Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 15 March 2012
Age of Empires II Gold Edition combines Age of Empires Age of Kings with the Conquerors expansion pack. This is a great classical game which set the RTS genre. I have played this game for what feels like a decade on my PS2 and now on the PC too. I have no fault with the game other than playing on huge maps can result in some minor graphics issues and it was a minor pain to setup to network over two Vista laptops. Other than this, have fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2011
I remember playing this as a kid. Brings back memories, still a great game today. I could easily spend a whole afternoon playing it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2012
I first played Age of empires 1 and rise of rome and liked it. Now when AOE 2: Age of kings came out, I shot to the stores and bought it. Wow...did I love it. Then came the expansion pack THE CONQUERORS and it really was a treat.

The atmosphere is something that pulls you in straightaway. It really feels great. The gameplay is terrific as there is something new to discover the more you play. The landscapes come in various sizes from 2 player to 4 player to giant where you can have 8 players. Many different lands to choose from too ranging from the Americas to europe all the way to asia.

The thing that makes this game so good is the almost endless tactics. The population limit is 200 but the towers dont count as population. As long as you have stone, you can build as many as you want. Ten....twenty....fifty.....hell even sixty. There are many occasions when I simply dont have enough resources for soldiers so I build many towers to compensate. When the enemy rushes in, they are pelted with arrows and cannonballs which gives me enough time to build up my army.

As many have pointed out, the makers have got the history right too since there are strong and weak points for every civilisation. This really makes the game so interesting and you never get bored.

My friend and I played this game since 99 and now in 2012, we are still playing it. We are aged 32 too haha so that must be saying something about this game. We played other stuff over the years but stopped playing them after a while. Now if you will excuse me....Im going to play me some AOE 2. Ciao. :D
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2015
excellent game, played it for years thought I would get this as it has the expansion pack.
DISSAPPOINTED!!
Game plays fine until one loads the expansion pack then it just crashed all the time. so I uninstalled it and nopw a lot of features of the original game are no longer there. poor rubbish do not buy this it will not play properly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2002
Age Of Empires 2 Gold Ed is a fantastic game for all fans of this genre. the game engine is versatile enough for the complete Novice all the way through to Expert it has a complete set of tutorial missions for you to get used to how the game plays and then followed by a vast array of single player mission that will test your skills to the limit. with 8 campeigns to challenge your fighting trade and search and retrieve skills plus lots more!!
The multiplayer side provided through MSN's Gaming Zone is the shining part of this title. You can challenge up to 8 other players simultaniously over all the standard maps or custom created ones with the built in Map Creation tools. This aspect gives the game a infinute amount of terrains to play on and so making the games lifespan almost infinute.
All in all it is a great title that will test you in single player and then push your skills to the limit in multiplayer all fans of this genre should have this title in their CD rack.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2008
In this game you get to play as a wide range of civilizations including,
Aztecs, Britons, Byzantines, Celts, Chinese, Franks, Goths, Huns, Japanese, Koreans, Mayans, Mongols, Persians, Saracens, Spanish, Teutons, Turks, Vikings. You can also play on a wide variety of maps and there is is also many challenging campaigns.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2012
A game that stands the test of time and continues to entertain.

One of the most complete and enthralling games I've played, Random map, single player or online multiplayer can entertain for hours on end. The perfect cure to a slow Sunday afternoon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2008
Age of Empires remains the ultimate in RTS games and this is without a doubt the best one. There is something about Age of Empires II that makes you still want to play it even though it was made over 5 years ago. Writing this review after AOE 3 having been around for a while I still think this is better. It's true that the graphics aren't great and the computer AI is poor but the gameplay is excellent. To experience the best from this game you definately have to play against another person but there is enough depth in the game with different maps and civilisations to make this great fun for a long time.

The Gold Edition gives good value including bith AOE 2 and the Conquerors expansion pack which is definately worth having. Get this game and enjoy the hours of fun to be had!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2013
If you're looking for a timeless classic then look no further, this game delivers on almost every level - The graphics are somewhat lacking but it did come out in 199 something so cut it some slack, and the gameplay more than makes up for it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2014
I have always loved this game, like a lot of you I rebought it a few years ago for nostalgia, but I did a bit of digging and you can actually play this game online! You can either buy it from steam and there is a whole online community their, or alternatively you can play it on the voobly client if you have the disk, I would recommend playing on steam first as it's for the more inexperienced online players,

Your rating online is based on ELO, the same system used in chess, you start at 1600 and your score goes lower or higher depending on your wins and losses, hopefully bringing this up will bring a few more of you to the online community! ~about 10k active online users a day!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)