Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
20
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Cassette|Change
Price:£14.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 August 2003
Trawl through the history of Bjork and you'll get to the Sugarcubes, from whom this is their best (and debut) album - a fun album, bouncier than an inflatable castle which rips along your stereo in a joyous 30 minute frenzy.
Of course, being Bjork, its a quirky affair but lacks any semblence of the overblown pomposity of her character now. In short this is laugh out loud stuff. Some times you feel something has been lost in the translation (The utterly bizarre 'Birthday') but mostly its just stupid stories, ranging from a woman tempting a naked man off her roof with some strawberry cake to a description of God, whose most remarkable features are his quiff and sideburns. This is one of the most charismatic records of its decade and as upbeat as you can get. And with a continual sex subtext and the pop version of The Shamen's Mr C, what more can you ask for. Put it on and have a smile. Dare you.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2006
Listened to this for the first time in a long time recently and have to admit it still sounds as fresh as it did when it first came out. Put it quite simply there are no weak tracks on this album. 'Motorcrash' and 'Birthday' are classics and 'Blue Eyed Pop' being poptastic! For anyone who has never heard The 'cubes then get a copy of all their albums as they were underrated at the time although it made Bjork a superstar!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2002
I first saw The Sugarcubes on the Chart Show in about 1985, I fell in love with Bjorks voice. Its completely unique, not to everyones taste but I loved it! I bought this LP soon after, and I made all my friends listen to it. They hated it. My favourite track is by far "Cold Sweat", its slow and quite sleazy with a sexy sound. "Birthday" was the first track I'd ever heard, so I do have a soft spot for it. "Delicious Demon" is fun and funky, "Deus" is quite dark, the lyrics don't make much sense, in fact the whole albumn is quite surreal. Bjork is one of my favourite female artists, thankgod for the crazy chick from Iceland!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
When i first heard this in 1989 i was very impressionable so the beauty of birthday was amazing as was the whole album. I think the sugarcubes were atheists hence "deus does not exist" but its a wild joyous atheism. Its an optimistic album and the lyrics you could class as poetry because they so create a unique visionary world for the listener. Lifes too good realy is a gem so if you havent heard it yet you're in for a treat. Unless you dont like it, i mean, i cant tell you to like it its up to you. But i was a metalhead when i first heard it and i loved it so that shows how great it is!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2003
'Life is too good' is a masterpiece and definatly best work to come from the Sugarcubes. To the listener it brings an interesting combination between commercial pop, jazz, echoes from the Icelandic punk-scene where all the band-members have their roots and inimitable vocalizations from both Björk and Einar. With such Punky songs like 'Traitor' and 'Sick for Toys' to the fantastic 'Birthday' this album is simply a fundamental album for any punk/Bjork fan - i doubt you'd be disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2000
A fantastic debut album full of memorable tracks. These tracks had TUNES - something the band forgot about by the time they got to their third album. "Birthday" is the best by a long way, but nothing can really match its perfection - "Deus", "Motorcrash", "Delicious Demon" all come close, with the rest not far behind - no bad tracks at all - go and buy this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
This is the you want to go with, if you want to try out The Sugarcubes. It's a bombardment of fresh and innovative ideas, and you can clearly hear the future superstardom to be of Björk was not any fluke at all. I recommend this if you like good and happy music from that period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
It's a fantastic album with some beautifully crafted songs. Unfortunately it's partly ruined by Einar Örn howling over half of the tracks sounding like some South Park skit of a Japanese person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2008
This album is one of my all time favourites-full of spark and humour. Bjork's voice is simply sublime. Even after so many years it brings a smile to my face. Buy it!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
bought this a few months ago and really surprised by how well packaged it was on arrival. album sounds great though, which is the main thing. can't fault it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)