Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
37
4.8 out of 5 stars
Coupling: Complete Series 2 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 May 2004
How to describe Coupling, well, it's clever, saucy, hilariously brilliant and the characters are quite believable. Steven Moffat has indeed created a series to be proud of. I originally thought Coupling would be like the diabolically stupid Two Pints of Lager and a Packet of Crisps, which simply relies on a string of swear words to get laughs but the plots to Coupling are thick with hilarity, rich with original, fresh idea's and sometimes even quite complicated. Series 2 is one of the best series of the show as I think it is the series with the most funny plots and also the series' where the characters really became the own.
There's nervous but good-natured Steve, sensible Susan with her 'bouncy walk', love-magnet Patrick, self0obseesed and even mentally distrubed Jane, the hapless Jeff and the beauty saloon owner Sally.
Here are the episodes, which are spread across 2 discs.
THE MAN WITH TWO LEGS - The series opens on a high with Jeff finally getting lucky with a girl he likes. Except there's a big problem, Jeff has told the girl he has only one leg to gain her sympathy and after she promises him a wild night, he is torn between hacking off his troublesome leg or running. *****
MY DINNER IN HELL - Another fabulous episode! Steve has to have dinner with Susan's parents and of course disaster ensures. Watch out for the end gag of the episode, truely comic gold. One of the funnier moments of the series. *****
HER BEST FRIENDS BOTTOM - Steve accidently sees Sally's behind as she gets out of the shower, dare he tell Susan. Susan, however has other plans, buying new cushions. Hard decisions for everybody in this one. ****
THE MELTY MAN COMMETH - Can things ever be the same again with Sally and Patrick after Patricks gets cold feet and Sally's surprising proposal. Don't miss a classic spoof Star War's sequence which is maybe a bit rude to write down! ****
JANR AND THE TRUTH SNAKE - This whole episode is flawless. I think this is the episdoe where Jane establishes the position of funniest star in the show. Laugh yourself silly as she guides you through Jane the snake, unlabelled drugs and teaffic meditation. *****
GOTCHA! - A very intelligently strucutred episode with some hilarious moments including Steve's ecstasy over duck and steak. Once again the end gag of this episode is extremely funny and unexpected.*****
DRESSED - Jane goes to have dinner with a man she liks but there is one drawback, she has nothing to wear - literally. *****
NAKED - This is a Jeff episode where Jeff really shines and strips. Catastrophy breaks out when Jeff is promised some serious fun. *****
THE END OF THE LINE - The funniest episode of the DVD is also the last one. I nearly cried laughing at the hilarious and somewhat complicated plot. Susan and Steve both give into temptation on the same day. *****
So after reading my review, I hope I've encouraged you to buy Coupling! NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 October 2002
British comedy seems to have come through a rough patch (Exhibit A - Gimme Gimme Gimme) with a renewed vigour. Coupling is to relationships what The Office is to the workplace. Despite the ridiculous situations the six characters find themselves in, there are some great observations that are so true to life they are painful to watch.
Some of the scenes in this series had me having to mute the telly and watch the subtitles. It was making me cringe to hear the characters digging themselves into deeper and deeper holes. Jeff's "too many legs" episode is a great example.
I'd thoroughly recommend this series, but I don't think it necessarily appeals to everyone. I think that comparisons with Friends are inevitable, but I think that the two are quite different. Coupling is a little more risqué, but very funny with it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2003
This comedy series is quite possibly the funniest thing that I've ever seen. The reason? Because it's all true! It follows a group of friends, whose relationships are fully intertwined and incestuous apart from poor old Geoff, who can't seem to get a girl or if he manages to he messes it up in the most spectacular way, in fact I'm surprised that he isn't world-famous in the major male mess-ups department yet. Initially it seems quite harmless, but seriously prepare yourself for a case of embarrassing loud, undignified howling with laughter, rolling around cause your stomach is hurting and girls smudging that make-up cause the tears are streaming down your face. Some of the sketches you have to watch over and over again and they just seem funnier every time.... What more can I say? What are you still doing sitting there and reading this review?! Go and watch it NOW!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2002
Without doubt coupling is one of the funniest TV shows that the UK has produced for some time. If you haven't seen it think friends, only funnier and much ruder. The cast and the script are both brilliant and leave you wanting more.
If you haven't seen it before trust me its more than worth it. If you have you'll no doubt agree with me with this one final comment: "Bring on series 3!"
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2003
Where to start? Coupling, The complete series 2 is a masterpiece. Continuing from the rude, ruthless and relentless behaviour of the first series, writer Stephen Moffat has done it again and proves that Coupling was not a one hit wonder to all critics. Series 2 continues with the mixed and slightly confused relationship between Steve and Susan, whilst exploring deeper parts for the other four characters. Steven Moffat(writer) includes those everyday love-life hassles into a funny, yet understanding way of getting through the things that could end it all in a relationship of your own. Couping Series 2, does not fail to impress anyone who buys this DVD/VIDEO and will continue to impress through its oncoming series'. This is a MUST BUY for everyone. If your feeling down, put it on for immediate laughs and happiness, on your own...and bored stiff, this will loosen things up, AND best of all...when your with your mates, this DVD/VIDEO will enhaul you all to what seems like a lifetime of fun, freedom, and farts...in a world of sex, women, and the odd case of having TOO MANY LEGS! (you'll find out) Enjoy! :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2002
This programme is one of the funniest things I have ever seen. I have been eagerly awaiting the return of Coupling to DVD and this is no disappointment. With Jeff taking paranoia to a whole new plane, Patrick the arrogant male chauvanist, Jane being ever possessive and Sally desperate to be beautiful and not die a lonely old spinster, you're guaranteed a laugh.
Compared to Friends, this British comedy blows it away.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2002
Simply put - comedy. Purely British, English comedy and not dumbed down for anyone. Coupling almost has it's own 'bubble', what with all the theories the group are throwing out about the world and life, and how things work... it's like being inside that bar is being inside a slightly different, much funnier world.
Only poor episode is 'Jane and the truth-snake', which steers too much towards a Friends-style relieance on props to achieve comedy.
Brilliant moments include Captain Subtext, the melty man, the dangerous parts of australia, the cushions, having too many legs, and accidentally telling your girlfriend your name is Dick Darlington.
Series 3 is currently on BBC2, and it seems as though this series will be leading British comedy for a while to come. Very good!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2002
I love this show sooo much. Its hillarious. I live in the US and converted a DVD player to region 2 solely for the purpose of playing the season 1 and 2 dvd's and it was well worth it. With things like the giggle loop, sock gap, and NAT how could you part with this dvd.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2005
Season 2 of coupling is absolutely hilarious - there's really no question about that. Just about everything is perfect, and there are some real classic episodes (Melty Man, Gotcha, End of the Line,etc.).
This is *the* season to get if you've seen Coupling on TV, so are already familiar with the characters. (It's also the case, that Season 2 has nine episodes - and is therefore the longest of the lot).
Excellent stuff.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2010
After an intriguing climax to the first series a second outing was much anticipated and did not fail to deliver in its comedy and dramatic stance that brings back all the great protagonists from the first series.

The opening episode is a more relaxed affair taking into account Steve's current state of inability to conform to Susan's troubles. As the series pans the drama is still left behind to make way for more freestyle dating ideas, such as the woman on the train and the wife swapping montage. Like the first series its these ideas that we encounter in our own relationships that make it so light-hearted and believable. It truly is great fun and the fact that the drama elements are not really serious and more free wheeling makes it endlessly enjoyable and a crucial pick me up as a reminder that you are not the only one who has such difficulties.

Packing the punches once more are the six main characters with Jeff (Richard Coyle) again the man with the crucial depiction of day to day thoughts no one else would ever share, simply brilliant. That first episode with the whole "leg" story is brilliant. The "Melty Man" is something guys won't want to remember but it isn't half funny.

Again the girls have the moments of vanity and insecurity to wonder all male viewers and the guys have the porn and booze to dazzle all female viewers and the curiosity and absurdity will arouse and intrigue all with their eyes open.

Told once more in a simplistic selection of dating ideas Coupling grasps the foundation of real life, and even continues its amazing one story with two interpretations. The last episode with Giselle moves back and forward through time and we can grasp different meanings which makes the writing not only impressive but highly intelligent and quick witted. The Dick Darlington phone call is wonderful

Moffat has again established the things we need to know but don't want to acknowledge about dating and courting in Britain and once more the laughs are plenty so why not I ask you?

9/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)