Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
23
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2017
Not the best Bolan album but still worth buying some good some half decent songs but then again iv'e always liked zip gun boogie comes in a card board cover with no lyrics even credits Paul Fenton on additional drums on solid baby still doesn't give him the right to tour and call his band T-Rex
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
Probably the album which did the most damage to Marc Bolan's career with the lead track and first single, the wonderful Light of Love, failing to make the top 20 and the next, the overwrought and much ridiculed, Zip Gun Boogie, failing to chart at all only two years after Bolan dominated the UK and European charts. Recorded in the USA during Bolan's tax exile period it was his first self-produced album and continued his exploration of black US soul music with honking saxes and girl backing singers. It bombed in the UK and, at the time, was seen as some sort of 'proof' that he had lost his musical direction. However, its stripped back production and mostly strong songs (Light of Love, Solid Baby, Till Dawn, Think Zinc, Space Boss, Precious Star, Girl in A Thunderbolt Suit, I Really Love You Babe) has meant that it has stood the test of time and, in my view, is well worth four stars. Probably not the place to start if you are exploring his music for the first time but nor is it one to write-off on the basis of reviews back in the 1970s because there are lots of great songs here which showed that his experimentation was ahead of public taste.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
How would marc recover from the disaster that was 'zinc alloy'? that was the question on my mind at the time when i was awaiting the release of this album. Zinc alloy defintely polarized a lot of his fans and his career nosedived dramatically thereafter. Marc was obviously in a confused state of mind as to what direction to take. His decision was to go into all-out pop mode

I mean, the songs themselves aint THAT bad - 'light of love' especially is catchy enough. But this album is so lightweight that it could be floating away on the breeze. Marc threw rock out of the window here and in my opinion it was a bad decision. Combine that with the dreaded gloria jones on backing vox and this album remains unlistenable to me as a bolan fan
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 August 2005
Bolan's Zip gun may not be the best T.Rex album (it's certainly not the most famous - it failed to chart on its original release), but I believe it's ripe for rediscovery.
It's a short, stripped-back album (produced by Bolan himself without Tony Visconti for the first time), from the mid-70s period when Bolan's fans had all but forgotten him. However, along with "Zinc Alloy" and "Futuristic Dragon" it contains some of his most interesting work.
Yes, it's flawed. The lyrics are often repetitive, with choruses often consisting of the song's title repeated again and again and again. It also contains the horribly lumpy "Zip Gun Boogie". It's certainly not the first T.Rex album I'd recommend to the casual listener. But it's still Good Fun.
There are some great songs on here: the sweet "Light of Love"; "Till Dawn" - a 50s drive-in style ballad (the last Visconti collaboration) and the deliciously rude "Think Zinc" ("On the telephone, you should hear me groan"). There's also the great morning-after dirge of "Token of my Love", which sounds as though it's being played too slowly by a band on a bad come-down (as Bolan was relying heavily on cocaine and champagne at the time, this may be true...). And throughout there are the great backing vocals from Gloria Jones, et al, adding a blast of funky soul to every song. This copy also includes Pat Hall's lovely cover of "Dock of the Bay" that Bolan produced.
This album deserves to be remembered as part of the overall Bolan canon. If you already have other Bolan albums, give this one a shot.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
This was the first bolan album I bought in 1976. I was just becoming a T.Rex fan. A bit late in the day by everybody elses reckoning. But the fact Marc was out of fashion at the time made me love him even more!! I devoured this Lp playing it over and over again. At the time it was thought a poor result for Marc, but it has stood the test of time and in fact could be considered up there with all the recent songs that use repetitive lyrics and beats. In that sense Marc was ahead of his time. The unique lyrics and visual metaphors created by the unusual songs such as 'golden belt' and 'girl in the thunderbolt suit' will suit anybody into the surreal sound of Bolan in the 1970s.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2002
Although not considered one of Bolan's best albums, and a commercial failur by Bolan's standard. The album is wortn a listen to show the diversity of his talents. At times the music is overcrowded, but the content varies to the heavy Think Zinc to the sweet ' Precious Star' The CD shows the black american influence that Gloria Jones brought in. I think had it been mixed by Viconti then it would have been a much more polished album but it is still excellent
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
returned
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
I started buying Trex albums at Tanx which is my fave and I continued to buy all of them ,Tyrannosaurus rex included,this is a very good album,some great tracks,till dawn and solid baby infectious Bolan classics
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2000
Marc Bolan. The guy was a musical genius. Marc Bolan plus Tony Visconti was pure magic. This is Marc's first album after parting ways with Visconti in 1974. The result is mixed, but often disappointing. The only glimmer of the former T. Rex sound shows up in "Till Dawn" and "Think Zinc". The production is very weak and suffers throughout. Songs such as "I really Love You Babe" and "Golden Belt" are utterly unlistenable in my opinion.
This would be an album for completists only. If you're looking for a good place to start, in my opinion, this is the best route:
1. Electric Warrior
2. The Slider
3. Tanx
4. T. Rex (Self Titled)
5. Unicorn

That's good for a start!
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
This is my least favourite T.Rex Album, there are some good tracks on it, and Zip Gun Boogie is a better listen "live". It also has my least favourite Bolan song "Light of Love" i hit the skip button every time with this song.
I think there was too much influence from his girlfriend and he missed Tony Visconti.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.96
£7.24
£11.61

Need customer service? Click here