Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
46
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Music
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 May 2013
A far out band that doesn't forget where they come from.
The guitarist has a tight edgy style which you can hear in Turn out the lights and the instrumental at the end is awesome.
To sum up i'd call them an awesome unpretentious band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2003
The album kicks off with the funked-up swirl intro to 'Dance', which is accompanied by banging drums and as always, Robert Harvey's howls and screams. The music contains the singles, 'Take the Long Road and Walk it', 'The People' and the current single, 'The Truth is no Words'. With similarities and influences from such rock prophets as The Cult, U2 and Led Zeppelin and its distinctive electronica sound, this albums a winner. The Music really know how to rock. The ringing intro and the mixture of heavy and whiny guitar in 'Getaway' build ups an electric tension for the chorus where you've just gotta get up and jump around.Basically four young lads have slaved their guts out to make this album and boy has it paid off, a great addition to British Indie/Rock, thumbs up guys!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2003
This really is an album to get lost in, The Music's mix of 70's style guitar based psychadelia, crazy singing and possibly humanly impossible howling and a genuinely brave and unique vibe made this one of my favourite albums of 2002.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
What an album, can listen to over and over without skipping a track. Pretty unique too - stuggling to find a rock band to compare them to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2016
One of the best albums ever made. Take the long road, truth is no words, disco, the people, getaway. Wow, what a band. Bring them back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2002
Totally blew me away - not a bad tune on the album and standouts being virtually every track - Favs to listen to are Getaway, Disco, The People. Excellent to play before a night out and after a hard day at work !
Recommend it highly if you like a bit of guitar.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2002
From the early Fierce Panda days we were promised the stars, and that's just what we got. These boys have made an album that will still sound awesome in 10, 20, 30 years time - and even a momentary glance at their B-sides points undoubtedly at a glorious future.
Not for the faint of heart, this album gets under your skin, it makes you dance, sing, laugh like a maniac and leaves you begging for more. The Music have taken their post-modern Zep heritage in one hand, the best of baggy in the other and created a masterpiece.
Human and Turn Out The Light offer introspective reflection, Float takes Satan's own intro and climbs to the sun while The Dance features what is possibly the most mental bassline in rock history - I bow down to Stuart Coleman. The final bars of Too High offer all the proof you need that all these guys can play like the wind and in the midst of all this hypnotic groovin' and ravin' Harvey's vocals open up spaces, sucking in everything in his path. Take the Long Road... and The People are instant and insistent, and if my head IS going to explode under the sheer magnitude of this album it'll happen during Getaway: crank it up and kiss your ears goodbye.
If you get the chance - see them live. Robert Harvey is a genius, a legend, a leaping, freaking devil-child who leaves us on our knees.
Put purely and simply, The Music rule - just make sure your stereo does it justice.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2002
A "baggy" version of the Charlatans trying desperately to sound like Led Zeppelin. Hazey production does the most damage but the music (and The Music) is utterly unlistenable. Grooves and bluesy guitar work glued together in the most incoherent way, just to show how "cool" the band are. These guys are the new Kula Shaker, they will appeal to teens or people with with no memory at all.
33 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2002
Well I knew these lads had something special when I heard take the long road and walk it ages ago on MTV2 , though I thought see what the next single was like, equally as good. I've just listened to the whole album just now, best thing I have heard in GOD knows how long, I'm a stickler for swirling guitars and great back beats, takes me back to dancier side of Madchester 89. Every song though, every song just blow me back. Its up there with epic debuts like the stone roses ,underworld, Oasis, Puressence.
Look all I can say to those who are wondering to get it, If you like guitar music played with lots of fxs and great sing along vocals, music to take you away somewhere. Then get it, I would of thought it will take some beating for album of the year.
I've been waiting years for a record like this which in my point of view is perfect.
Phil
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2009
incredible album, a mix of techno, funk and rock

a must have
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)