Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
46
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2002
one of the most vital albums i can remember since definitely maybe, and the roses debut before that. the energy, the tunes, everything is there-they sound so out of step with every other band about but sound important because of it. standout trakcs are turn out the light, human and disco.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2015
Great Seller A++++++++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2003
Y'know they're HUGE in Japan? Not the greatest way of moving your opinion to this band. After all, isn't Davis Hasselhoff big there? Also, I think Shampoo are big there (dodgy girl duo who terrorised the UK charts years ago).
Anyway, somewhere between indie, and psychadelic funk is the music. When I first heard the singles on TV, I was impressed, I was also reminded of Led Zepplin. Both in the guitar and the vocals.
The debut album kicks off with The Dance, a brilliant example of swriling guitars and howling lyrics. And a funky Take The Long Road and Walk It.
You are always guessing with the album. Nothing is set in stone. For such as the climax in The People, where we hear a Techno sample.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2003
This group have been touted as the best thing (I think due to their youthful exuberance) since The Stone Roses and although certain songs on this album have tremendous enthusiasm and point towards a possible bright future (Take the long road and walk it, Truth is no words,Getaway) I think overall it is just not distinctive enough. It is when they attempt a little more subtlety that it all goes wrong Human and Float just go on forever nowhere in particular. The Verve did it all so much better 10 years ago with the pre-Urban Hymns classics "A Storm In Heaven" & "A Northern Soul" and it must be remembered that they like The Music were in their late teens when they did it - I hope they prove me wrong but somehow I think I may have called it right...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Grt
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2002
Moody Autumnal pyschedelia, just right for those September nights!
The Music have created a mix of swirling FX-pedal guitars and loud heartfelt vocals. Stand out tracks are "The People" and "Turn Out the Light" one track is a blistering assault of guitars the other a slow burning ballad.
The overall effect is rather mixed but when they get it right this is a superb debut effort.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2002
It's a nice album made by probably the most interesting new band around. However, the hit single "The People" promised a lot, and the LP is somewhat below expectations. In any case, it's a great debut!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)