Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
10
3.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2008
I imagine that the primary reason someone would be interested in watching this film is to see the comically naive depictions of cannabis use. Indeed, that's why I rented this and I have to say that my expectations went unfulfilled. The portrayals are never exaggerated to the extent that the film becomes amusing and when that aspect of the film is excluded we're left with an incredibly dull affair. As stated in a previous review, if you're interested in renting this because you believe it'll be "so bad it's good" then I'd strongly advise against doing so. It's appallingly boring and virtually unwatchable.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2007
Reefer Madness is a classic within the cannabis counter culture. Originally it was a propaganda film to warn people of the effects of marijuana use. Claiming that it made users crazy, horny and dangerous. Everything is ridiculously exagerated to a comical degree. The film is now enjoyed by potheads throughout the western world.

Not exactly an oscar nominee, but being a cult classic its certainly worth a look. I wouldn't recommend buying the film as it's not something that you would watch over and over, but it's interesting to see how some people viewed weed back in the day.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Before you ask, I have tried marijuana, did inhale, didn't particularly care for it and haven't touched it for several decades. But I have no issue with others using it.

This is an out and out propaganda flick which was originally given the more appropriately prosaic title of something like 'Tell the Children' before it was re-named 'Reefer Madness'; presumably to juice up its box office. What you get are a bunch of melodramatic events - all precipitated by marijuana use (natch).

On the basis that alcohol and tobacco use have a fatality rate which is many times greater (per '000 of population amongst their respective user groups) than marijuana, I feel fully justified in voting this travesty down to 1 star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
Reefer madness is an iconic movie; as it shows us the extreme propaganda of cannabis and the way it was portrayed by American religion, government and general dominator cultures and organizations in 1930's.

This movie kind of kicks itself in the nuts, because it tries to give cannabis a bad name, but instead, it shows how hilariously idiotic, and ludicrous the whole idea of cannabis; having side affects that will cause you to ''butcher your family with a fire axe''

I dont get high and watch movies, but if anyone were to do so, this would be the movie to saddle up some buddies, smoke a few fatties and let the good times roll.

'Reefer Madness' is a factual, propaganda film turned comedic, historic documentary. Enjoy! And: 'tell your children!'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2008
If anything, this over-the-top, hilarious, and deceitful story of kids turning crazy from the wicked weed provides ample evidence that someone was willing to say anything at all to get rid of marijuana. This is a must see movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 May 2005
The original title is "Tell Your Children." aka Dope Addict (1938), aka Doped Youth (1938), aka Love Madness (1938), aka Burning Question, The (1939), aka Reefer Madness (1947).

This is an educational movie that shows you what they do not want you to know about the seamy side of burning hemp.

A tale by Dr. Carroll (Joseph Forte) of May Colman (Thelma White) and Jack Perry (Carleton Young) distributors. Their dealings with high school students that look like they flunked a few grades. There are many overlapping scenarios; one is which Ralph, under the influence, helps Mary with her inhabitations towards disrobing. Some time during this trying evening Mary is all shot. Others are rundown and some Grin and grin and grin and bear it.

A side note Mary and Ralph (Dorothy Short and Dave O'Brien) in real life were married to each other at the time of the movie.

Being a cult classic does not give it any better production rating.
You may just want rent this film first as it is not really one for re-watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
Utter bo**ox. I couldn't sit through the whole movie. It's so-over-the-top message was too hard to swallow, but I'm glad prime allowed me to be able to have a nose at it and satisfy my curiosity, unfortunately also confirming my suspicions that the movie was going to be utter sh*t. Sorry, but that's just how I feel!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
Great American propaganda film about the pitfalls of smoking marajuana. Highly comical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
funny for the wrong reason ; could have been a classic with the Marks brothers in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)