Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 17 January 2008
Not one bad track on the entire cd, if your into emo/screamo bands then this is quite simply a must buy. Best songs, What It Is To Burn, Ender and Three Simple Words.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2003
Finch manage to amaze with their stunning debut album 'What It Is To Burn'. The American quintet may be young but this is one of the freshest albums of current days - the sound as mature as Zepplin or Metallica. Most of the tracks are amazing especially 'Letters to You', 'Stay With Me' and 'Perfection Through Silence'. The lyrics are stunningly written and they have had help from the supreme Glassjaw in the making of this album. A must for anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2002
Whilst in the States i heard Letter to you on the radio, and credit where credit is due, it's a great song. However, the rest of the album is poor. Minutes of this album are wasted on experimental keyboard rubbish and unconsolidated simplistic nu-metal sounding riffs. This is an album for children who hate their parents for no reason.........go buy the new Thursay or Hot Rod Circuit albums.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2004
Great band, great CD, Nate has the best scream around and they are a very exciting live band.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2005
This album is ace and certainly well worth buying. Berts screaming is amazing and well enough said there. All the songs on the album are great there isn't one track i'd skip. I will say this album must be played loud to get the best effect of the music. You seriously must buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2003
Finch! My friends says Finch! They are on the same label and New Found Glory Home Grown et al.! So I thought why not and bought the album. Big mistake! This is not genius nor is it the new wave of punk! Finch sound like a Slipknot band stuck in a Punk band's body! Their singer is the oppisite of what you expect from a quality punk singer. Whereas most punk singer try and put a rough edge on their voice he takes it too far and sounds Corey Tayloresque. Half the time the guitarist don't know if they are playing Thrash Metal or Punk. I will say that I thought Letters To You had the basis of a good song minus the singer. But other than that I would have to say I wished i'd kept my receipt! Please people don't make the same mistake as me!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2004
This album is amazing, it's the first Cd of Finch's that i have bought andi'm very impressed. There are some strange bits where the track will lastages though, eg track 12, at the end it carries on for like an additional10mins of random sounds which is quite annoying coz i have to skip tracks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2005
This album is ace and certainly well worth buying. The screaming is amazing and well enough said there. All the songs on the album are great there isn't one track i'd skip. I will say this album must be played loud to get the best effect of the music. You seriously must buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2003
superb album, especially the later tracks, "ender" and "what it is to burn" are classics in the making.
good guitars, amazing vocals and a tight rhythm section makes for a very special sound.
one last thing- GO SEE THEM LIVE!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2002
If you're a fun of cheesy pop punk, or if you're a fan of nu-metal, this CD is definitely worth a pop. You could say that Finch sound like a combo of Green Day with Glassjaw, but with their own touches too. Not only this, but they are one of the few bands who can mix calmness with aggression. The reviews already here - sorry, but I strongly disagree. The guitar riffs may be heavy and catchy, but they also have their quiter, melodious moments. From start through to finish, this is a great debut full length album, and I can't wait for the follow up.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse