Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
13
4.3 out of 5 stars
Jeeves And Wooster: The Complete Fourth Series [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 June 2003
It's the last of the J&W series, and this is where they nearly jumped the shark. The magic formula of this outstanding series so far had been to provide the excellent cast with a well timed and almost scrupulously close adaption of Wodehouse' stories for the screen. Well, Hugh Laurie and Stephen Fry are as good as ever, just as Elizabeth Kettle as Honoria and Elizabeth Morton as Madeline, to name but a few of the supporting roles. It's the script that somewhat spoils the fun. Maybe some TV producer had the misbegotten idea to spice up the old-fashioned Wodehouse originals with a certain slapstick element, or perhaps Clive Exton felt the need to challenge himself to improve Wodehouse' ideas. The result is not very convincing. The episodes start as usual with either one of Bertie's previous fiancées starting to renew the matrimonial prospects or a friend being in need of Jeeves' help in matters of heart or business, and there is still much witty dialogue to enjoy. But instead of the elegant solutions we were used to from Jeeves, we now get Wooster grilled by lightning on top of the Empire State Building, Jeeves and Wooster jumping overboard from an ocean liner on high sea with a subsequent return of the two some months later in rags with shaggy beards (the most un-Jeeves imaginable, he would have seen to Wooster shaving and dressing up under any circumstances), and a ghastly singalong of the whole Totleigh Towers society including the notorious Roderick Spode. So while this is of course better than 99% percent of what you see when you turn on the TV any day or night, it's a bit of a let down after the first three series. On a technical note, it's also the worst DVD of the series in terms of sound and picture quality, which is a bit strange since it's the newest material.
So before you buy this, take one of the earlier series if you can. And if you already have them all, you will want to have this anyway, even if it's not quite as good.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
These were all gifts and all were enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2004
When watching this charming installment of the adventures of the Last of the Woosters and his gentleman's gentleman, one has the suspicion that the Major from Monty Python's Flying Circus is going to turn up and say 'No - stop it now - I warned you. It started off as a perfectly sensible story about a man with daft aunts who didn't want to get married, but now you've just made it silly.' And he'd be right. Another series and the reputation of these glorious productions would have been spoilt, but as it is, they just escape with their dignity intact. While there is something quite Woosterian about jumping off the side of a boat in the mid-Atlantic to escape an impossible social situation (this is the man, after all, who cannot avoid being engaged to someone unless someone else gets engaged to them, because refusal is simply not an option) it does show an element of daftness that is not quite the mannered, weirdly logical daftness of Wodehouse. It is also a little disappointing that some of the sets have been changed, so we are no longer in the familiar Berkeley Mansions of the first three series. That said, the combination of Stephen Fry, Hugh Laurie and P.G. Wodehouse is infallible. There was no possible way it could be bad. Thus, while very enjoyable, it does leave a strange aftertaste of dissatisfaction. Please don't let my criticism put you off it, as it is really quite wonderful. Just be certain to watch series 1-3 first.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2003
The delightful pair Fry & Laurie is once again back. The fourth series starts off on "the other side of the pond", whereas the last three episodes is set to the old "metrop", as Wooster would have said. The actors perform wonderfully as always in this series, but I feel they have not been given enough good material to work with in this fourth part. The writers meddle too much with the original stories, and they seem to have got this mediocre and odd idea of "developing" the charachter of Jeeves. He is here found in a drag, with a beard, incognito etc. This is not a very "wodehouseian" setting, and what is more, I do not think neither Wodehouse nor Jeeves would have liked it. But if you can overlook these minor flaws (as I would have to call them, being a hardcore Wodehouse fanatic), this DVD is of course spiff-ho, top of the line, first class material. Splendid, spledid!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2005
Jeeves would never, never, under any circumstances appear dressed in women's clothing. Still less would he be likely to sing in public. I doubt Bertie would cross dress.
This is a travesty of Wodehouse and I suspect owes more to the inflated ego of the producer who seems to believe that he is a better story teller than Wodehouse than any attempt to show Wodehouse's genius. If like me you are a lover of the true genre do not touch this abberation with a bargepole.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 October 2004
Clearly Wodehouse was running short of ideas for our favourite gentleman's gentleman and his sidekick. Almost every plot here involves Bertie swearing he won't pull off some ridiculous stunt, but capitulating so he doesn't have to marry some girl or other, usually Madeleine Bassett. It's all very well once, but every episode? One also grows tired of Spode threatening to break Bertie's neck in every scene, and there are some scenes where it all goes too far and ends up being just silly.
Highlights are Jeeves pretending to be a woman, and... not much else.
Get it if you have to see the whole jolly lot, but be warned: compared to Series 2 (the best one) this is thin stuff.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
Bought for my elderly Dad, who still likes his video, for Christmas, I am sure he
will love them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
I think it is great, and the humour is brilliant, so funny, I will be buying each series bit by bit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Still a good film, funny as usual. However not quite as good as the first 2 series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2000
The fourth series of "Jeeves and Wooster" takes our heroes to places that their creator, PG Wodehouse, never imagined, but retains his comic style. By this stage, Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie have become the perfect valet, Jeeves, and the ever-bewildered Bertie Wooster so memorably that Bertie's expressions of panicked idiocy and Jeeves' tactful but complete control of his master remain constant, even as the situations in which they find themselves become ever more farcical. A series of mishaps and misunderstandings which not even Jeeves can solve brings Bertie dangerously close to the altar - and with a girl even more hideously unsuitable than those he has managed to escape from with the aid of his valet's intelligence. The solution they eventually find will surprise even the most devoted Wodehouse fan. Anyone who has not made the acquaintance of Jeeves and Wooster on the page or the screen should go back to the first series and enjoy the hours of pleasure this classic duo will bring. Fans of previous programmes should need no urging to enjoy this stylish and entertaining adaptation of one of Britain's funniest authors.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)