Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
Loved this game when it came out, I unfortunately lost my old disk a while back so I got this so now I have the add-ons as well, great item if you love the franchise.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Very good game really enjoyed playing it.Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2011
Excellent quality and condition of the game.

Even though it says it's Age of Empires II Gold Edition, it actually also included Age of Empires I Gold as well, which was a very pleasant surprise.
Game has some issues with Windows 7, but that's because of Microsoft. :P

The game I received was the DVD variation, with pre-set patches and instructions on a .txt file, warning users that game patches which are downloaded will not work. Perhaps I suggest copying this information across from the .txt file onto some paper with each sale? :)

Sorry about the late review. Great game, and a great re-seller. :D
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've owned this game for a while now and still find the time to waste an afternoon on a random map or two. The gameplay on this is excellent with definite differences in strategy required for different landscapes and civilization types, and the graphics with its isometric animations, render characters and buildings attractively. My only complaint.. the slightly empty feeling after winning a long battle of attrition against AI.. still one day when I'm confident enough I'll join the online crowd.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This bundle surely represents the pinnacle of god-game design. I have not played anything, except perhaps Command & Conquer, which comes close to this for playability. When launched, the game required a powerful computer to get the most from it, but in 2014 even the most basic computer should have no trouble running with all the graphic options enabled.

The game usually begins with town-building process, whereby rock, metal and crops are mined and harvested for gain, which funds buildings, a population of villagers (who do the work), and an army to defend it and attack other towns. The game structure is a simple progress through ages, with technological and other advances helping to bolster your town and army and make it strong enough to defeat invaders and win the game. The graphics, though old-looking now, are still attractive and solid, but the underlying game engine is as formidable as ever, providing strong opponents. The game works very well for solo playing, but it steps up greatly when played against human opponents. A typical game lasts anywhere from an hour to several, and with such a vast and infinitely varying landscape, no two games are ever alike. This means it never gets boring.

If you fancy making your own game scenarios, the map builder is a thing of wonder. It is easy to use, and can create maps of tremendous complexity. I have been playing this game more or less continually since its launch. It is easy to get into, but very difficult to master absolutely. You can play the same map many times, and every time will be different. Overall then, it's a very easy game to recommend. That it is still available after all these years, and still holds the price it does, is testimony to its longevity. Microsoft's shift to Xbox meant this game was doomed, but it lives on nonetheless. It is surely one of the greatest games ever made.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2008
I had both of these games when they first hit the scene years ago, and several years later the thrill of seeing your army razing an enemy town to the ground is still incredible! I have been playing AOE2 since it first came out, and in my opinion it is testament to the quality of this game that I am still playing it now (the online capability significantly prolongs the gameplay, this was and still is one of the game's main selling points). The price seems to have gone up a little but even at this price it is still one of the best (if not, THE BEST) RTS experiences anyone will ever have!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
got this game for my son as he loves these types of games.he has others,so he really wanted this one.the imagery is really good.would recommend to anyone who likes this type of game
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
Age of Empires II Gold Edition combines Age of Empires Age of Kings with the Conquerors expansion pack. This is a great classical game which set the RTS genre. I have played this game for what feels like a decade on my PS2 and now on the PC too. I have no fault with the game other than playing on huge maps can result in some minor graphics issues and it was a minor pain to setup to network over two Vista laptops. Other than this, have fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)