Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
14
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£40.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2003
Erland Oye must be climbing the walls at yet another mention of the 'R' word, but as the voice of fellow Bergen residents Royksopp's sublime 'Melody AM', the bespectacled Norwegian will be forever remembered, even on this, his debut solo affair which sees Erlend tinkering in a different city for each track, with various local electronica whizzkids that include oddball electro boffin Schneider TM and Mr Velcro Fastener in Turku (that's in Finland i believe - Geography wasn't my strongpoint!) It all kicks off rather minimally with 'Ghost Trains'. The loungey 'Every Party' hints at why Erlend's other project Kings Of Convenience scored surprise chill-out status with their last outing, but the tempo doesn't really pick up until the latter stages of the album , when Erlend returns to Bergen for 'The Talk' which funnily enough is Unrest's most 'Royksopp' moment. The Kraftwerkian touches of 'The Athlete' are re-employed to round the whole shebang off. There's not a lot of variation with Oye's vocals but then no one's buying this to hear Robert Owens. But the closing beauty of 'Like Gold' should prove that Erlend Oye's attempts at an electro grower have been hugely successful.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
This compact disk is the solo album of Erlend Oye, I have been a huge fan of his work with his band The Kings of Convenience who produced a number of records that I bought in one purchase they are all filled with very heartfelt lyrics and fantastic melodies. there is not one song on three cd's I do not like - recommended

The purchase of Unrest was to add to this collection, my preconception was that I was in for more of the same, with respect to the songwriting and melody I was right the use of electronica was a surprize and was very welcome. In many ways the use of synths is very like the early 80's but done with a modern twist-excellent

Dean
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2015
10 years later... & I still adore this unassuming little CD.

Erlend's vocals really suit this type of minimal, mid-tempo, beat-driven electronica, & every song hereon has a subtle, nagging hook that makes it a difficult album to shake off... so much so that, on reflection, I'm surprised that he's not a far bigger "star" (perhaps he doesn't want to be one, I wouldn't blame him...).

I wish he'd make more records like this one, it's more than a decade old now but has barely dated. Bravo!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2005
I cannot recommend this album highly enough, it's an absolute gem, and did not receive anything like the success it deserved. Though it is sometimes compared to Royksopp, it's a different beast, really. Royksopp are all about the tune, while anyone who has listened to KOC know how good a vocalist and writer Erland Oye is. The music is a poppy, light dance/80's electronica, and very deftly done too. Erland's gentle vocals and warm, witty lyrics complement the music perfectly. It's a charming, gentle dance record, which is a strange assembly of words on its own, and it's very accessable. For me, it's the best record of the year, and is a bench-mark for the pop/dance music crossover genre in future. More of the same please, Erland!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2003
Erlend's vocals on this album do not vary from track to track. He does have a fabulous voice however and just about manages to pull off 10 tracks. Similarly, the production work from all over the world does not seem to vary either. However, the melodies are pleasent enough and there are a few highlights such as Ghost Trains and Sudden Rush.
Not as catchy as his Kings Of Convenience work nor as refreshing as the work with Royksopp but worth buying because you know he has talent well above the average musician.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2003
Not entirely fresh, actually, considering that this is what I would have expected if I had been told beforehand that Oye was making a dance album, but it's pretty damn good. The album does not vary a lot from one point/style, but does so enough to have its ups and downs. There isn't a bad track on the album, just those that appeal less. There are top moments, such as 'Sudden Rush' (the first single), 'Prego Amores' and 'Every Party Has A Winner And A Loser'. Oye remains as he was with his songwriting partner Eirik Glambek Boe: a pretty insightful lyrcist into everyday life. Verdict: Pretty cool, Erlend, but please can we have some more KOC stuff next.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2006
I have this picture in my mind of Erlend standing at each city's airport he visited to make this album. Under his arm he has a little electribe drum machine and a cheap synth, and perhaps a small manual mixer. There is a definite air of 'keep it simple' with each song. Many of them sound the same, even though he travelled around and worked with different mixing guys. I'm sure it was to do with an intent to keep a 'budget' feel to the sound. Not that it's not polished. It is, but in a very 'done in your basement' sort of way.

His vocal is still fabulous and it's great to see that he can do electronica as well as some KOC folk. My favourite tracks are 'Sheltered Life' and 'Like gold'.

Doesn't take much to knock me.... I've been living a sheltered life.

I hope this is not the last of Erlene's electronica/song writing direction.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2003
I have read alot of reviews on Erlend Oye's ablum Unrest! And not one did the album justice, I think this is because people exect it to be more like the Roksopp songs he did (Remind me, and Poor Leno) They are also great songs but this solo album is great! Completely different to most of his previous stuff in Kings of convenience and I think its a fresh look on electronic music. Great songs on it are Symptom of disease, Prego Amore and The Athlete.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2003
Following on from the lovely Kings of Convenience debut and sublime Royksopp album, Erlend Oye finally releases his debut solo album "Unrest".
Firmly planted in the electronica genre you may be expecting more of where he left off on the Royksopp album. Sadly, if you are, you'll be disappointed: "Meldoy AM" this ain't!
"Unrest" is surprisingly poppy, upbeat, too polished and a little cold feeling. Yes, Oye's trademark melancholic voice is still as lovely as ever but seems strangely at odds with the unemotional and souless production.
There's is a definite 80's influence to a number of tracks, which makes the album musically sound like an inferior version of Les Rythmes Digitales's "Darkdancer".
It's not all negative, with tracks like the excellent opener "Ghost Trains" and current single "Sudden Rush" being worthy of Oye's previous works.
However, most of the album, whilst not being awful, just doesn't engage the listener enough. Maybe as a result of his previous excellent outputs, "Unrest" just turns out to be somewhat of a dissapointment.
Here's looking forward to a new KOC or Royksopp album!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.36
£6.97
£27.00

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)