality.

Neil Young always has been a very individual and quirky sort of guy. Some have protested the non-singing, non-playing wraith-like figures bumbling about, dancing to the music, and so on. Some viewers have found their presence intrusive, perhaps too omnipresent. However, their presence fits in with the show's visual and other oddities, so this viewer does not mind their presence at all. For those who hate that sort of thing there is, of course, the alternative of acquiring the CD, with no visuals to distract. As for me, I like this just as it is on DVD!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2001
This is surely one of the finest live videos ever released. It feautures some of Neil Young's greatest songs. Firstly Neil plays a few tracks acoustic including lovely versions of 'Sugar Mountain' and 'Comes a Time' and then brings out Crazy Horse for a tour-de-force electric set that includes 'Powderfinger','When You Dance' and awesome versions of 'Lotta Love' and 'Like a Hurricane'. The concert is set on a huge stage with giant musical equipment so it looks like just a young mans rock fantasy but the music speaks for itself. Superb.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2002
One of those "classics"!Looks like Neil Young taught Spinal Tap how to turn it up to eleven!!I was just about to buy the vhs being frustrated at the dvd not being available,then up it sprung.I got home and turned the lights low,turned the amp up.....then it took ages to get into it!The event looked great but the constant footsteps of the little jawa,s was a bit offputting.Afterwards i felt a bit ripped off,the quality was a bit fuzzy(i know its old but)then i watched it just by song selection instead of the whole movie and i got a much better feel for it.Well worth owning.A classic moment in history, some of his solos are unbelievable and the sound he makes with a 12string and harmonica is beautiful....he plugs it in and turns it up real good!!!!!A great dvd and im very happy with it!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2006
What would you do if the world as you knew it had just come to an end? That's what the dinosaurs of rock faced in 1977 when the storm that was Punk swept in. Do you run and hide or do you join in and embrace it. Neil Young joined in when most ran and this is the result. Maybe not in the first acoustic part of this concert but it's there in Welfare Mothers and Sedan Delivery for example. Based on Johnny Rotten's 'it's better to burn out cause rust never sleeps' comment, Neil fuses old rock and new punk and comes up with Grunge although it wouldn't be called that for quite a while. This is the record of one of those rare moments in history when everything comes together perfectly. This is a seminal moment and needs to be preserved for posterity - it's that good. Buy it. You will not regret it.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 November 2008
I'd forgotten I'd seen this on its release so was pleasantly reminded of a
pretty bizarre show. Musically its very good. I've never cared too much for Sedan Delivery and even less so for Welfare mothers but Shaky is relatively concise and economical here compared to later electric thrashes-hard to fault the rest of the songs, acoustic or electric.
The 'theatrical' aspect of it is best skipped through-The 'Roadeyes'-got to be the worst pun I've heard for some time- may be based on Star Wars characters as one reviewer suggests, but basically we have roadies dressed in habits with lights for eyes-think 'Lord of the rings' black riders but with hobbits inside the costumes-at one point they reenact the raising of the flag at Iwo Jima-but with a giant microphone instead..think I'm kidding? One of the few extras is a replica of the stage directions-e.g. Roadeyes bring out giant tuning fork-make tone-leave stage!
Its a tribute to Young that the quality of his set that we can have a laugh at this and still enjoy the music. He and Crazy horse are in fine form and seem unaffected by the 4th form production.
On the down side it looks like a VHS transfer and has little variation of shot. Still if you like the music that's all you need-incidentally I paid £6 at Fopp-maybe that's softened my view.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
play this all the time, have revisted since recent tour gig
good mix of folky & rock with alltime fave cortez the killer
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2003
This concert from 1978 is something else and, from the opening solo acoustic set to the Crazy Horse accompanied electric numbers, Neil is in great form and the track list reads like a best of. The opening bars of When you Dance, Cinammon Girl and The Loner will have you jumping around your living room-this DVD is a must for all Neil fans, in fact it's a must for all music fans.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
Would advise sticking to the cd if I were you ... very dated grainy production as can be expected for the price .. unless you love Neil Young and the horse which I do, would like to see a good production of WELD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2006
Although I am a bit of a Neil Young nut, this isn't clouding my judgement - this dvd is great! I am a fan of most of his work from his solo stuff to his work with crazy horse and buffalo springfield. The dvd starts well with two of my favourites sugar mountain and i am a child which are both beautiful acoustic renditions before playing most of Rust Never Sleeps. He also plays some classics - Cortez the killer, Like a Hurricane, When you dance, After the goldrush - these are all amazing. The only flaw is the floornoise everytime anyone walks across the stage you hear it but this isn't noticeable during any songs. The set of the dvd is as you would expect from Neil (getting into a sleeping bag on stage??!!!) and I'm not sure bout the stage hands - why are they dressed like the KKK? If you don't know what I'm on about buy the dvd - you won't regret it!!!
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)